We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovett's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lovett's Inn
Save
You added Lovett's Inn to your Saves list
1474 Profile Road, Franconia, NH 03580   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harwich, Massachusetts
1 review
“Oustanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I, along with our Border Collie, stayed at one of the cottages on this lovely piece of property. Since most "pet-friendly" establishments are of only middling quality, this was a lovely exception. The room was clean and cozy, and the main inn was quite quaint and comfortable. The waitstaff was cheerful, helpful, and efficient, while the proprietors, Jim and Jan, were beyond accomodating - they were charming, convivial, warm and welcoming. And the food - truly superlative, worthy of even the most discerning gourmand. I would definitely recommend, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    14
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Situated in a beautiful part of New Hampshire, Lovetts Inn is an 18th century building being lovingly restored in keeping with its age by Jim and Janet.

Our room was spacious with a comfortable bed and en suite - everything was fresh and clean.

We had a great welcome from the innkeepers and immediately felt at home, but the best bit was Janet's cooking. Breakfast was as good as it gets and we had dinner there twice - great value for money!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We've been skiing at Cannon since the early sixties. This inn went down hill twenty years ago, and it has been a thrill over the past ten years to watch the present innkeepers bring it back up to the standards of my memories. One of the best parts of the experience was that Franconia itself has not been swamped by the condos and strip development that has spoiled so many other New England ski destinations. This is classic New England the way it used to be, and still should be.

Room Tip: Inn rooms more classic; cottages have gas fireplc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Lovett's Inn -- New Year's Eve and the following evening. Overall it was a wonderful visit. We came up for a ski weekend, an engagement and New Year's Eve and Jim and Janet made our trip very special. They were friendly, accomodating and the hospitality was wonderful. We spent New Year's Eve at the Inn and enjoyed a great meal, wine and service.

We stayed in a cabin with a fireplace -- it was tasteful and comfortable. We would have liked a mini-fridge/bar to accomodate our snacks... otherwise it had everything we needed. It was wonderful to light a beautiful wood buring fireplace after a day of skiing.

We would definitely return with our family!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

The room smelled musty and the bathroom was out of date. Nice main house and you could pick your breakfast. It was too expensive for the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

After many, many years we stayed at Lovett's for 2 days again but were disappointed. The cabins had several small deficiencies such a blinds which did not work, locks to the doors which were complicated to open, etc. The bar could have been a little more "homely". And in the restaurant the selections for dinner were limited. Let's not talk about breakfast! The view is great and has been for many, many years.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed just the one night and were very well taken care of by the owners Jim and Janet. Within sight of the peak of Cannon Mountain, the main inn building is beautifully picturesque and contains a couple of sitting rooms/lounges, dining room, bar area and 5 guest rooms. Another 13 guest rooms are in small chalets spaced around a central garden. There is also a decent-sized swimming pool.

Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was a small TV and wifi, and being on a small country road there was no traffic noise. The breakfast was most acceptable and nicely presented - in fact the best omelettes we have had for quite some time. We will certainly return for another stay if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovett's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovett's Inn

Address: 1474 Profile Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1784, located two miles from the Franconia Notch State Park. 18 Rooms, restaurant and bar, close proximity to golf courses, biking, hiking, downhill skiing, 65 kilometers of cross country skiing from your room. Lovetts Inn the perfect location for wedding receptions, family reunions, birthday parties, corporate outings etc. Catering for all occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lovett`s Hotel Franconia
Lovett's Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovett's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.