We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gondola ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cannon Mountain

Cannon Mountain
Franconia Notch State Park, Franconia, NH 03580
603 823 8800
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Franconia
Type: Mountains, Scenic Drives, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named for its gun-like appearance.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Great gondola ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

if you want to get a beautiful view of the surrounding mountains, ride the gondola to the top of Cannon then do the rim trail to the observation tower. Plenty of trails of varying difficulty fan out from the rim trail. Enjoy the trails, but be prepared for the storms that sweep in often and without a lot of notice.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    62
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Kinsman Ridge from Tramway lot to summit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Good hike, trail is eroded and steep but fun. Who doesn't enjoy a summit building with beer after a good hike? :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We did the package with Franconia Gorge and saved $2. We enjoyed this more than Mt. Washington. The views were wonderful and the smell of the pines on the summit trail were great. On the way down we saw a black bear and her 2 cubs from the tram. It was GREAT!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place was great and worth the money. We got to see a mama bear and two cubs ..best to go in early morning less people

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The type of Gondola you would see in Austria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

He we go , we had a perfect day to take the tram to the summit , the views were spectacular , on the day we went the base temp was 75-80 and not a cloud in the sky . Our viewing range was 65 miles ! Very impressive . The observation tower placed atop the summit is a bit of a climb , But no worries the summit Resturant has its on observation decks . So if you have a handicap you will be fine ... The ride up is appox 7-8 min and the tram runs every 15 minutes ... Enjoy the views of all that Franconia Notch has to offer . A must if In the area .... Ck out the pics posted .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cannon Mountain also viewed

Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Cannon Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cannon Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.