We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renting a Room, not a true B&B experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   597 New Hampshire Route 4A, Enfield, NH 03748   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Enfield B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Renting a Room, not a true B&B experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is not a traditional B&B in so many ways, but it could be. The hosts are very nice and welcoming, but it’s quickly apparent that you are staying in their home and not a B&B and that this business was admittedly an afterthought.

The house is old and comes with the charm and challenges of tight spaces, small bathrooms and an awkward layout. Guests walk through the kitchen and very tight dining room to get to most of the rooms. We were never given a tour during the three days we were there, nor were we made to feel “at home.” The only common space was the dining room, which has a table that takes up the entire room. Getting passed it with your suitcase is tight and uncomfortable. And while the table was big, it was clogged with too much stuff. It was overdressed with service plates and the like, flower arrangements, etc.

For us, there was just too much clutter, from plastic flowers and herbs, to family photos and dust-collecting objects to old and dirty carpet in the bathrooms, yes I said in the bathrooms. The closets had the owners’ clothes hanging up, so we had to make room for our formal clothes we had brought for graduation ceremonies at Dartmouth. (Speaking of which, the drive to Dartmouth is 25 to 30 minutes, which is a bit further then you’d like driving home at night.) The TV in the room is old and huge. It should be on a turntable so that you can watch it from somewhere other than the bed. It sits on a massive trunk. The room we stayed in was too small for all the furniture in it. And I didn’t care for the nautical theme, which is overdone and out of place for a quaint New Hampshire location. There is Wi-Fi.

There are no extras at this B&B and nothing convenient to offset that. There is no communal fridge or room fridge, no snacks or drinks. Room-temperature water and a few cookies is the extent of it. Our bathroom did not come with individual soaps and shampoos as you might expect at a B&B. Rather, there was a big bottle of Suave in the very tight shower, which was a bit awkward to operate for the first time and there were no arrows or instructions. The water was very, very hot, which could be a problem for some people. We never got fresh towels in 3 days, which was disappointing. The bed was very comfortable I must say, but the massive quilt is not easily washable, nor are the throw pillows that could use a cleaning.

Breakfast is not what we expected. As guests we were not asked what we wanted, or if we had any allergies, or had any preferences. The food is not special. The sausage and egg and cheese casserole seemed thrown together and was dry, perhaps overcooked. No toast the entire three days. Fresh fruit looked inviting but we found it to be unripe. Don’t expect Vermont maple syrup with your French toast, or perhaps fresh local preserves, it was Aunt Jemima. The coffee is good.

Perhaps the oddest experience was the arrival of the owners’ daughter and grandson. It was as if the guests didn’t exist and we felt we were in the way of their family get-together. They stayed overnight in a guestroom. As I said at the start, guests have to walk through the kitchen, where dinner was being prepared and the grandson was doing his thing. This is why true B&B’s have a separate innkeepers quarters or outbuilding.

This could potentially become a beautiful and charming property. But there’s a lot of work to do before that happens. For what you get, the price to us was a bit high. But I’m sure for the region it’s comparable. This is not a true B&B experience in our opinion, but closer to an upscale boarding house.

End note: There is another B&B in the area with a very similar name. Make sure you know which one you are going to. They’re not far from each other, be forewarned.

Stayed June 7-9

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rangerover95, Owner at Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
In reply to the review "Renting a room, not a true B&B experience" I have to respond with a few comments of my own. I do appreciate the guest taking the time to write one of the longest reviews we have had in 9 years. This 200 year old farm house is our home and it has been run as a B&B for almost 40 years. It was not built as a B&B but as a Shaker Building for the South Family in 1812 so the bathrooms were built in the limited space available. The dining room is used only for Breakfast and guest that would like to use a common area are invited to use the living room with a fire place, a small den off the foyer or the rear deck ( in the summer time). The bathroom does have carpeting in it but it will be replaced next week with tile and the closets do have some of our personal clothing in them but plenty of room for guest clothing for a weekend visit. Not sure how to respond to extra's expected but we offer bottled water in the rooms, coffee, tea and soft drinks and a refrig. is available to guest if they ask for it. As for breakfast, we serve a three course breakfast of fresh fruit, home made pastries, main dish, tea, coffee, and OJ.
Comments about my daughter and grandson I feel were out of line, since they in no way interfered with the comfort or service of the guest nor did they bother any of the other 10 guest staying with us at the same time.
As for the price and value comment of this guest I would suggest he check the prices of other local B&B's and hotels most of which are higher and also raise their prices for this Special Dartmouth Graduation weekend while we have kept our prices the same for the past six years for every weekend.
As he said, be forewarned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
westchester, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice, a little over-decorated but comfortable (had they put more money into pillows and less into decor, I'd be happier). It's about 25 minutes from Dartmouth College, and very near the bike trail. It's on a reasonably quiet road, not far from Lake Mascoma, close to Mt Cardigan.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My 15-year-old son and I stayed with Cathy and Joe in their lovely Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast during his winter break from boarding school. We both felt immediately at ease with our hosts and very much at home. As other guests have noted, the cookies were warm, the coffee was hot, the duvets divine, the decor tastefully New England, the ambience peaceful -- like a crackling fire on a snowy winter night. Our hosts were welcoming, interesting, and helpful: we enjoyed their recommendation of a great local restaurant for dinner (Three Tomatoes). My son stayed only one night before he had to return to school, so I was on my own the second night. I felt perfectly welcome and not the least bit awkward, even though I happened to be the only guest for breakfast. In fact, it was fun having Cathy and Joe to myself. :-) Do treat yourself to a visit to this lovely inn. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I would describe the Shaker Farm as a “homey” B&B vs. a B&B run more like a business.

Staying there really felt like staying in someone’s home. The innkeeper (Cathy) was very friendly and welcoming. We walked right through her kitchen on the way to our room. We were given a key to the front door, which is kept locked. But, the rooms themselves do not have locks… not a problem for us, but it may be for some people…

The room was very clean and comfortable… There were stacks of magazines to read…

The room did not have its own thermostat and since we like to sleep in a cool room, we tried to turn on the ceiling fan, but we were not successful… it looked very new, so I am guessing that it was deliberately disabled… no worry… we just opened one of the windows to cool off the room…

There is a single sitting at breakfast… the guests are asked to choose the time either 8:00 or 8:30 and the majority rules… Everyone sits at one large table and breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, a baked sweet item and a hot entrée…

We stayed two nights and met different people at breakfast, which was nice… We would stay again…

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Shaker Farm B&B in July, 2012, and could not have been more pleased. Cathy and Joe were so friendly and down to earth, and their inn was charming and very comfortable. I will definitely recommend the inn to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Ma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our one-night stay at this outstanding B&B was a restful, comfortable, and enjoyable experience. Our hosts were charming and friendly, and demonstrated their concern for the pleasure of their guests at every turn. Our room was large and classically decorated in the Shaker style, with pegs that were once used to store furniture surrounding the walls and doors. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast we were served was scrumptious, with a freshly baked blueberry muffin, orange juice, a large piece of outstanding German pancake, deliciously prepared peaches in their own juice, and crunchy bacon. Thanks for a totally enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a great stay at this B&B. The room was absolutely beautiful and the bed was so comfortable. The owners were really hospitable and made us feel completely at home. We'd travelled quite a long way and to be greated by tea and homemade cookies was just amazing!
The breakfast was first class. I can't find anything bad to say about our stay here at all and would definitely recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 597 New Hampshire Route 4A, Enfield, NH 03748
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Enfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaker Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.