We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hampton Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Portsmouth Avenue, Exeter, NH 03833   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at this hotel on our recent trip to New England. I booked it because it was less expensive than hotels in Portsmouth and we really like Hampton Inns anyway. We were treated to a great experience. Beautiful, fairly new hotel with extremely clean rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was a good variety of cereals, breads, fruit, and some hot items. There was a large dining area so it was not crowded. The staff was great and gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner - the Lobster Boat - which we could walk to. There is also a shopping center, drug store, and Dunkin Doughnuts within walking distance. It is only about 20 minutes from Portsmouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it! Glad you liked the Lobster Boat, it’s nice to have a restaurant so close and locally owned.
Warm Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    59
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
117
64
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel staff was SUPER. The staff kept rooms clean and very efficient in their cleaning of the rooms. The great complimentary breakfast was an added addition...some hotels have complimentary, but quality "sucks". Hampton Inn had a great breakfast with a choice of hot or cold breakfast products.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello,
The entire staff appreciates the kind words and your time for writing a review. I will give kudos to the breakfast attendants for a doing such a nice job with the breakfast lineup.
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hampton Inns can vary from location to location but this was one great Hampton. Maybe the influence of Phillips Exeter Academy influenced this Hampton, but whatever, I wish all Hamptons were like this. It was either new or newly remodeled. Someone at Hampton has been listening or surveying customers because they done some very smart things: Night light (in this case detachable), cubbies hung above the toilet to LOTS of space to put your toiletries, extra deep tub, peephole even a short person (5') can look through without being on tiptoes, even lower extra peephole on handicapped access room, special access code on handicapped room, great & comfortable lounge/breakfast area with v. high ceilings so not cramped, mini "store" of notions & snacks & foods & desserts including ice cream.

Beds were great. Multiple pillows offered so you can have a fuller one or a less full one. Whichever is best for you.

And Hampton staff all seem to be very friendly, including the cleaning staff. Nice job, staff!

Only thing I would suggest for all Hampton Inns...please get larger and softer towels for the swimming pool area. Yours are smaller than bath size and just a bit larger than hand towel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. I will post your feedback regarding the size of the pool towels to our corporate blog site. Great advice!
Regards, Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have stayed at this property seven or eight times now, both when relatively empty and when every room has been sold out. It is one of the cleanest, friendliest and "easiest" Hampton Inns, or any hotel, I've experienced. Excellent staff, great location, convenient to Phillips Exeter Academy. It's a relatively new property in the area, and is often full of parents and families, but I've never experienced that feeling that the hotel was over-crowded or overly strained to handle all of the guests. ALL of the staff is great -- friendly and helpful. The only down side to this excellence is that sometimes they are sold out when I want/need a room!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it!
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is one awesome hotel. The entire experience was flawless. From check in to check out the hotel was by far above any of the other hotels I have stayed at recently.The staff was perhaps the best part of the experience. Now, keep in mind we were up and out of the hotel at 5:30am for an all day fishing trip before breakfast was open, yet the night attendant ( forgot her name, but very friendly, smiling and a pleasure to talk to) offered to get us some muffins or a bagel because it wasn't open yet. She apologized and wanted to go out of her way to make sure we were happy. We graciously thanked her and appreciated the offer. The whole staff, from front desk, manager and the breakfast group the following morning were all very pleasant and engaging with the guests. Breakfast the next day was very good and kept stocked even though there was a number of guests wanting food. We never had to wait. Not sure if this is part of their training, or if it just comes natural, but it is certainly genuine in feel and appearance. Definitely would stay again and an over the top recommendation for this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites for your recent stay in Exeter. I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. It is a pleasure responding to kind reviews like yours, we sincerely appreciate it! The night audit's name was Breanna, I will show her this review, she will love it.
Warm Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights while we were exploring the local area. It's a very clean and well-run hotel. The staff were impressive-- very helpful and friendly. If we return to the area I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay in Exeter. What a great compliment for the entire staff. Looking forward to posting this review in the break room, it’s responses like this that make our day!
Sincerely,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
867 reviews 867 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 328 cities Reviews in 328 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Yes they are! I arrived at 730 and was told the cookies were all gone for the night. Very disappointing. While this was a typical Hampton Inn - with no real negatives - the experience was just not the same. I also was not welcomed with my newspaper in the morning. Plus - the price was quite high. Thus, this is average - whereas I usually rate Hampton's above average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana S, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter for your recent stay . I appreciate the time it took for you to post a review. Your feedback is valuable and we will continue to work on making service improvements. I certainly understand how delicious the cookies are and we will strive to make more or figure out how to make the same batch last longer, we like a challenge.
Regards,
Dana Stair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Address: 59 Portsmouth Avenue, Exeter, NH 03833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's newest hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites - offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, HSIA, shuttle service, meeting room, indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel staff is passionate about providing extraordinary service from arrival to departure. It is ideally located within walking distance to historic downtown Exeter and Phillips Exeter Academy; 8 miles to Hampton Beach and a twenty minute drive to Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exeter
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter Hotel Exeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.