We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect area historic Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exeter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Exeter Inn to your Saves list
Exeter Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Pelham, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect area historic Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the Exeter Inn while traveling to attend a friend's Holiday party, and we were pleasantly surprised by the overall quality and historic feel of the Inn. Our 2nd floor, front room overlooked the beautiful town center, the furniture and amenities were of good quality, some antiques, and tasteful overall. The bath and shower were also clean, with quality fixtures.

Plenty of parking both on and off the street, the staff was friendly and courteous when needed, quiet but always available but not intrusive when we were relaxing.

We sat downstairs at the great fireplace before getting a drink at the small, but well stocked and well tended bar. It was hard to push ourselves out the door into the cold to go to the party. We had breakfast that was nothing special, but not really bad either.

We agreed that we'd happily return to this Inn, and that overall it was a memorable and affordable stay in a quiet New England town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
22
49
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent a night at the Exeter Inn in December. We were given an unexpected upgrade to our room which was appreciated. The waitress at the restaurant was very good. The entrees at the restaurant attempted a bit more than the chef was capable of, and for this reason I would recommend going to the restaurant for appetizers only. While we enjoyed the upgraded room, there were areas that needed to be cleaned a bit more. This was an above average stay because of the service, but to rate it as "very good" the room would have needed to be completely clean and the restaurant would have needed to present a better meal.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRManager, Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear SM2011:
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate the time you took to do so. Our staff strives to exceed the expectations of our guests, however we clearly missed the mark. The feedback of your experience is particularly helpful to us and will be shared with our staff so we can continue to focus and ensure we are delivering a quaility product with excellent service consistently. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours truly,
Lisa Reeser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Should you be passing thru the historic town of Exeter, NH where the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy is located, you must stay at the Exeter Inn on Front St. You are met with a lovely ambiance upon entering with a woodburning fireplace next to the lobby where you can relax and read the morning newspapers. Pleasant and cozy rooms with upgraded bathrooms. I was impressed with an oversized towel that was wrapped with a red ribbon that said "Give yourself a Hug". Had breakfast in the restaurant with snowflakes falling on a white gazebo outside the window. Lovely all around!

Room Tip: The least expensive room is $109, small, cozy and adorable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRManager, Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear judieelizabeth:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience. It was our pleasure to be your host and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
The Staff and Management of The Exeter Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a family emergency and needed a last minute place to stay while visiting someone at the hospital. We booked a room same day online. The price was reasonable (less expensive than the chains closer to the hotel). The room was a nice size, comfortable and quite.They leave cookies at turn down service. The bathroom was a bit small but clean. The staff was all very welcoming and wonderfully nice. We had drinks at the bar.The bartender was great. The service was efficient and friendly. I love the Cure All drink that he made for me! We will definitely return when we are in the area, even if only for a drink at the bar. The pepper appetizer is delicious. We had dinner in the restaurant about a month prior to our stay and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRManager, Manager at Exeter Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear RIBluebird :
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Exeter Inn. I am very sorry that an emergency brought you to the area, however it was our pleasure to be your host.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards,
The Staff and Management of The Exeter Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Far more charm and character than any of the chains. Rooms are nicely appointed, very comfortable and quiet. Hotel common areas are lovely, restaurant is excellent and staff are knowledgeable and very helpful. I look forward to finding an excuse to return.

Tracy K

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossipee, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The room was impressively clean. I love the turndown service. I felt like a valued customer. The bedding was comfortable, the showers were hot, the room temperature was perfect. Zero complaints!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I'd go back in a heartbeat. You will find true, New England hospitality when you stay at this inn.

Room Tip: Bring socks and a warm nightgown because New England gets COLD at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exeter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Inn

Address: 90 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exeter Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1932 Georgian Stately brick building originally designed to accommodate prestigous families visiting Phillips Exeter Acedemy. The Acedemy is known around the world for its prepareness to attend Harvard University and other major ivy league colleges. The Inn has 46 rooms featuring 3 suites. Located in walking distance to downtown Exeter town center, a short driving distance to Portsmouth, Hampton, Stratham and Epping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Exeter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Hotel Exeter
Inn Exeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exeter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.