We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden surprise ...a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub
Save
You added Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub to your Saves list
Route 153, P.O. Box 12, Eaton, NH 03832   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Eaton B&B and Inns
Rowley, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise ...a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have been in the process of relocating from mass. to Brownfield ME. We have passed by the Inn at Crystal Lake many times however each time as we slowed to look in the windows from the car, it looked to be practically empty. We finally decided to stop last night. Wish we had stopped months ago!. We drove around back to park and realized this was where all the people were. It is so warm and cozy walking down the walkway and into the pub. I felt like I was Norm walking in to Cheers. We chose to eat in the dinning room. Jordan was our server and she couldn't have been nicer. We loved the food! Towards the end of dinner a gentleman, Bobby was walking around checking on all the patrons. We told him it was our first visit and that we were moving close by. Wouldn't you know he lives in the same town. He pulled out a seat and sat down and we talked for quite some time like we had been friends for ever. He told us he and his partner owned thin inn. He was such a pleasure to speak with. He gave us lots of good info on the local area as well. When we finally left we felt as though we had made a new friend in the area. Can't wait to go back and sample some more good food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Did not stay at inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EatonInnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind response - we look forward to your return (and welcome to the area!!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the inn for two nights in June. It was recommended by family who have property in the area. The owners are very friendly and attentive to their guests. The cozy pub seems to be popular with the locals. The public spaces are filled with antiques. One area is furnished with overstuffed chairs and a sofa, romantic lighting and shelves of books and music - perfect for reading a book while sipping a glass of wine!

We chose a room on the second floor with a queen bed that was fine for our needs - no "wow" factor but clean and everything in working order.

A full breakfast was included with the room rate. The innkeeper was very accommodating in cooking dishes to order with any ingredients we requested that were available. We also enjoyed one dinner at the inn. The restaurant is open to the public and the menu offers interesting choices that are creatively prepared and presented. Our waitress was also very pleasant which added to the overall ambiance.

Room Tip: Request a room that has been recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, ME
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the inn as part of a package with the Stone Mountain Arts Center. The room was lovely, the innkeepers were friendly and helpful, the food was very tasty and quite filling, and the whole experience was well worth the two and a half hour drive. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have book in for another Stone Mountain package in a couple of months and are very much looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We love The Inn at Crystal Lake. It is the absolutely quintessential inn .... it is warm, comfortable, slightly "old world" and completely all-inclusive. The breakfasts are amazing, the cute little pub is the best gathering spot and dinner at the inn is always exquisite. We love the rooms and we love the owners of the inn. We return as often as possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftsbury, VT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The folks at the Inn were very pleasant but the Inn is tired. The room I was in had a very worn feel to it. The TV did not work and the bathroom was a bit scary as the toilet was on a platform as was the shower so it was easy to slip down the step. Very dark, not enough light in the bathroom to shave. Overall not great but it was clean.

The pub was nice. Had a nice beer selection. The food and service were fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EatonInnkeeper, Owner at Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate your feedback and agree that some of our rooms could use a little updating - in fact all the rooms on the second floor have new carpeting and small flat-screen TVs w/DVD players. Your room was on the 3rd floor and although three of the five rooms on this floor have new carpeting, the carpets for the two on the front (one of which was your room) have yet to be replaced - we're sure new carpet will make a big change to the look of those rooms. Since you were here for seven days attending a workshop, you were given a reduced rate of only $60/night - unfortunately that rate can only apply to our smaller rooms on the third floor. Unfortunately, there's nothing to be done about the bathroom arrangement - the inn was built in 1884 and the arrangement of that room's bath was the only way to make all rooms have private baths when some remodeling was done a few years ago. As for the television, I have checked and that TVs remote did indeed need to be replaced - but the TV itself is in fine working order... we wish you'd mentioned this problem during your stay so that it could have be remedied. We also wish you'd told us that you work for TripAdvisor before your arrival - we might have broken our rule on the discount rate you got and moved you to a larger, "nicer" room. ;-) We at least tried to make sure you were comfortable with the AC we put in the window during the heat wave that happened while you were here (we usually don't need to put them in so early in the season!). We are serious about our business and after twelve years, we honestly appreciate the feedback... but as all small inn owners know: unless we win the lottery, we just have to take things as they come and choose our battles over where and when to spend money. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The Inn was very nice,quiet, quaint,clean,and attend by two very nice and helpful inn keepers. We did a package for Stone Mountain Arts (what a wonderful music venue you should check out their website) we had room,dinner, breakfast and a shuttle to and from the concert, at first we thought this was not needed but the winding dark hilly roads and a few adult beverages make this a great idea, as it was close to Halloween our driver was dressed as a zombie. The Inn is very nice the public areas are tasteful and interesting. the room we had was #6 a queen bed very bright with 4 large windows,right out of our room was a deck overlooking some quaint looking houses the little white church and a distance view of the crystal lake very pretty. We spent more then an hour out there just taking it all in. The dinner was very good we enjoyed every bite. the menu was quite varied and all looked good. There were 2 waitress on our Sat. night they handled themselves very well friendly, prompt, knowledgeable about the food and the area as well. They also were serving in the small and fun pub.Breakfast was fine and was served by one of the inns owner who was friendly and interesting. Both the restaurant and pub are open to the public which added to the friendliness and the sense of community in this wonderful place. We look forward to staying and eating here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The inn is so pretty, and the location is gorgeous. Obviously this is a well-cared for place, bursting with pride and love of ownership, as well as oozing comfort AND charm. A well appointed guest room- practical and attractive, provided an excellent night's sleep! We enjoyed everything about our stay- a fantastic dinner in the tranquilly pleasant dining room- every course: scallops crostini appetizer sinfully delicious, a filet mignon that was memorably out of this world- even days later we cannot stop speaking/thinking about how good it was, a succulent and fragrant stuffed pork roast, with scrumptious vegetable and/or sweet potato side dishes, too. (The bread was anti-climactic but could not have mattered less...) Even the house salad served with the main courses is tasty, crisp and fresh, harboring a variety of unexpected treats (grape, watermelon, pecan), tossed with a wonderful locally prepared maple balsamic dressing. Yum! Desserts were hard to choose from, too (we ate this course in the lively pub), and the chocolate cake with raspberry proved to be a perfect ending to our superb meal (following the post-prandial walk of course, which was lovely, on a quiet country road during a starlit, moonlit, sultrily warm autumnal evening). An admirable wine list, too, packed with taste, quality and value, and happily, without pretension. Kudos to Tim and Bobby! And many thanks for the expert suggestions for enjoying an easy, local hike (Foss Mountain- what a view! 360 degrees of panoramic beauty) and some really nice rides nearby too, offering colorful foliage and painting-looking lakes, and too many opportunities to sigh at the wonder of it all. The secluded spot where this inn is found makes you feel very far away from the hustle and bustle of 21st century life, but if you decide you do feel like outlet shopping, skiing- both downhill and cross-country, or hanging out with crowds, those areas are less than a twenty minute ride away. New England perfection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub

Address: Route 153, P.O. Box 12, Eaton, NH 03832
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Eaton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping watch over the charming lakeside village of Eaton, the Inn at Crystal Lake is a full-service inn offering both a dinner and pub menu. "You have created the model for the perfect New England inn. Attentive care, excellent food and charming ambiance." Sally & Charlie - Lehigh Valley, PA ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Crystal Lake & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.