We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling with our dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59 Portsmouth Avenue, Exeter, NH 03833   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Traveling with our dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stay here several times a year and have done so for several years. This time we brought our seven pound Toy Poodle. He travels well during the eight hour drive so he's ready for fun when we arrived. We were given a room on the first floor along with other pet owners. We only saw three other dogs, two next to us and rarely heard any barking during the entire weekend. Good insulation, I'd say. The first floor rooms lead to an outside door that is very convenient for a morning or evening walk without going through the lobby if that's your preference. The door requires a room key to enter so there is adequate security. Not much grass outside but enough landscaping and mulch for your pet. You may also choose to park in the back lot outside the rear door. Opposite the rooms along the corridor is the fitness center, the pool and hot tub, which are open until 11 o'clock, and a special events room. We heard some noise from some kids in the pool, but it stopped by 10 and our dog then settled down. He doesn't bark at other dogs and so only woofed a bit when he heard a few barks. He thought that a few hallway conversations and nearby door closings meant visitors to our room, but he soon gave up this line of thinking. I would recommend that you request a room at the end of the corridor past the pool and fitness center but not so near as to be hearing the opening and closing of the outside door. I'm not sure if many people use it.
For breakfast we took our dog to the lobby and sat either at a small table across from the check-in desk or in the lounge area immediately to the left of the entrance doors. My wife would get something to eat while I held our dog on his leash and then my wife held him while I went to get some breakfast. Therefore, we could eat together and not bother anyone by having him in the dining room. I don't know what the rule is about pets in the dining room. It's a self-serve buffet and very quick to get something to eat.
We signed a waiver saying that we would pay for any damage our dog did. (He did none.) There was no extra charge for him, but that may have been because I am a Hilton Honors Club member.
Although the maid missed giving us fresh towels on one day, the night manager provided them promptly when we called the front desk. This was the first glitch in service we have encountered in years of coming to this hotel. No problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnExeter, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your response! We love having our four-legged guests here with us! We do not charge a pet fee for any pets that stay with us, but do keep them on the 1st floor due to the convenience of the back door for walks. We hope to see you again very soon!

Thank you,
Amy Griswold
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    70
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
128
69
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, RI, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Typical Hampton Inn experience for the most part.. Quick courteous check in, spotless updated room, comfortable king size bed, etc.. Only downside was the noise from some kids running up and down the hallway late into the evening and the folks in the next room who were up early and talking VERY loud (thought I was going to roll over and find them in bed next to me)! Other than the noise had a great experience and will most likely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent hotel. Attentive staff, excellent and well presented breakfast, very nice room, and a good location. In addition, lots of good running or walking areas in the vicinity. My wife and I have been in a number of hotels over the past 2 weeks and this is definitely one we'd go back to!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed at many Hampton Inns because I am a Hilton Honors member. This is one of the best by far. The ambience and cleanliness are excellent. The lobby is cozy and inviting. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. My son will be attending Phillips Exeter in the fall and this will definitely be my hotel of choice. I am booking now for the whole year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here after moving cross country waiting for our home to become available. The staff was amazing and the front desk went above and beyond to help you any way possible. The breakfast had a lot of options and the facility was very clean. We will definitely recommend this hotel when our friends and family come to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice and updated hotel. The breakfast is great (and free!), and I enjoyed the room. It also allows dogs, which is great. Unfortunately, my view was of the Dunkin Doughnuts sign next door. I would recommend this for families visiting the campus

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnExeter, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to be a pet-friendly hotel and love our guests four-legged family members. We also understand that some people have pet allergies. This is why we keep all of our pets on the first floor. We are located less than a mile from school, a great walk in the spring and summer, especially with your dog!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Excellent hotel. We have stayed there now for two soccer tournaments. The players love the indoor pool and free breakfast. The hotel is very clean, great rates, helpful staff, great free breakfast. The suites are well worth the extra money. The gathering area off the lobby is great, and we liked that it had a gas enclosed fireplace and flat screen t.v. where our team could gather. We will definitely stay again. Exeter center is close by and easy to get to. The center is very quaint and has a lot of great stores and restaurants. The park along the river just outside the center has a great walking/running path and is very picturesque. The hotel is in a very convenient area. There are 2 pharmacies, a Dunkin Donuts and various restaurants all within walking distance.

Room Tip: Recommend getting a suite. Not much more money and the space is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnExeter, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We work Seacoast United for many of their soccer tournaments. We are located less than a mile from downtown parks and trails, but are surrounded by a number of great restaurants and convenient stores. Looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter

Address: 59 Portsmouth Avenue, Exeter, NH 03833
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exeter's newest hotel is the Hampton Inn & Suites - offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, HSIA, shuttle service, meeting room, indoor heated pool, fitness center and business center. The hotel staff is passionate about providing extraordinary service from arrival to departure. It is ideally located within walking distance to historic downtown Exeter and Phillips Exeter Academy; 8 miles to Hampton Beach and a twenty minute drive to Portsmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exeter
Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter Hotel Exeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Exeter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.