We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exeter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Exeter Inn to your Saves list
Exeter Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We spent two Saturday nights here while preparing a local property for sale and it was just delightful both times. Very clean and very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Stronlgy recommend. Make your reservations on the hotel web site theexeterinn.com - you will get the best rate on the web and a wider selection of rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    41
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
55
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Great staff! Very friendly !! Delicious cookies at check-in. Coffee ready for 6:00AM departure. Not sure if there enough parking spots when full. On-street parking ban in winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed at Exeter Inn the other night. Charming building, very nice staff. Although the room as a bit small, it was really all we needed. The room was very clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was very cool in design but a little small. There was no room around the sink to put things. Only a small shelf above the toilet. And there was no place to hang hand towels since the only rack held the bath towels and there was no place to move those to. Nice amenities -- robes, slippers, high-end soap and shampoo. The restaurant is nice. Friendly, fun bartender. Interesting menu. Try the Charcuterie Plate. They smoke their own meats. My boyfriend, who is quite a foodie, was in heaven!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

"Charming" can mean exactly what one first thinks of on reading the word: a quaint, cozy, pleasant place. "Charming" can also mean "quirky" and, frankly, "old." Exeter Inn is "charming" in both senses.

The Inn is beautiful in an old New England way. Visually appealing, it looks like a Harvard (or Phillips Exeter) dorm. It also has some old New England characteristics -- small, drafty rooms and outdated fixtures and facilities.

I was there in early December for a business meeting. It seemed to me that the hotel was understaffed, even for the relatively few guests who were. Breakfast on a Wednesday morning took 40 minutes for the "simple breakfast" as it was described on the menu. One guest waited 30 minutes and left in a huff.

The conference room we used was cold, and the heater was blowing cold air. The lighting was minimal, so the staff brought in a simple table lamp. There was one outlet in the room. If you want modern conveniences, go to the Hampton Inn nearer I-95.

There were positives: food was excellent (when it arrived). The staff were friendly and doing their best. The ambience is nice.

All in all, not a great experience, but charming.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My wife and I hate the new breed of whitewashed, bland, cheap-feeling hotels that seem to be popping up all over the place. We won't stay in them. We greatly prefer hotels that have some history and charm, but that have been carefully and lovingly updated to meet modern needs — that is what you get at the Exeter Inn. We stayed at the Exeter for one night over the 4th of July weekend this past summer and loved it. OK, the rooms are kinda small, but they really are cozy. You get the feeling that they have housed generations of students – and are totally charming in decor. All the original dark woodwork has been kept and improved throughout the inn giving it a very european feel. The requisite modern amenities have been added: exercise room, internet connections, elevator, etc. The restaurant and bar area has recently been redone to a cool but nicely-integrated contemporary feel. The service is top-notch. The food at the restaurant is to die for! The Exeter Inn the the whole package — THIS is what a hotel should be.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Exeter Inn is in a lovely part of the town of Exeter, right down a residential street from Phillips Exeter Academy. The rooms are adequate, but not plush. Our room was small, with only basic amenities. The staff does try hard to please, including leaving a plate of cookies in your room upon your arrival. For what it is, I found it a bit pricey and regretted not having stayed in Portsmouth instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

While we were remodeling our home in Exeter, we needed a place to stay for a few nights, and we "escaped" to the Exeter Inn. The service was excellent, food outstanding, and the wi-fi service allowed us to continue our busy lifestyle while away from home. They catered to our 4-year-old at the restaurant, and we really appreciated the special attention while our lives were in chaos. Thanks for providing a home away from home!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exeter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exeter Inn

Address: 90 Front St, Exeter, NH 03833
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Exeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exeter Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1932 Georgian Stately brick building originally designed to accommodate prestigous families visiting Phillips Exeter Acedemy. The Acedemy is known around the world for its prepareness to attend Harvard University and other major ivy league colleges. The Inn has 46 rooms featuring 3 suites. Located in walking distance to downtown Exeter town center, a short driving distance to Portsmouth, Hampton, Stratham and Epping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Exeter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Hotel Exeter
Inn Exeter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exeter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.