We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and healthy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Evolution

Blue Moon Evolution
8 Clifford Street, Exeter, NH
603-778-6850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lunch: Monday-Saturday, 11:00am-2:30pm.Dinner: Tuesday-Thursday, 5:00-9:00pm, Friday & Saturday, 5:00-9:30pm.Closed Sundays.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great vegan, vegetarian, gluten free and healthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Loved everything about this restaurant! We were staying in Exeter for the weekend and it was recommended by everyone we spoke to. The ambience is really cute, warm, and inviting. Service was great...efficient and very friendly...even a "thanks, come back again" from the hostess as we left. Not a huge menu for lunch, but everything from healthy to vegan/vegetarian to gluten free options and some great specials.

The tomato/basil soup was super tasty and Blue Moon is actually nominated for best soup in Best of New Hampshire. They also had a great looking salad bar with some out of the ordinary things like different seeds, sunflower pâté (delicious), etc. One of the best things about this restaurant is that everything is locally sourced, so you are getting the freshest foods available while supporting the local community.

They have some to prepared to go items like quarts of soup, sandwiches, cakes, and cookies...even vegan and gluten free selections. The mint chocolate gluten free vegan cookie was amazing! Definitely a must do while in Exeter, especially if you want a tasty, healthy experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    82
    27
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Healthy & dietary restriction friendly! Prefer lunch over dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have a family with a lot of dietary restrictions (no gluten, dairy etc) and this restaurant is hands down the best in town for catering to such restrictions with great taste and service. They recently changed to seated service at lunch rather than ordering at the register and sitting, I prefer the old way better, however in speaking with the owner, it seems like the change helps provide faster and more accurate service. While the prices are a little on the high side compared to a fast food or quick lunch stop, the food is fresh, local, and I've never had anything I didn't like.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Limited, stagnant menu. routinely run out of menu items”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've been to blue moon many times, but are going less and less for 2 reasons. First, the limited menu (5-6 entrees) hasn't changed in years. Second, they have run out of certain menu items routinely. The first time it happened, no big deal. But it's happened 3 times out of about 6 visits! Recently they ran out out the entree (a hamburger) and they ran out the dessert we tried to order (ice cream!!). C'mon, seriously? Hamburger and ice cream? At a 7pm reservation time? Who runs out of hamburger and ice cream. The least they could have done was comp us on a different dessert! Nope.
Their heart is in the right place, but they have gotten complacent, maybe due to them being the only game in town. They need to wake up and get their A game going.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Planning to Visit Again ASAP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I must admit I have not been to Blue Moon Evolution recently. The location is on a one-way street and a little out of the way. However, in the past years, I loved stopping in to buy bagged nuts and seeds, and the other fresh produce whenever possible. I also enjoyed eating their fresh sandwiches and awesome desserts. Was very impressed with the freshness of the food and the pleasantness of the people serving up what I picked out. Some prices are a bit high but are well worth the money. They have gift cards available for purchase to give to friends and family, especially for birthdays. I have several friends who really love the Blue Moon and so I know the gift cards are really appreciated. When I have more time, I will be sure to stop in to enjoy the food, the seating and the decor changes I've been wanting to see for some time.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Our favorite local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have not had anything that we didn't like - from appetizer to dessert (dinner). The wines and cocktail we've tried have all been good. We love the ambience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Evolution also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moon Evolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Evolution, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.