We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in downtown Exeter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern At Rivers Edge

Tavern At Rivers Edge
163 Water St, Exeter, NH 03833-2424
603-772-7393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 45 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place in downtown Exeter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Nice small little restaurant in downtown Exeter. Food is quite good but also a bit pricey. Service is usually very good. Small cozy dining area with perhaps about 10 tables and a smaller area with a small bar and a few tables.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seacoast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Visit, Great Menu, Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A Saturday night out with friends caused us to visit the Tavern At The Rivers Edge for an 8 p.m. reservation. Both their cozy downstairs bar and restaurant were Saturday-night-busy. We liked the unique exposed brick wall, downstairs location right at the Squamscott "Rivers Edge" that we could not see because it was dark outside.

We liked the menu, the prices, the environment and the service.....even on a busy Friday night. We were served by Lynn who we were told has worked there for +.- 14 years......so she really knew "her stuff". The menu is diverse with lots of varied options even for vegetarians. Here are three entrees that were real winners in our group. (1) Lobster Bisque was made to order and will "knock your soxs off." (2) Grilled Sea Scallops (huge) with oranges, cranberries, avocado, artichokes and a tarragon sauce, $22. (3) Chicken Cyr (Breast) topped with asparagus, wild greens, truffle oil and shallot viniagrette w/ jasmine rice. (4) Grilled Pork Chimichurri. I think we simply "hit it right" that night. We will be returning there Christmas week to entertain some holiday guests.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candia NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Value City!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were looking for a place to eat in Exeter and didn't even notice this place until the proverbial guy smoking on a stoop pointed it out. It only has about 7 feet of frontage on the main street, which leads you to a staircase taking you down below.

I usually don't like "downstairs restaurants" but this space was pretty nice. The food, though, was the star of the night. Large portions of pretty tasty stuff. The service was good, even at 7 on a Friday night. The kids loved it, including some really nice deserts.

Gotta add this to my list of nice NH restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal, great bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I have visited the Tavern several times over the past couple years. The bar here has a great atmosphere for a small pub and friendly bartender. The restaurant and entrees have been increasingly disappointing on each return visit. From steaks not cooked to requested temperature to bland unseasoned or even undercooked food (the potato wedges were hard and barely cooked with my steak entree). The menu looks great but fails to deliver on the quality of the food especially for the price. not a great value. visit the bar and skip the dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi, Italy
1 review
“Don't let the street view fool you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The"Tavern at Rivers Edge" has a very unassuming appearance from the street, but once down the stairs to the basement you are welcomed to a very tastefully decorated restaurant. The food was first class and the service exemplary. We wished we lived in the neighborhood as we would be there all the time. Couple from Canada.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern At Rivers Edge also viewed

 

Been to Tavern At Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern At Rivers Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.