We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Atwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Atwood Inn
Save
You added Maria Atwood Inn to your Saves list
71 Hill Road, Route 3A, Franklin, NH 03235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Franklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norton, MA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I headed to New Hampshire to attend the Friday evening Soulfest Festival concert and wanted a one night stay. When all other hotel's and B&B's wanted a 3 night minimum I came across the Maria Atwood Inn, they had a one night stay available so, we took a chance. God must have directed us to this Inn. Upon arrival Sandi ( owner/innkeeper) greeted us warmly and took the time to get to know up a bit and we immediately felt like home. Cookies and cool drinks were made available. The Inn is an old country Colonial Brick building and was very well maintained and extremely clean. Modern amenities such as AC, K-cup coffeemaker and ceiling fans added additional comfort. Breakfast was served at 8:30am ( upon our request) and consisted a a wonderful fresh fruitcup , juice, eggs prepared to your liking ( I have overeasy, wife scrmabled with cheese) toast and the delectable scones. Yes, they are the best favorful and moist ! Sandi freely shares the secret recipe :) We also met Fred (Sandi's husband/innkeper/owner) and Moonie their politely friendly rescue dog. I can't say enough about this low key Inn experience. My wife and I left feeling like we made lifelong friends. Totally unexpected awesome experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhsandi, Owner at Maria Atwood Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It was an awesome surprise for us as well! :)
Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we hope you will decide to make unexpected trips in our direction more often. Sandi, Moonie and I enjoyed your visit.
Regards,
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The Maria Atwood Inn. Many aspects stood out, but I'd like to begin with the attention to detail that was evident everywhere. There were antiques that begged further inspection and the house was impeccably kept. This may sound overly formal but the warmth of the home itself and the graciousness of Sandi and Fred made us want to pull up a chair and relax. The detail also encompassed the bedding and even the towels, which were very luxurious to us. Sandi and Fred are sincerely interested in their guests without being intrusive in any way.They truly have a gift of hospitality. The grounds were spacious and well kept and pleasing to look at. I would be remiss if Sandi's delicious beakfasts were not mentioned. No one who passes their threshold will go hungry! We unreservedly recommend this wonderful inn to one and all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhsandi, Owner at Maria Atwood Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. You certainly set the bar high for us!
Enjoyable visits are as much a function of the guests as it is the Inn & hosts. You made the visit a fun time for us and the other guests as well. It was nice to see you.
Until next time -
Fred & Sandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Maria Atwood Inn for a weekend getaway trip. Sandi and Moony (very gentle dog) greeted us at the door with smiles. Sandi and Fred (the innkeepers) upgraded us to a queen-size bed after there had been a cancellation, and immediately offered us homemade butter cookies and chocolate chip cookies, coffee, and tea upon arrival. The house, along with our room, was tastefully decorated and immaculate. Everything felt very comfortable, and it did indeed feel like we were visiting old friends. It's a short drive from Weirs Beach and Concord, and we ended up kayaking one day in Concord and eating lobster rolls and ziplining in Weirs Beach. Sandi was full of great recommendations for all of our questions - antique shops, beaches, seafood restaurants, hiking, and biking. Breakfast in the AM was delicious, with coffee/tea, choice of juice, scrambled eggs with cheese (we had the choice of how we wanted our eggs cooked, we chose scrambled) along with Sandi's infamous homemade scones (we had the orange cranberry chocolate chip scones) which were deliciously moist and delectable. We had a lovely conversation with Fred and Sandi at breakfast, who were extremely personable and very friendly. We hope to return soon! Highly recommended, and I never post on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhsandi, Owner at Maria Atwood Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
Sandi & I can only say that it is the guests themselves that make their stay a pleasant experience and you were both wonderful guests with whom we thoroughly enjoyed sharing breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

we truly enjoyed staying at the Maria Atwood Inn,. The accommodations were great. The breakfast was great. The owners, Fred and Sandy were outstanding.
I recommend it highly. She even gave me a clipping of her Christmas cactus.
I was very comfortable staying at Maria Atwood Inn. Very safe place to vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhsandi, Owner at Maria Atwood Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We certainly enjoyed hosting your visit and we very much appreciate that you took the time to complete the review.
Best regards,
Sandi & Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Sandy and Fred were fantastic and run a wonderful bed and breakfast. They are both open and warm, but also allow you the space to relax at your own pace at the same time. The breakfasts were delicious and obviously made with a great deal of TLC. The fresh scones were fantastic. Sandy also had many great suggestions for ways to pass the time during several free hours prior to the wedding we were attending. She took the time to determine what we were interested in and made suggestions based on that - not just blanket choices!

I describe our room a bit more below, but it was clean, bright and very comfortable. It was also nice and quiet, we got a couple of great nights of sleep.

On the whole, this was the sort of place you hope you end up when you have a B&B in mind, but often don't actually get. I was glad to locate this place, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and warm home base for a trip into south/central New Hampshire.

Room Tip: The Mount Washington room was comfortable, clean, spacious, and had a lovely skylight and exposed wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

March 24, 2013
This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast -- and it couldn't have better! From beginning to end the graciousness and hospitality of hosts Sandi and Fred exceeded my expectations. The fire Fred built in our bedroom fireplace was a special added touch to the very comfortable accommodations. Their insights into the local points of interests made our sightseeing even more enjoyable as we were given maps and directions to the maple sugar houses having special open houses. The final touch to our wonderful experience was Sandi's awesome, mouth-watering scones with breakfast. Thank you Sandi and Fred for a wonderful start to my special birthday celebration!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhsandi, Owner at Maria Atwood Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
What a kind & thoughtful review! Thank you so much.
We enjoyed spending the time with both of you!
Breakfast was fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a wonderful stay - Friendly hospitality, charm, and one of the loveliest B&B's I've ever stayed in. I recommend that you spend at least a night at the Maria Atwood, Sandi, The hostess, went out of her way to make sure I was comfortable and well-fed!

Tea, coffee and home-made cookies available at any time. I felt like an honored guest.

Even if you are not going to Franklin, It is worth a side-trip, just for the incredible blueberry scones.

Enjoy!


Bob Reiser

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nhsandi, Owner at Maria Atwood Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind endorsement. We appreciate you glowing comments.
Sandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria Atwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Atwood Inn

Address: 71 Hill Road, Route 3A, Franklin, NH 03235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Franklin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Franklin
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atwood Inn is a romantic 1820's brick Federal colonial. Seven large, comfortable guest rooms all have private baths - 4 with working fireplaces. A delicious breakfast is served in a warm, friendly atmosphere. Located in the very center of New Hampshire, you may drive to Boston, Maine, the seacoast or Vermont within an hour+. The Lakes Region offers uncounted opportunities for hiking, shopping, swimming, skiing and fishing plus Keepsake Quilts, Canterbury Shaker Village and New Hampshire International Speedway. In this lovely rural area you will take a step back in time to a more peaceful and considerate existence. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Atwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.