We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Dover to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Dover
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Hotel Drive, Dover, NH 03820   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent one night at this Hampton Inn over the weekend. The check-in was slow due to nobody at the front desk when we arrived. After waiting about 10 minutes we finally tracked the front desk person down in the breakfast area. The room was clean and well appointed, and amenities were provided in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows and linens fresh and clean. The complimentary breakfast was as expected wih a few hot items, muffins, bagels, fruit and yogurt. It met our needs just fine. There are plenty of restaurants and stores in the area, a few even within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the Shopping and Restuarants. Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We look forward to your return visit. Have a great week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    52
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
91
42
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is one of the more updated Hamtpon Inns. I find them to be very reliable overall for business travel. My room was clean with a large bath, flat screen TV and strong Internet. Breakfast is free and there are plenty of restaurants in the area - you can walk to the 99 across the street. Friendly and helpful staff - there is nothing negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you four your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your business and look forward for your return. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked two rooms and stayed two nights for a hockey tournament. Clean accommodations, comfortable beds, and very helpful and friendly staff. Convenient location to some restaurants, shopping, and about 10 minutes from the hockey rink. We left some things behind in the closet and the staff mailed them to us promptly. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We value your Business and look forward to your next Tournament.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A typical night at a Hampton Inn. Clean, comfortable and friendly staff. The beds are always very comfortable!
Complimentary Manager's Reception a great idea but the food offerings were odd - chicken wings, french fries, soup and cracker!
We have stayed here before but next time I think we'll head to Concord as a stopping point.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We appreciate your Business and want to thank you for your review of the Hotel. We hope that you choose to stay with us in the future. When the weather gets warmer we will be doing a BBQ for our Tuesday Managers Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

During the snow-fall of "historic proportions" that shut down much of New England over the past weekend, my wife and I were "trapped" in the Hampton Inn in Dover. But.... the staff could not have been kinder or more friendly, the effort that was put into snow clearing was superhuman, the swimming pool helped pass the time. The hotel could never be described as luxurious, but the experience was just fine. Thanks everyone.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We would like to Thank you for your review. We are here to make your stay as pleasurable as we can. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a very well maintained modern facility (consistently clean and fresh) with a friendly helpful staff who always go out of their way to assure that your stay is enjoyable. We stay at this location several times a year and our daughter usually says "We are home dad." when we arrive at the hotel. We love the atmosphere and the staff. Dover is also an interesting place to explore and well worth the short drive from Portsmouth to have such a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello to the Frye family. This is my second response to your trip advisor review. We appreciate your Business and always look forward to your stay with us in Dover. I am sorry that I missed you on your late visit. I want to Thank you for the card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We always stay at this Hampton Inn when in the area. The staff are pleasant and friendly, and aim to please. The beds are fresh and clean, and comfortable. Thehotel is well kept and the location is great as well, many retail conveniences nearby -- Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Wal-Mart, Target. Right off the highway, 15 minutes to UNH. Recommend this hotel for a clean, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms over the pool, the filter makes noise when people are swimming in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debroy, General Manager at Hampton Inn Dover, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We are very happy that you continue to choose the Hampton. We enjoy having you here and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dover

Address: 9 Hotel Drive, Dover, NH 03820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dover
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located close to the beaches, malls & outlets, airports, mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dover Hotel Dover
Dover Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.