We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonybrook Motel & Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stonybrook Motel & Lodge to your Saves list
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Route 18, Franconia, NH 03580   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent place to stay for a nice get away. Close to all the local attractions also. The rooms are clean and neat. The Hotel staff is very accommodating. The free continental breakfast is great with plenty of food and beverage to choose from.The WI-FI works good and we also like being able to sit outside and enjoy the scenic views. Nice landscaping and the pool is kept up, and is clean. This is the only place I stay when vacationing in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. April 3 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    40
    32
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

While not a luxury hotel by any standards, it was quaint. It reminded me more of a campground than an Inn or motel. We arrived to a clean and tidy room, however the heat was shut off and we had to request to have it turned on. The "heated" pool was not so heated, possible that it didn't feel that heated since it was about 25F outside, dunno, needless to say only went in for a few minutes. Going back to the heat, once it was turned on it was fine and the room was warm and cozy. My only real disappointment was the breakfast, not much of a selection, waffles, toast, or a pastry, and I think some cereal, but that was just me I guess. Overall I had a good experience, the staff was courteous and quick to respond, so if you are looking for a quite inexpensive place for a couple nights this will do it, and of course it has a good location 15 min to Franconia Notch ( Cannon Mt.) and 10 min to Littleton.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. March 30 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I deleted my previous review so I could provide an update. My original review (see below) was fairly critical of the service we got on our Thanksgiving trip. Because we were one of two families staying there at the time, it wasn't difficult for the owners to identify who wrote the review. My mother-in-law was the one who booked it so it was her contact information they had. After seeing my review they called her. Not to try to fix the problems, mind you. They actually called to yell at her about the bad review!!!

Not exactly what I would call good customer service.

Here's the original review, by the way, so you can see what my initial complaints were:

My in-laws live nearby and we needed a place to stay for Thanksgiving. The website for this place seemed very appealing, but I should have done a little more homework before agreeing to stay there. Clue number one should have been when we requested adjoining rooms, as was advertised on their website, but they said we couldn't have those because there was no heat in those rooms. When we got there, the rooms we did have didn't have the heat on yet and it was freezing. They warmed up quickly enough, but wouldn't you turn the heat on when you knew you'd be checking people into them? The rooms are spacious, so I'll give them an extra star for that one, but they're not particularly clean. The curtain rods were bent and I had to climb up on the table to bend it back so I could get the curtains closed. The shower was an adventure, to say the least. I'd get the temperature set and climb in, only to have it go to freezing two minutes later. Then I'd get it adjusted again, and it would go to scalding. My husband had the same problem. We also had two small kids to bathe and the plug mechanism didn't exist.

That being said, I know it's a motel and you get what you pay for, but what bothered me the most was the stuff that was on the website that they did not actually provide. First of all, extra was paid to get the continental breakfast, but when we got there, the person who checked us in said there weren't enough people staying there to make it worth them getting up to fix breakfast. And the indoor pool that was advertised wasn't open. All this would also be fine if their website just said that these things were available seasonally, and they didn't take money for a service they didn't provide. I just consider this major false advertising and I think we can safely say we'll stay elsewhere next Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. March 20 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The employees at this motel are very friendly and I must say that I enjoyed my trip to Franconia. When I arrived the check in process was quick and the room was clean, spacious, and organized. The breakfast was good...and the price was affordable....Thank you Mike for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. March 72013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The employees at the motel were all extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast was actually quite good for such an affordable stay and the atmosphere was lovely. Will definitely stay there again next time I go up north!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. March 1 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stonybrook is certainly a budget option and you get what you pay for. It's perfectly fine, but nothing to rave about (3 star rating). Breakfast was lacking (coffee was bad, OJ was tang), but had the upside of a waffle maker. Would recommend as a cheap option if you're skiing at Cannon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Feb 27 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon , nh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

this is a terrific motel. i arrived and i was greeted for respectfully at the door ..the check in process was very quick and the motel was very clean and organized... the breakfast was very good...and everyone was so friendly and i definatly would go there again .. the prices were excellent we will def..return again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, General Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Feb 26 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonybrook Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonybrook Motel & Lodge

Address: Route 18, Franconia, NH 03580
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stonybrook Motel & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 "Best Base For Touring Franconia Notch" New England Travel Guide. Stonybrook is a four season motel nestled in the heart of the White Mountains in the quaint village of Franconia with breathtaking views bordered by a sparkling alpine stream. You'll enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools for year-round swimming,trout pond,game room and a cozy fireplace in our hand-timbered Lodge plus streamside picnic area with grills and winter iceskating. Only 2 miles to Cannon Mountain,Echo Lake and the Franconia Notch! Closest AAA motel to Cannon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonybrook Motel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonybrook Motel And Lodge
Stonybrook Hotel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.