We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality, reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Top Notch Inn to your Saves list
Top Notch Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Attraction Ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bow, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great quality, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at the Top Notch Inn several times when visiting the Gorham area. If you have a special vehicle or cargo, you are parked right outside your door. Comforting. The rooms are ground-level. We have never had an issue with cleanliness or odor - and we are pretty particular! Our last visit on Labor Day weekend, when the motel was full, was problem-free. On all visits the outdoor pool and hot tub were clean and in order. The location is perfect for us, close to White Mountain attractions while avoiding the hustle-bustle of North Conway. I don't go to the North Country for the shopping! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    109
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
104
132
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Every summmer my friends and I travel to NH. The Top Notch is the Inn we have elected to stay from year to year for more then 10 years. The location is ideal for us as we are avid cyclist both road and montain. Over the years the Inn keeps on doing improvements. The rooms are spacious well kept, and the beds are very comfy. Nice recent flat screens, bigger fridge micro oven and coffee maker make our stay convevial. After a hot day bike riding or trekking a nice dip in the well kept pool is a blessing We are looking forward for next summer to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are always pleased to see our wonderful guests from Montreal return year after year, several times a season! Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Whenever I'm back in NH I try to stay at the Top Notch. Great location, great rooms, andof course Nordi the greeting dog. Bonus,it's within walking distance of great restaurants as well. Altho it is on Main street, the rooms are quiet and nicely decorated. Not quite sure why other reviewers pick on the towels. I always feel safe and secure parking my motorcycle there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for the great review Cathy! We know you frequent Gorham from time to time, and we’re flattered you choose us! We appreciate the business, and hope to see you again soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently stayed at the Inn and the person that checked me in was very pleasant and helpful this was the first time I stayed there and I would stay again. I was only able to stay for the night had to leave early in am so couldn't use the pool or hot tub but hopefully will return in the future and use those things. Its located close by the stores and restaurants which is very convienant. I would recommend this place of what I saw of it on my short stay. Tammy D.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Tammy: Thank you for the compliments about the Top Notch Inn!
We’re happy that you chose us, and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the recommendation also! Please come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We rode our motorcycles up there and had pre-booked the place (our friends did the booking) and our first impression was that the pictures of the rooms that were on their website we NOT of the rooms we had. All were the basic motel rooms, but with dark panelling, not the bright rooms in the pictures. There was a heavy smell of Febreeze in the rooms, but the other couples said theirs was musty/moldy. But ours was clean and neat. The towels were fairly thin, a complaint some others had. The bed sagged in the middle, evidence of an old mattress. No bedbugs. But here's where the owner will know who this review is from: the alarm clock went off at midnight...an oversite of housekeeping to check to make sure the alarm isn't pre-set to wake up guests when they don't want to. Then around 2 am the smoke detector started chirping that it needed a new battery (and it was a very old smoke detector: the plastic was old and yellowed). I checked and it was one of those that is hard wired and the battery was a 9V (I don't carry batteries on vacation with me, much less a 9-volt), and so I didn't want to disconnect it and risk setting off the alarm for the whole hotel. I tried calling the hotel number but only got an answering machine. Got dressed and went to the front office: no phone number to call. As the chirp was very loud, we ended up getting no sleep (the rock hard pillows offered no sound-proofing). When I went to the office in the a.m, the woman at the desk said that they don't post an emergency number because the owner doesn't want frivolous calls. She said I should have called the police as they would have known to call the maintenance man, who would have come from another town to fix the problem. I asked how in the heck would I have known to call the police, much less know their local non-911 number? It probably would have brought the whole fire department, sirens and all, waking everyone for miles. When I asked for my money back, she would initially only give me a 50% discount on the room saying that we used the place and housekeeping would still have to clean it, but after I asked again for 100% of my money back, she capitulated to 75%. I felt like I was on a reality show, bartering with her. So I accepted her offer and drove off wearily into the sunrise. I called the next day and asked for the owner. She recognized who I was and started apologizing profusely for my miserable night as she had gone to the room and realized how loud the chirp was and had already refunded me the last 25% of my bill. She was so nice and sincere the second day, I had only wished she was that nice the first day. Anyway, the other two couples hated their rooms, felt they were musty/moldy and wouldn't touch the place again. I'm sort of shocked by the great reviews, but I only gave this place a 2-circle rating because of how nicely I was treated--on the second encounter.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything close to a good chain hotel. The best rooms are by the main road, the bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Previous guests reviews are evidence that we are a contentious, clean & updated establishment. We understand you are upset with the unfortunate experience you had. We have taken this opportunity to make improvements to prevent nothing like this happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Top Notch Inn and loved every minute of our stay. The staff was so pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Mt. Adams room which we really enjoyed because of the privacy. The pool and spa were great! The accessibility to Mt. Washington was a plus! We would definitely return for another visit!

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside perimeter (we stayed in the Mt Adams) afford a great amount of privacy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope you can return again for another visit soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I choose this Inn due to it is close to entrance of auto road to Mt Washington for sunrise view. However, I was very dispointed of the towel in bathroom and they need to be replaced or bleached, because they are yellow. We were surprised it is close to cemetery, which is kind of creepy. Compare with other hotel, motel and Inn, the price is too high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate your perspective and comments. The Top Notch Inn is fortunate to be one of the closest motels to the Mt Washington Auto Road. As for the towels, we are a certified green establishment. One of the prerequisites to be certified is that we do not use harsh chemicals including bleach. We switched to beige towels that some may call light yellow in order to be more earth friendly. The cemetery is diagonally across from us and most don't notice it's there since it's hidden by lilacs and other nice landscaping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved,in-town location,walk to cafe, dining and wood fired pizza! 5 Restaurants with discounts for our guests. All rooms have free WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge and microwave, family rooms with kings and bunks or doubles and twin, deluxe king rooms, groups and families love the Moriah Cottage with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Pinkham House with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout. Mt Washington Auto Road and Great Glen Trails are 10 minutes away, discount available. Story Land, Santa's Village, hiking, rafting. Moose tours close by. Specials for Story Land, Santa's Village,Moose Tours and much more. Newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms for 2013. We are proud of our Sustainability Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Notch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.