We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillwinds Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hillwinds Lodge to your Saves list
Hillwinds Lodge
33 Dow Avenue, Franconia, NH 03580   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sterling, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

This is our 3rd stay at the Hillwinds Lodge. The owners are super nice people who make sure everything is great. This year we stayed in a riverview room. The Gale River runs right outside the door and we were able to listen to the quiet babble of the river. The kids love being able to wade in the cool water. Our room was clean and well maintained, with a recently renovated, spacious bathroom. The in-room Green Mountain coffee was the best!! The continental breakfast had a good assortment of fruit, cereals, bagels, etc. and of course more coffee. Our kids love the playground, which is within walking distance, and the pool on site.

We plan on returning for a 4th visit next year. The Hillwinds is a great value with in a beautiful, peaceful setting.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    40
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
51
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We had been travelling to the USA for the 23rd time and had travelled extensively for the last 20 years covering many parts of the USA and eastern Canada.

This time we travelled through New England for the Fall and came through Franconia and stopped at a few motels in Franconia and this turned out to be the best deal as well as comfortable, clean and the best resting place. It turned out that we had to stay another night due to unforseen medical emergency. The owners were helpful and friendly.

It is in the best location and enjoyed stay. Thank you
-- Ann & Nathan
Newport, South Wales United Kingdom

  • Liked — Clean, freshly renovated and overlooking the river
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We were part of a group staying at Hillwinds Lodge last weekend for a local wedding. I will say that I was a little hesitant having read the previous review, however, I did not think it fit the glowing visual description upon viewing the reviewer's own photos, so I wasn't too concerned with their opinion. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised with the grounds and general upkeep of the property. It is older and in need of an update, but clean and quite well maintained. Upon check-in, the owner was welcoming, funny and apologetic at the size of the bathrooms. He was right- they're the smallest I've experienced in a hotel, but functional with the sink separate from the toilet and full bath. They are in the process of changing the door placement on the bathrooms, but not being a big chain, it is costly and a slow process. Upon entering, the room was immaculate and well kept. It smelled clean, and if I didn't care for the smell of the cleaning product, at least I knew they used it! I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the mattresses. My back tends to be sore even after a night in expensive hotels if they don't have pillowtops. I can tell you that these were by no means pillowtop mattresses, yet we slept soundly and comfortably, waking up rested with happy backs! We found the room to be larger than expected and they had a portable air conditioner piped to the outside under the window. The first night we left the windows open and fell asleep to the sound of the Gale River just below our second floor room. The second day of our stay was much warmer and humid, so we pushed the button on the AC, set the temperature at 67 and in under 10 minutes, the room was very comfortable.

Each morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast in the office building. There was a nice selection of bagels and cream cheese, toast, sliced danish, several cereals, milk, juice, Green Mountain coffee, and at least 10 varieties of Celestial teas. There may have been more. Breakfast hours are only 8-10 a.m., a little tough for those of us who REALLY need our morning coffee ;) A computer was available in the lobby for guests to use the Internet.

The grounds were mowed and a garden area in front of the main office was in bloom with beautiful day lillies and a perrenial garden. The kidney shaped pool wasn't huge, but easily served the children at our gathering. The solar cover was on when we arrived and the owner asked us to simply let him know when we wanted to go in and he'd happily roll it back.

The owners were kind enough to allow the wedding couple to host a cookout on the riverbank at the hotel the first night of our stay. They were very accomodating and hotel guests from Germany (?) joined us that evening also.

Downsides? Well, I have to mention that the railing along the top balcony of the river building was a bit shaky. With so many children staying, we made it a point to keep a close eye and mentioned it to others too. The fact that the breakfast didn't start until 8 was a bit tough for this group of early risers, but we just had some extra time to visit. Fancy? No, it isn't. I probably wouldn't have booked here without the incentive of many other wedding guests staying here also.

Overall- I think the best part of Hillwinds are the owners- Tina and Deane. They made us feel welcome, were very nice and never too busy to chat. They really seem to be trying hard to make people happy. 2nd best- the simple view of the mountains and the Gale River from the balcony is gorgeous. I would have no hesitation staying here again if my goal was to have a great home base. The clean, suitable rooms at a very fair price make it well worth the stay. From the looks of the guest books in the lobby, I am not the only one that felt this way. I just wish more people who stayed at Hillwinds Lodge had posted on Tripadvisor so there were more reviews for potential guests.

  • Liked — The owners and the gorgeous setting.
  • Disliked — Bit worn, breakfast available only 8-10 a.m.
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

October 7, 2007
This picturesque hotel can fool you. It looks beautiful, the very picture of a White Mountain National Forest lodge. However, it was a dirty den with black curly hairs (you know what they looked like) on my pillow and mildew smell everywhere. The beds were hard and terribly uncomfortable. Only stay as a last resort. $90 approx.
Side note: We tried placing a call from our room (minor emergency with no cell service) and Verizon customer service had us on a run around for 30 minutes. The hotel staff was no help.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Lodge

Address: 33 Dow Avenue, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional New England family-owned and operated motel featuring clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly lodging in the White Mountain region of New Hampshire. Located on the banks of the tranquil Gale River, Hillwinds is located near all major seasonal attractions and is only three miles from Cannon Mountain and the Franconia Notch State Park, home of the Flume Gorge and great hilking opportunities. Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, in-room coffee and fridge, free wi-fi, and guest computer and lending library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hillwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Franconia
Hillwinds Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillwinds Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.