We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Dover NH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 Central Avenue, Dover, NH 03820-3410   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ocala fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Dover NH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

The service we have recieved over the years that we have been going to the hotel has been outstanding. Even when the ice storm of 2008, they could not do enough for us. The room is excellent and works well for our needs, it is always clean and confortable. The staff is the best we have ever found. They are like family to us. The location and aminities are what drew us in the first place and the staff is what keeps us coming back year after year. There is nothing bad to say about the place.
Paul & Karen Bowen
Ocala, Florida

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDover_NH, General Manager at Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
Thank you so very much for your kind remarks. It is always nice to know when we have accomplished our goal to make guests such as yourselves feel comfortable and like family. We enjoy having you stay with us all of these years as well. We look forward to your visit in the spring. Have a wonderful winter and try to stay warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    118
    56
    34
    16
See reviews for
138
74
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Don't stay at this hotel, the picture's are not what they apprear! The place is a dump, the staff is unfriendly and the maid's are thieves!, We stayed at this facility and realized when we arrived home we forgot something so we immediately contacted the hotel to speak w/the mgr to let them know we had forgotten something, and repeated this for 4 day's along with an email with no return call. On day 4 we rec'd an email stating our room was checked and what we had forgotton wasnt there, (obviously if it had been 4 days it wouldnt be there any longer) we immediately contacted the police and we reported our property stolen. (this went on for months!) Through all of this not once did we receive a phone call by this mgr with an apology regarding our incident. It's interesting when reading what's written in the police report regarding all parties which were involved and how this manager was uncooperative to the police. In my opinion the manager should be FIRED! I also find it comical that the mgr never responded to anyone's reviews on the Day's Inn website as place's to stay until these past few months while this whole incident evolved! If you value your thing's it is HIGHLY recommended that you don't stay at this facility! When pulling out the sofa bed for our child we found a dirty towel and empty beer bottle! Friend's which stayed in another room had dirt on their bed as if the sheet's were never changed!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDover_NH, General Manager at Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2009
I have been the General Manager at this hotel for seventeen years and have never had an incident like this occur. As I mentioned to you we did not find any property of yours left behind in the room. I fully cooperated with all parties concerned in this matter.

I have been answering comments on Trip Advisor since February 17, 2009. We currently have twenty-two reviews which fifteen are excellent and/or very good. We know that we are not perfect but we try to make everyone’s stay pleasant and enjoyable by providing a clean comfortable room at an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

When we checked in the rate they were giving us was higher then what we had booked, they said they upgraded us to suite. They did honor the original rate and kept us in the suite. This however was a disappointment. The suite was in a separate building and had a separate parking lot. There was a nice indoor pool however it was in the main building as was the breakfast. The room was very noisy as we were right on the end and people were always passing by our room. When we got in the room we went to close the drapes which were located over the beds. We noticed dead bugs and dust on the sills, which hadn't been cleaned for a long time. We notified front desk but they did not do anything.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDover_NH, General Manager at Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
Thank you for bringing to my attention the problems you encountered with your stay at our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience that it may have caused you. I want to assure you that this is not the norm at Dover Days Inn. We would like the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed here twice.
Pros: Good value for the area. Location is fine, easy to find & you can walk to (non-chain!) restaurants, coffee shop, even a covered bridge & park. Accepts pets, $10 fee. Regular rooms, though a little small, are clean, beds comfy. Spouse used nice indoor pool & whirpool, each time the only swimmer. Continental breakfast was adequate--waffles, hard boiled eggs, some fruit, & a pleasant breakfast room with a view of the square. At one corner of the property is a little garden with seating area. On our second stay we were surprised (thank you) by an upgrade to an apartment. It was spacious with a full kitchen. Staff was helpful.
Cons: Like most hotels of this type, only 1 staffer is on duty at 6 pm, so we waited over 15 minutes to check in while that person attended to a cable problem in a guest room. They put a $1.50 charge for safe use on your bill & must remember to ask for removal. Coffee was terrible.
Good stop enroute to Maine or (with a car) visiting Portsmouth, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDover_NH, General Manager at Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your kind comments. I am very sorry that you had to wait to check in. I will be passing your comments to the upper management. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and were lucky enough to be ugraded from a standard room to a suite which we really appreciated travelling with 2 young children. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially Joy. The room was well equiped, the bathroom was a little small but adequate. It was a non-smoking room but it definitely had a stale smoke smell when you first walked in. It was nice to have a pool and hot tub on site. The breakfast was very good and we especially enoyed the waffles! We had lunch next door at Kendall Pond Pizza II - excellent Reubans, and dinner down the road at Kelly's Row which is on the river. Had very good calamari there. The hotel is centrally located and in easy driving distance to beaches and Water Country.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDover_NH, General Manager at Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. It is so nice to know when we have made your stay a pleasant one. It was my pleasure to upgrade you so that you had a more spacious room for your family to enjoy.
We look forward to having you stay with us again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

The motel was clean and the staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful. The maid service was impecable. Would recommend to my friends and family and would very definitely return. Was a little hesitant at first, staying in a city we didn't know but, was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable everyone made us feel. Thank You. GREAT VALUE!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDover_NH, General Manager at Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how very much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We work very hard to make sure that all our guests feel welcomed and really try to maintain our highest standards of excellence.
Your comments will be shared with our staff.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We have stayed at this property many times, and have yet to be dissapointed. I originally emailed for availablity and rates, as we usually prefer to stay in a certain room. Joy Dunphy (General Manager) responded very quickly, had looked up my previous history, reserved our room, secured it against my credit card, applied my Wyndham Rewards account#, and secured the room for us at a discounted rate.

I grew up just north of Boston, and lived in both Mass. and NH. I can assure you that I've not been treated this nicely in other hotels that I've stayed in. It is truly exceptional service.

The only thing that I might note was that our room had a slight odor to it. Not sure what it was, but we got used to it pretty quickly. Don't know if it had to do with the record setting rainfall they've had or whether it was the particular cleaning agents they used.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDover_NH, General Manager at Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at the Dover Days Inn located in Dover New Hampshire. We work hard to maintain the highest standards of excellence in all areas of our hotel operations.

I will be checking with my staff to see what the odor was in your room.

Thank you for your wonderful compliment. It is so nice to know that what I did was so greatly appreicated. It is always a pleasure to have people like yourselves stay with us and it is my pleasure to assist you.

We look forward to your staying with us again and please do not hestitate to email or call me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown

Address: 481 Central Avenue, Dover, NH 03820-3410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer is up on us at the Days Inn Dover Durham Downtown hotel! Book a room at this pet-friendly hotel, and get more out of your next trip. Conveniently located off Route 108, our Downtown Dover, NH, hotel near University of New Hampshire and just 33 miles from New Hampshire Motor Speedway is a great value. Our free parking lot makes it easy to get on and off the road. Coming to the area to visit the University of New Hampshire? We are less than a 15 minute drive to the campus! Make each morning shine with our Daybreak complimentary breakfast featuring a make-your-own waffle station, juice, coffee and more. Our non-smoking hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms as well as a business center and meeting space. After a long day, relax in our Heated Indoor Pool with Jacuzzi(R) hot tub. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. All guest rooms include a Coffee Maker, TV with expanded cable and HBO, a clock, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and personal safe. We have a 24-Hour Front Desk Service as well as Laundry and Valet Service available. Daily or weekly rentals are also available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Dover Durham/Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.