We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Haven For Hikers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Dodge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joe Dodge Lodge
Save
You added Joe Dodge Lodge to your Saves list
Route 16, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
RI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Haven For Hikers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed there for a weekend with my young son. While it may not be geared for tourists this place is great for those who want to do some serious hiking. My son has been hiking with me since he could walk so really enjoyed hiking (and making it to the top of) Tuckerman's Ravine.

The Joe Dodge Lodge is amazingly clean, especially when you consider the high volume of hikers coming in muddy and dirty from the trails. The rooms are comfortable and quiet hours seemed to be followed by the hikers. Everyone just wants to crash after a day on the trails.

The food is excellent and there is plenty of it. Dinner is either buffet or family style depending what night it is. Breakfast is buffet style and is hot and plentiful. Be sure to order a trail lunch the night before for your hike. I recommend the wraps with either turkey or ham. Here again the portions are plentiful.

If you want to kick back after a hike but don't want to stick in your room, the lodge has a very relaxing library. I found plenty of books on history of the local area.

The Joe Dodge Lodge is not for everybody. You have to really love hiking and be looking for a place to just eat and sleep after a long day on the trails. This is not a spa and not a hotel. My only suggestion would be to add a few more showers. Although getting one was never a problem for us.

Overall Joe Dodge Lodge is a great deal.

Room Tip: You might want to choose a room that is not so close to the service desk. The employees are fine but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a work trip to SE NH and decided to tack on a quick visit to Mount Washington. To hold down costs I was planning to camp until I found the Joe Dodge Lodge. For around $55 for AMC members, you get a bunk bed in a shared room, expert advice, free use of crampons and hiking poles, as well as breakfast and dinner. That price point is really unbelievable for what you get.

The meals were outstanding and varied, with a wide array of choices for meat-eaters and vegetarians. The rooms are clean and functional, with linens and towels provided. The staff are all extremely nice and courteous, and extremely knowledgeable about the White Mountains. And the best part, the lodge is literally at the trailhead for the main routes to hike Mt. Washington. I highly recommend a visit to the Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Accommodations at this AMC lodge come with a full breakfast and an excellent dinner. Even the coffee was better than I expected. Lodge rooms are very basic with bathroom down the hall, kind of a couple steps up from upscale camping, but with comfortable, fireplaced living rooms & library. The draw is that you are surrounded by mountains, waterfalls, and hiking trails for the inexperienced to hardcore explorers. Bonus that the lodge lends hiking boots and poles for free. Lots of advice available on trails, weather conditions, gear. etc. It's a popular point of departure for Tuckerman's Ravine.

Room Tip: 2-story building, fairly noisy, but quiet hours 10 PM to 6:30 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I were planning to spend the long Canadian May weekend (Queen's b-day) in the Mount Washington area. It was a bit too early for camping, B&B's weren't what we were looking for and renting a condo and having to cook wasn't in our plans! So we opted for the Joe Dodge Lodge in PInkham Notch. It was our second stay at this lodge and it was great. Our plans for the weekend: play outside and relax! The area is beautiful. It's a perfect starting point for cycling, regardless of the direction or the distance (mind you, there are hills) and more than perfect for hiking. No need to take the car...except of course for some shopping at the factory outlets in North Conway. We had reserved a double bunk with a shared bath. When we got there, our assigned room gave off a very strong scent of paint. We were quickly relocated to another room, located on the second floor. This new room had a double bunk and two single beds so the room was quite a bit bigger offering more wiggle room. The beds are comfortable, linens clean! All of the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful . The meals (breakfast and dinner) were plentiful, tasty and suited for the activities we had lined up. In addition, they allow bringing alchool into the cafeteria. The only downside was that the food was not quite as hot as we would have liked. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. The free showers had plenty of hot water. Friday night and saturday night short movies were presented in the cafeteria. On our last night it was raining so we took advantage of the library where we curled up in front of the fireplace with a book, while sipping a glass of wine. Of course, we weren't in the busy tourist season. However, the last time we stayed at the lodge, it was in August. Our evaluation of that stay was just as positive as this time around. If you are looking for a party place, this is not for you. But if you want to spend sometime in a relaxing environment, Joe Dodge is the place to be. Our plan was to kick back and enjoy! Mission accomplished!

Room Tip: The double bunks are fine but if you have lots of stuff or have a tendancy to sprawl ... you might f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are an Appalachian Mountain Club member or an enthusiastic outdoors person, you might like Joe Dodge, which I think may also be known as Pinkham Notch Lodge. You cannot rate this lodge the same way you rate other hotels - apples and oranges. The rooms are smallish if you get a private room; bunk-like rooms are available as well. Your probably will not get a private bathroom.

But, the dinners and breakfasts are terrific if you can abide eating family style and not having much choice over what is for dinner. Breakfast is buffet-style.

In addition, there are lounges with massive fireplaces and books, puzzles, friendly guests. Often there is loaner equipment that you can demo and discounts on lift tickets.

Finally, there is expertise on the local trails, ski areas, and so on.

Room Tip: Call and ask about the options - not your typical hotel options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The good: Couldn't get over the friendliness of the staff. All are real outdoorsmen/women who know the area -- folks who have really skied Tuckerman's, but yet respect anyone who gets outdoors at any level. Be sure to hike the 2.4 miles up to see Tuckerman's Ravine; it is amazing. (You'll need snowshoes or krampons in the winter.) Spotlessly clean bedrooms, bathrooms, dining rooms. Great food, fun movies each night. Free coffee, tea any time. Various equipment demos; interesting shop with lots of outdoor gear.
The bad: The thin walls. A family with a small child arrived around 1:00 am and we could hear every word; the mountaineers across the hall were up at 5:15, and we heard them, too. Mattresses leave a bit to be desired but I still slept well (except for the noise). I would recommend bringing extra water if you are a big water drinker, as the water has a very unpleasant metallic taste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMC L, Manager at Joe Dodge Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent visit. Along with our spectacular location at the base of Mt Washington, our staff is one of our greatest assets. I am glad that you had a chance to experience the legendary hospitality offered by our knowledgeable, talented and dedicated outdoor professionals.

I apologize for any inconvenience caused by the sound. Though we do post “quiet hours,” children and climbers can be awake and active at different times of the day and night. Did you mention the disturbance to our front desk attendant? Our employees are prepared to address noise concerns.

We replace our mattresses on a rotating basis and none should be uncomfortable. I will work with our Housekeeping Department to ensure that all of our mattresses are in good condition. Please give me a call to let me know what room you stayed in.

The high mineral content of our mountain water is a challenge for us. Despite our prescribed treatment and filter system, there can sometimes be a mineral taste to the water. Bottled water can be purchased in the Trading Post store for those who may prefer different drinking water.

Vinnie Spiotti, Director of Lodging Operations, 603-466-8050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First, let me be clear that Joe Dodge Lodge is more like a hostel than a hotel, with shared (very clean) bathrooms down the hall. If you're not comfortable with that sort of arrangement, then this place is not for you. However, if you are OK with that, this place is near perfect. I stayed with my husband and 2 kids (ages 4 and 6) and we loved it. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, beds are comfortable (if a little on the hard side), linens and towels are provided, and several large common rooms are really lovely and comfortable, plus there's a little nature discovery center for kids. Our family room had 2 bunk beds, with one bottom bunk being a double bed. The food at the communal meals (breakfast and dinner) was surprisingly good (delicious, really), with lots of options and no problems accommodating the kids. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful, as well as knowledgeable about the area. Last but not least, the location is spectacular, right at the foot of Mt. Washington, with wonderful hiking trails right out the front door, free tubing and cross-country skiing available up the road (with a pass from Joe Dodge), and Wildcat ski area even closer. We're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joe Dodge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe Dodge Lodge

Address: Route 16, Gorham, NH 03581
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinkham Notch has been a hub for hiking, climbing, snowshoeing, and skiing on the Presidential Range of the White Mountains since the 1920s. With access to Tuckerman Ravine and the Wildcat Range just outside your door, Joe Dodge Lodge provides the perfect opportunity to tackle more challenging terrain while offering beginner hikers, climbers, and skiers a chance to practice their skills. The Lodge is located on the Appalachian Trail in the White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joe Dodge Hotel Gorham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Dodge Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.