We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalled” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
87 Wallace Hill Rd, off I-93 Exit 38, Franconia, NH 03580   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Franconia
Saint Cloud, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Appalled”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stay in hotels every week for work, and this is the worst hotel to date I have stayed in. The pictures are definitely misleading. If you want to pay a lot of money for a hotel that does not live up to what they tell you you are getting. This is NOT a 3 star, it ranks more like a 1 star. I have stayed in Homewood suites/Hiltons, for less than I paid here. Well over 400 dollars for 3 nights and it does not have security. The rooms are not secure, I do not feel safe here. The doors to get into the hotel are unlocked and open for anyone to come in. Not secure! I am extremely upset with this and probably won't sleep. Thanks for the rude employee to boot that so welcomed me when I arrived. She made me feel like I was trying to get the room for free. And also, don't forget the cleanliness of it, wow, disgusting bathroom, ac/heater looks like it is falling of the wall, just not a good place. DO NOT stay here. Over priced!

Room Tip: Don't stay here then you won't have to worry about this!I took a video of this room and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Sorry to hear you weren’t pleased with the price of your room. We aim to keep our rates competitive and are comparable with similarly priced hotels in the area. Our staff prides itself on customer service and cleanliness and we take all comments about our hotel seriously. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,
Tina Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    56
    30
    30
See reviews for
98
87
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff helped get a room close to the lobby for my elderly father. Complimentary continental breakfast included yogurt, fruit salad, bagels, waffles. TV reception was fine, but there is no cell phone service in the immediate area, and the wifi is slow. The one PC in the lobby with a printer is slow. We had an one night stay on vacation, so the tech issues were not critical. The only comparable chain is on the other side of Littleton and was much more expensive the weekend we booked, so I consider our stay a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad you and your father enjoyed your stay. Our staff always strives to help our guests and go above and beyond expectations. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
Tina Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had heard good things about this place and it appeared really nice. I seen online there was some note about exterior renovations going on, but it looked really bad with the siding half off. The rooms were nice, but the pool was COLD, brrr... the hot tub was nice but the pool was really chilly.

All things considered I think i would stay somewhere else unless your doing activities very near the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing this feedback, we apologize for not exceeding expectations on your recent stay. Please know that we do use your feedback to improve overall guest experience. We expect to have the renovations completed soon and hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Tina Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a good place for a good price... this is not your destination! From the overly rude front desk staff to the siding falling off the side of the building (literall).

After dinner, a nice relaxed evening watching TV was not allowed when I noticed the flat panel television was grainy and even black and white several extended times.

The hot tub (that must remain with the lid closed per the hotel rules) water smelled like a paper mill town.

These can be overlooked (to a certain degree) however the dirty bathroom and a cup of cold coffee welcoming us to the room, probably left by the cleaning crew, are the main reasons I will keep driving to Littleton next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
So sorry you weren’t satisfied with your stay. Our staff does pride itself on customer service and keeping our hotel clean, even as we renovate and improve our hotel, so we were disheartened to hear you were less than satisfied. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,
Tina Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosh ha'ayin,Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel during a family vacation at the white mountains. the location of the hotel is perfect - near main attractions. the hotel is a little bit old but clean and since they are renovating it now - it should be better.
breakfast is very good and staff is nice. the swimming pool is indoor and good
concerning the hotel status - the price is a little bit too high

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your review and bearing with us while we improve our hotel. We are glad you got to experience our friendly staff and all that the White Mountain area has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Tina Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel is clean. For an unknown reason, my booking through Best Western Web reservation was not found, probably because it was its first day online. The young lady at the reception desk was quite helpful to resolve the confusion at ease. Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your review and the kind words about our staff! We’ll be sure to pass along the praise and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Tina Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nothing fancy. Was fine for the one night. Close to what we needed it for. Rooms were average. But clean. Hotel was quiet. Beds were a little tough. Pack and play was a little dirty when we got it but otherwise no big complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfranconia, General Manager at BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are currently in the process of improving our property to make it even better for our guests, so please stay tuned!

Sincerely,
Tina Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn

Address: 87 Wallace Hill Rd, off I-93 Exit 38, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn is an outdoor enthusiast's dream! Located in Franconia, this New Hampshire hotel proudly offers the best in customer service and amenities at an affordable rate. Guests staying at this Franconia inn will be a short distance from Cannon Mountain Ski Park, Loon Mountain Ski Resort and the Wildcat Mountain Ski area. Other nearby outdoor activities include hiking, biking and golf. Favorite attractions in Franconia include the Mount Washington Auto Road, Mt. Washington Cog Railway and Santa's Village. This Franconia, New Hampshire hotel offers spaciously-appointed guest rooms, each complete with high-speed Internet access and cable satellite television. This 100% non-smoking hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast each morning. Additional amenities at this New Hampshire inn include an larhe heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, steam room and guest laundry. Business travelers will appreciate the hotel's business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome with restrictions. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Franconia, New Hampshire, make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White Mountain Hotel Franconia
Best Western Franconia
Franconia Best Western
Best Western White Mountain Resort
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.