We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Works Bakery Cafe

The Works Bakery Cafe
5a Mill Rd, Durham, NH 03824
+1 603-868-3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bagels, Café, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: The Works to you: humanely-raised, naturally-cured meats and poultry with no antibiotics or added hormones. Local eggs from cage-free chickens. Hormone- and antibiotic-free milk and cream cheese from Vermont family farms. Breakfast and lunch sandwiches and paninis on artisan bread, wraps or traditional boiled-and-baked bagels made with unbleached, unbromated flour. Fresh salads. Hearty, from scratch soups. Fresh-fruit smoothies. Rainforest Alliance Certified coffee. Thoughtfully sourced, local when possible. Open daily 6:30-6.
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

the works makes good food and its really cozy. but the service is kinda rude and stuff is really expensive. Overall i like it tho

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
1,126 helpful votes 1,126 helpful votes
“YOU CAN TASTE THE QUALITY DIFFERENCE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The original The Works Bakery Cafe was founded in Manchester, Vermont in July 1988 by Richard French and some of his friends as the Bagel Works. As the menu expanded beyond bagels, the name changed to reflect the expansion. Today it’s a franchise business with 7 locations---2 in Vermont, 4 in New Hampshire, and one in Maine. The Seacoast Region of New Hampshire is fortunate to have two---one in Portsmouth and one in Durham.

I visited the Durham location at midafternoon to celebrate getting a defective bulky TV packed up, taken down two flights of stairs, and delivered to UPS for shipment off to the repair facility under warranty. It was like getting rid of an albatross around my neck. It was cause for rejoicing.

After looking over the extensive cafe menu that included eggs, yogurt, fruit cup, bagels, croissants, assorted pastries, brownies, cookies, scones, and muffins, plus sandwiches, panini, wraps, soups, and salads, I decided on a toasted Tomato-Basil Bagel at $1.19 and a medium decaf coffee at $1.89.

Service was fast and courteous.

Since everything that The Works Bakery Café serves has no antibiotics, no added hormones, no nitrates, and no nitrites, the bagel had a fresh, natural taste. The tomato-basil flavor was very good for a late lunch. Their bagels are also baked fresh several times a day.

Their coffee is excellent. It is estate-grown at Hacienda Rio Negro near the Panama border. It is the first plantation in Costa Rica too become Rainforest Alliance Certified. This Arabica coffee is grown in shade and hand-picked, then roasted in small batches. So, my coffee had that rich, full-bodied flavor; and, as is the case with high-quality coffee, it had a smooth finish with no bitter aftertaste despite being acidic. It was just the treat I needed after completing my project for the day.

The atmosphere is that of the cafeteria-style coffeehouse it is. It was quiet when I was there with 8 other patrons. The patrons ranged in age from college students and professors from UNH across the street to locals seniors.

I enjoy coffee at several excellent coffee houses in my area. After Port City Coffee Roasters, the two The Works Bakery Cafe locations are tied for second place with Breaking New Grounds in Portsmouth on my Favorite Coffee Houses List.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were up near UNH for a sporting tournament and needed a place to have an early breakfast. The Works was on our way so we stopped in. Great selection of breakfast sandwiches (my husband and son both had egg and cheese on a bagel), the bagels were very good, and the coffee quite good as well. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome, even at 6:30 on a cold Sunday morning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Works formerly Bagelry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am dropping my child off at college and notice the Bagelry is the Works bakery cafe a little sad but willing to give it a try. The renovations were great, the food was amazing, restaurant was very clean staff was great and fast service.(I loved that it is conscious of what's in your food)all in all a wonderful restaurant. We will make another stop in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer F, Front Office Manager at The Works Bakery Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Bethc146: Thank you so much for stopping in and giving us a try! And thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts! I do hope you will stop in again when you are visiting! ~Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Similar but not The Bagelry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Hadn't been here since the change from The Bagelry. We had the Dagwood, guac melt, and eggs with cheese. All was tasty and hit the spot. Can't get bagels this good in the Midwest!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Works Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Works Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Works Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.