We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trails for every skill level and super friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cannon Mountain

Cannon Mountain
Franconia Notch State Park, Franconia, NH 03580
603 823 8800
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Franconia
Type: Mountains, Scenic Drives, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named for its gun-like appearance.
Boston 021
2 reviews
“Trails for every skill level and super friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is really a great place! Not only they have trails for every skill level, they also offer beginner and intermediate classes with highly skilled teachers (that are also, super friendly!), plus the lift lines are never too long.
The bar has good home prepared food (go with the specials, we all order a special dish and they were all very good) and even when the place becomes crowded the bar tenders makes sure that everybody is served and happy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    62
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A little icy, but well worth dulling your edges. There's a trail for every skill level. It's too bad the weather has been so warm lately. I'm hoping to go back later this year when all the trails are open.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Conditions were pretty good, the cannon staff rocks and never long lines here! Food & drink at the pub is very good. Although there was a chair malfunction and we were stuck for 25 min or so, they gave everyone vouchers and our day was easily salvaged after with the sun coming out and some great runs!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Great Option for Skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We visited Cannon Mt on a Friday. What I liked best of Cannon Mt was not having to wait for large crowds to rent and return my gear. There was no waiting for any lift, either. The views from atop were incredible. The slopes were fun and not too bad, since I'm a fairly new skier. This made it better for me, since I never felt pressured to go down a slope as you do in some areas. They have a lot of runs available.
If you are thinking they have WiFi for those who are waiting at the Lodge, we know the Notchview Lodge does not have it.
Cannon Mt was very clean and organized. The Lodges were clean. The experience was very enjoyable for us.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beatiful view at the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The tramway takes you o the top of Canon Mt., and the rim path hike is breathtaking! You can see the Presidential range across the valley. The fragrance of pine and the moss-floored forest gives this area a romantic fairy-tale feel. The observation tower offers a spectacular view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannon Mountain also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Cannon Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannon Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.