We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPOILER ALERT!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horse and Hound Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horse and Hound Inn
Save
You added Horse and Hound Inn to your Saves list
205 Wells Road, Franconia, NH 03580   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SPOILER ALERT!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our driving excursion this summer covered 3500 beautiful miles. A definite highlight on our most excellent adventure was our stay at the newly renovated and restored Horse and Hound Inn. The new owners, Ron & Ken, have brought back the intimate charm and elegant simplicity of the Inn's 1940's start. It is warm and unpretentious, yet elegant and refined for all ages and interests. The Inn also operates an exceptional bar and kitchen. The food and drink are inspired by the heart soul of the staff and were obviously enjoyed by locals and visitors alike. We look forward to our next visit to the White Mountains, hopefully in the winter, and will definitely be repeat guests at the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My good friend and I went on a "girls weekend" to hike the lofty and challenging mountains of Franconia Notch, NH. While up there, we heard some locals speak about the healthy and wonderful food served by the new owners of the Horse and Hound Inn. We decided to check the restaurant out and were not disappointed at all! The interior design is open, airy and inviting. Open wood beams adorn the ceilings and looking outside, one is surrounded by lush wildflower gardens. However, aside from the incredible food, the staff at the Inn are the best! Kevin, Ron and Debbie made every effort to make us feel welcomed and comfortable. We enjoyed our dinner so much that after a long hike the next day, we came back again! The grilled asparagus with tomatoes starter is simply wonderful along with the eggplant specialty they served. The chocolate torte for desert is absolutely sensational! Their wine selection is also fabulous! The atmosphere is casual and warm and welcoming to all! A definite must if you should be up in the beautiful White Mountains of New Hampshire!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Horse and Hound is under new membership and Ken and Ron make the place worth visiting alone. They have completely renovated the space (we saw old pictures, it needed it!!) into a clutter-free sophisticated Inn with all the warmth you'd expect in a regular inn. The rooms were wonderful, bed comfortable and water bottles in the room (I love that touch). Outside seating looks out on a beautiful grassy and flowered area that makes you want to stay there all day.

They were not yet serving dinner, but if our omelets at breakfast were any indication of what the chef can do there, we'll be back very soon! At incredibly reasonable rates, this is a great getaway from any city to relax at....
E&C

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horse and Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Hound Inn

Address: 205 Wells Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RETURN OF A CLASSIC. The Horse and Hound, located in the rugged White Mountains of New Hampshire, first opened in 1946 as a tasteful inn, tavern and restaurant. With three fireplaces and knotty pine paneling throughout, the inn welcomed everyone from Hollywood stars to local outdoor enthusiasts and quickly established a reputation for great food, elegant lodging and warm hospitality. Now celebrating its 65th anniversary, the Horse and Hound was closed from December 2010 through June 2011 while undergoing a comprehensive restoration to its classic lodge style. Now completed, the cheerful tavern, gracious dining room, elegant lobby, handsome library/lounge, and nine restful guest rooms once again invite you to unwind and relax after an active day in the Great Outdoors. Thank you for your interest and we look forward to welcoming you back. FOOD, SPORT & STEWARDSHIP OF THE GREAT OUTDOORS. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horse And Hound Hotel Franconia
Horse And Hound Inn Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horse and Hound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.