We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern At Rivers Edge

Tavern At Rivers Edge
163 Water St, Exeter, NH 03833-2424
603-772-7393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 45 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had read the bad reviews of this place and was wary, but we had a gift voucher, so went for dinner on a Saturday night. It was fabulous. I had the mushroom risotto, which was delicious, and my husband the mushroom ragout, which was so good I wished I'd chosen it, though we did some sharing! The service in particular was great - our waitress couldn't have been more attentive. If you had a bad experience before, I'd give it another try.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett NH
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Marginal Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have eaten lunch and dinner here about six times, but we won't be back. They make jst about the best cheeseburger anywhere, but that's where it ends. The dinners are fair, but not worth the price. The couple we dined with had soup that was lukewarm, no place mats or table cloths either. The killer of this place is the service---we were having a drink and the waitress asked if she could "borrow" the menus to give them to another table---15 minutes later we got them back. It wasn't that busy, but basic food took about 30 minutes, then they brought 2 servings and 10 minutes later the other two arrived. These servers are simply not trained by anyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

1st visit, we ate in the dinning room section. We both had delicious fillet steak cooked perfectly to order and came with unexpected lobster extras. Friendly and attentive waitstaff. Food came out fast and hot. Prices are a little on the high side. The front door can be difficult to find, you have to go downstairs to the basement of the building.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfields, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“simple things not done right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

B/c Exeter is so small and b/c I really like the idea of a neighborhood bar, I've given this place a number of attempts before writing this review. And despite me wanting to give this place a good review, I simply can't.

My wife and I just finished a meal at the Tavern, ordering off of the lighter fare and pub menu and we both left unimpressed (again). Our order was simple and straightforward, a medium rare burger and a pulled pork sandwich. There were only 10 or so people in the place, and it took about 15 minutes to get the food out. The burger was cooked all the way through (well done) and the pulled pork was light on the pork and heavy on the cheese. The BBQ sauce was also too sweet for my taste and lacked any real spice.

Add on the fact that service was slow and the prices on the high side and we were left with a restaurant we simply won't be returning to.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place in downtown Exeter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice small little restaurant in downtown Exeter. Food is quite good but also a bit pricey. Service is usually very good. Small cozy dining area with perhaps about 10 tables and a smaller area with a small bar and a few tables.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern At Rivers Edge also viewed

 

Been to Tavern At Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern At Rivers Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.