We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Olas Taqueria

Las Olas Taqueria
30 Portsmouth Avenue, Exeter, NH 03833
+1 603-418-8901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Exeter
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Description: Las Olas is a fresh Mexican grill. Quick Service, friendly staff, and tasty fresh Latin/Mexican food that you can choose your fillings as our staff guide you through the process.
Vermont
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A great place for getting a filling meal very quickly. Reminded me of a moe's south western grill, but healthier.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Fresh delicious food served fast and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I don't know what the big hang up is for deciding if this place has authentic "Mexican" food or not. Besides, most people have never had authentic "Mexican food" and wouldn't know it if it hit them.

In either case, if you like fresh delicious food served quickly and won't break the bank, then this place is for you. You can go as vegetarian as you like, or you can just as easily go all out carnivore - either way, it's gonna be good.

If you are looking for a foo-foo place, then this isn't it. This place reminds me of kinda like a cross between Moe's and Chipotle.

My wife had a chicken burrito (she said the hot sauce they put on was too hot, but that was the only real complaint), I had a steak salad, and my daughter had a cheese quesadilla. It was all excellent!

Anytime I'm in Exeter, this will definitely be at the top of my list because getting fresh food is harder and harder to come across in restaurants these days.

Do not hesitate to try this place - unless you are bent on going completely authentic Mexican, or have to be served properly in order to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

I love the vegetarian quesadilla. Relaxed environment and the food is always fresh. Overall I really enjoy eating with friends at this restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really confused”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

So this is another place in Exeter that people kept telling me and my husband we have to try. There is often a line out the door so we thought "this place must be amazing". To be honest, the word I would use when we finally went is shocked. I got a beef taco the first time we went. It was terrible. No flavor at all except the cilantro. The meat had no flavor or seasoning whatsoever. After our visit, we were telling a lot of friends that we finally went to Las Olas and were extremely disappointed. Everyone said we really need to go back and try the burritos. I went for a chicken burrito this time. Once again, flavorless except the cilantro. The chicken looks disgusting and sits in a bin of what I'm assuming is water. I don't know. Its a weird color and watery and completely flavorless. The food doesn't seem fresh to me as everybody else says. In my honest opinion, I would give their food a 2 out of 10. Its not even on the same scale as Chipotle which has the same set-up except their food is fresh and flavorful. I gave Las Olas 2 chances and was served flavorless slop both times. I'm stunned by the good reviews and multitude of people who have recommended this place to us. Just don't get it. It was a waste of our money.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value. Basic service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Don't expect fancy dining, but the food is always fresh and tasty with ample sized portions.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Olas Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Las Olas Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Olas Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.