We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Norm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonybrook Motel & Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Stonybrook Motel & Lodge to your Saves list
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Route 18, Franconia, NH 03580   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NH Norm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Made reservations at this cute place. Rooms are small, but it's a perfectly located spot for a home base while site seeing in The White Mountains. The grounds were perfectly manicured. Rooms were very clean and the hosts were very accomodating. We will be back!
Norm & Rosie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, Owner at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Sep 17, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    38
    32
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranston
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just finished a great weeks stay at Stonybrook Motel. Been going there for over 30 years. Excellent location with at great view of Cannon Mt. . We stayed in the lodge which is clean and comfortable. There is easy access to Lincoln, Woodstock, Bethleham and Mt. Washington from this location. The owners Mike and his wife are very friendly and accommodating and go out of their way to make sure that your stay at the motel is a pleasant experience. Great location for children. Will be back next year.

Room Tip: We recommend a room in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Sep 2, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

"lllaro" got this rating perfect. The breakfast included with the room was a small bonus. We only stayed the night. Maybe a longer stay would make for a better value. It did seam to be a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, Owner at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Aug 31, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you want the perfect place to unwind in the Franconia area this is your spot. In a beautiful location just North of the notch this motel and lodge has everything. It is located next to the Gale River with spectacular views of the mountains and Franconia Notch. There are 2 pools - 1 outside and 1 inside the lodge. There is also a pond on the expansive grounds. Mike and his wife are the ultimate hosts taking care of every need ensuring you will have a wonderful time. Mike, the owner has a real passion towards having his guests remember a great experience staying here.
We have been coming here for years with our family and recommend it highly for its location, outstanding value, room appointments, cleanliness, service, and the feeling you have escaped to a special place.

Room Tip: Stay in the lodge if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, Owner at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Aug 30, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Room was so-so - what you expect from a motel I guess however the bed was not clean!! I don't think it was made up after the previous visitor(s) vacated because when i lifted the bedspread I could see hairs' and dirt on the bed sheet. Imagine how gross I felt!! It was too late in the night or else I would have requested another room. Also, I would have slept in my car - thought about it except it was too cold outside and the fact that I paid close to $80 for one night drove me to sleep inside. So I spread the bath towels and slept on the bed - not using any of the bed spreads. Atleast I'm glad that they didn't show up on one of the bed bug databases.

The woman at the counter is cordial but can't converse well in English. It's hard to understand her. Continental breakfast - I didn't eat any but just an FYI..

The major factors that one could debate to stay here is the proximity to Mt. Lafayette/ Cannon hikes, the quiet grounds - however you can hear all conversations that happen next door in the morning - definitely no privacy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, Owner at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Aug 27, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

About a mile from town and convenient to I-93. My room was very clean if a bit musty. Good TV and AC worked well. Very nice grounds that are well maintained, with a beautiful stream running behind the property. Excellent parking. Nice basic breakfast included with room. Very reasonable value, especially given how close the motel is to so many wonderful sights in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, Owner at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge management and staff would like to express our gratitude for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the attractions in the White Mountain area! Thanks and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying with us. Aug 20, 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The grounds around this motel were picturesque and serene. Beautiful and relaxing area. Plenty of solitary spots near the river and pond. Lovely flower gardens. Indoor and outdoor pools. Grills available for cookouts, along with picnic tables. A fantastic lodge with an outstanding view of the grounds and a fireplace. Game room. Delicious continental breakfast. We traveled with two 7yr old children who absolutely loved this place. They also have wifi which sealed the deal! The rooms were comfortable and clean and the AC worked very well. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonybrook1, Manager at Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and generous evaluation. Please feel free to contact us for your future accommodation needs. We have very good staff who aim to please everyone. We are fortunate to host your family. Thank you for staying with us. Aug 10, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and generous evaluation. Please feel free to contact us for your future accommodation needs. We have very good staff who aim to please everyone. We are fortunate to host your family. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonybrook Motel & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonybrook Motel & Lodge

Address: Route 18, Franconia, NH 03580
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stonybrook Motel & Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 "Best Base For Touring Franconia Notch" New England Travel Guide. Stonybrook is a four season motel nestled in the heart of the White Mountains in the quaint village of Franconia with breathtaking views bordered by a sparkling alpine stream. You'll enjoy indoor and outdoor heated pools for year-round swimming,trout pond,game room and a cozy fireplace in our hand-timbered Lodge plus streamside picnic area with grills and winter iceskating. Only 2 miles to Cannon Mountain,Echo Lake and the Franconia Notch! Closest AAA motel to Cannon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonybrook Motel & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonybrook Motel And Lodge
Stonybrook Hotel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel Franconia
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonybrook Motel & Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.