We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky Lobby, clean but outdated rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Peak Motor Inn

Northern Peak Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Northern Peak Motor Inn to your Saves list
Northern Peak Motor Inn
289 Main Street, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Smoky Lobby, clean but outdated rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The lobby smelled full of smoke. Whomever works there must always smoke indoors all day. Rooms were outdated but clean. My non-smoking room was good. Walls are dark so it has a ‘dark’ feel to it. Hard to find a place to plug in charger/laptop. Good location for the area.

Just a simple lock; no bolt/chain to lock/close door and no "Do Not Disturb" sigh available. Cleaning crew attempted getting into the room prior to me checking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The first thing we noticed was no pool. Covered over with concrete. The receptionist was sweet, yet technologically inept. The room size was ok, has a fridge, tiny shower/toilet space. The worst part was the creaky floors. I felt so bad for the people below me!!!! We tried to be quiet, but no matter how tippy-toed we walked, it was LOUD. Beds were not comfy. The location is AWESOME. Very close to lots of wonderful things... Mt. Washington, trails, etc,right on the main road. For 4th of July there was a big festival nearby and we think there was a parade, but didn't stick around to see it. We got a discount from the receptionist for the restaurant nextdoor...can't remember the name but my husband suffered from food poisoning from the fisherman's stew.

Room Tip: second floor, or bring earplugs!!, close to the office since there is a good amount of traffic on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My friends and I were doing a traverse of the Presidential trails, and needed a cheap, clean place to stay that was near the start. We got exactly what we wanted. The room was under 100 dollars, was very clean, and about 15 minutes away from the Appalachian trail head. The staff was very accommodating, and left the key in the door for us, as we would be getting in late and the office would be closed. I would recommend calling ahead if you plan on checking in after nine, as we did. Checkout was fast and easy.

My one complaint is that the beds weren't very comfortable. However, considering that we just wanted a bed for one quick night, I'm not really going to fault the motel for that. I would recommend this place for hikers wanting to get a quick start on the trail the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupper Lake, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall: Cheap, clean beds, nice staff, but in a dire need of renovation! I will come back if the place gets a significant overhaul.

In detail.
Pros:
-cheap
-close to the mountains, still you`ll need to drive to the parks though.
-staff were all nice people
-bed sheets were clean. I was not suspicious to go to bed.
-you can get serviced in French (yes, dear Canadians!)

Cons:
-outdated. The appearance of this motel is not flattering at all. The facade, the doors, windows, furniture, ceilings, lights... everything looks like it hasn`t been changed for many years.
-floor was not quite clean. I took off my shoes for a while and when I looked at my socks after, they had got a lot darker in color. Once again the staff seem to try to do a good job, I saw them cleaning and vacuuming before I left but even their vacuum cleaner was so ancient, I could not be easily persuaded it still had any suction.
-Bathtub had some marks, I don`t know whether they were stains caused by prolonged use and I decided not to investigate. Just decided that that day I will not shower.

Overall I stayed here once, but I am coming back only when the owners do some major renovations.True, among all motels in that town this one looked more or less OK. The whole town has that underdeveloped look and there was nothing that was obviously way better than this motel, I can give it that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We didn't have much choice either... but we probably should have kept driving. They haven't touched the rooms since 1975. Hopefully they've changed the sheets since then, but I'm not sure. Dirty carpet, dirty bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I stay here almost every summer. It's rooms are dated but it is clean, comfortable and the staff is great! It's a good location for exploring the White Mountains and the Great North Woods Region. Next door is an excellent restaurant called J's Corner . I highly recommend the Pig's Ear Brown Ale on tap.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Peak Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Peak Motor Inn

Address: 289 Main Street, Gorham, NH 03581
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Northern Peak Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Peak Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.