We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn by the Bandstand

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exeter
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn by the Bandstand
Save
You added Inn by the Bandstand to your Saves list
6 Front Street, Exeter, NH 03833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would love to thank Susan for such a wonderful stay. I am glad I bypassed trying to make reservation through Tripadvisor. You MUST call the Inn direct and speak to Susan. For some reason the last Inn Keeper has blocked her from being able to retrieve reservations from Tripadvisor.

Once again...thanks for everything and hope to see you again real soon. Give Zach a big hug!!

Renee'

Room Tip: I toured several of the room and they are all really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
101
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Inn on the Bandstand when we visited PEA for Parents' Weekend. It was our third stay, and it just gets better. The facilities are charming and welcoming, the bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in, and the thoughtful details—warm chocolate chip cookies, hot tea and coffee around the clock, sherry in the room—made our stay particularly special. We also loved that our son's dorm room was a five-minute walk from the inn. We parked our car in the free lot behind the inn and walked everywhere. Put simply, we loved it. Susan is a gracious host who bends over backward to give you a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my first experience with a B&B. This historic inn has a lot of character and is beautifully decorated. The innkeeper, Susan and her sister, Laurie, were wonderful hosts who seemed like family by the time we left. Their breakfasts were special: coffee, juice, a beautifully served fruit plate followed by an egg and cheese dish and a muffin. I highly recommend this inn!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cambridge which has twin beds--unusual in a B&B. It was quiet at night, so go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent, I will return without a doubt.
We had the family suite. Two separate bedrooms and a bathroom.

Strengths;
Very clean, bed very conforble, enough space, good breakfast of an omelette, a muffin, bacon and fruit. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and herbal tea are available at all times.
The neighborhood is charming, near several restaurants a few minutes walk. The home was very professional and courteous. Possibility to rent bicycles.

Weaknesses;
The room is just off the kitchen, so a little noise in the morning when the owner prepares the breakfast, but it smells good! Noise beyond street as the hotel is located directly in the small city center. Breakfast is at 9 am, not before or after. No menu.
The room is directly next to the backdoor entrance , so few come and go and the noise it brings.

Room Tip: Do not take the family suite room if you have a light sleep. Ask for the second or third floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I found a Groupon Getaway to The Inn by the Bandstand in Exeter, NH. Not only was it our first B&B stay, it was also our first trip up to New England. We couldn't have asked for better hosts with Jim and Kate. Breakfast every morning was delicious! They gave us fantastic recommendations for restaurants in the area and things to do. The location was great - less than an hour to Boston, 15 minutes to the town of Portsmouth, 20 minutes to Hampton Beach, 20 minutes to Kittery Outlets in Maine - it was a perfect central location to keep us close to everything we wanted to do.

We wish Jim and Kate the best of luck. I believe today is your wedding day! I hope you had great weather and a wonderful time! Good luck to both of you in your future adventures!

Mike & Melissa

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lakeheath Lodge. My hope for our summer trip was Somerset Cottage, but it was alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My best friend and I had been trying to plan a girls weekend for a very long time. We wanted to go some place where we could relax, shop, go to the beach and leave our guys at home :-) I found a groupon for Inn By The Bandstand and knew it was going to be great! From the moment we got there (only about 2.5 hours from the Hartord area) we knew we had made the best choice. Innkeeper Jim was amazing! He had the best information, recommendations, cooking skills and company. The Inn is beautiful and clean. We got to do everything we set out to do and more. This is the ideal girls weekend!!!! We enjoyed ourself so much that we are already planning to go back! This place is a must for girls looking to getaway for a few days :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have never been to a B&B. We had a great time, the place was old but it great shape. It was clean and the service was very friendly. I am a little sad that Kate was not in, we connected when I called to make the reservation. It is sad that they are selling because we would of loved to tell all our friends from Montreal (5 1/2 hour drive) to stay there at least once. All of Jim's advice were helpfull and really appriciated. Hope to see you in Montreal Jim and Kate. Take care and remerber: Good things happen to good people!!! Julie & Mario

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim and Kate L, Owner at Inn by the Bandstand, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Well, first of all CONGRATULATIONS our your nuptials! We are very pleased you chose us to spend your honeymoon. You took advantage of many of our suggestions and am so glad you had a great time as you embark on your future together! Please remember us for your anniversaries!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn by the Bandstand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Bandstand

Address: 6 Front Street, Exeter, NH 03833
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Inn by the Bandstand is the premier lodging establishment in Exeter, New Hampshire. This wonderful inn is an 1809 historic home located in the heart of downtown Exeter. Only two blocks from the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, eight miles to the seacoast and beaches, and 20 minutes from Portsmouth, this charming inn offers nine antique furnished guest rooms, all with private baths and a delicious full breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn By The Bandstand Hotel Exeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn by the Bandstand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.