We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Dover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Dover to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Hotel Drive, Dover, NH 03820   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Dover
Amal, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Stuck in the middle of nowhere New Hampshire one cold rainy early June night we were brought by locals to Comfort Inn. The nice front desk lady greeted us warmly and this was it - a comfortable room which I could give a five-star comfort rate! And breakfast was so... yummy (my first American breakfast)))! Sadly enough only stayed there one night...

  • Liked — Lots of things like great service, comfort, breakfast
  • Disliked — its really hard to say
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    40
    20
    3
    10
See reviews for
69
49
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

we were on vacation and dover was a central area to the places we wanted to see such as portland me. and mt. washington. upon arriving we were greeted by friendly staff who advised us that at 5 pm there is a reception in the breakfast room wine beer and food. what a surprise our suite was clean and extremely comfortable and the breakfast was excellent fresh waffles, sausage patties, eggs, fruit, cereal, all very good and each evening fresh baked cookies at the desk ,this was truly a hotel who knows how to give service we will return next year

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I stayed just one night here on our trip through the Northeastern US. We drove around a lot and were very grateful to find the hotel so easily when we arrived at dusk.

The rooms were nice and clean, as were the hallways, the breakfast area and the entrance.

We used the luggage cart to bring our stuff in and that worked great. Then we hooked up to the free internet and found out about the area.

We went to eat at Friendly's down the street (2 minute drive) and next did a big shopping tour at target, (down the cross street, maybe 3 minutes). There is also a walmart and a shaw's supermarket in the area, so you can easily stuff up with snacks on your trip, get the CD you forgot at home or the pajamas, or also replace the book you left on your bedside table at home. There is more shopping in the area, we just didn't feel like it.

We returned to the hotel around 10.15 and there were still kids in the pool with their mother watching, but no one from the hotel staff was in sight. As our room was far, far away on a different floor we didn't mind, but people in nearby rooms or above the pool might not have liked that.

In the morning we enjoyed the free breakfast which was excellent with bagels, donuts, toast, muffins, eggs, make your own waffles, cereal, juices, coffee, tea and hot chocolate.

It was a nice stay and we would return whenever we are in the area again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and breakfast
  • Disliked — that you always had to pass the pool to get to the elevators - very exposed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed here for one night as we were coming from the White Mountains and heading to Water Country. I have stayed in 6 different Choice hotels in the past 2 months, and as far as service and cleanliness goes, this one was by far the best! It was a very friendly and helpful staff, a very nice facility and a better than average continental breakfast buffet. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through this area.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Our family of 4, 2 adults, 2 teens, stayed for one night on our way from Boston to Maine. I got a government rate of $179 before taxes on the website, for a 2 room suite. We were given a quiet location facing away from the freeway as requested. There was only 1 elevator but never had to wait very long . The indoor pool and jacuzzi seemed clean, and there were ample pool towels. The room was clean and large, with a mini-frig. We came on a Wednesday night and they had set up a free BBQ dinner outside: burgers, hot dogs, salads, and beer/wine. The included breakfast was ample, including ready-made cheese omelets, bacon and sausage, potatoes, make-your-own waffles, etc. Every staff member was exceptionally pleasant and helpful. The internet access was free. There were soft large cranberry-oatmeal cookies available at the front desk, and one computer for use in the lobby.
My only negative experience was the odor of the hallways and a little in the room. I think they must have recently cleaned the carpets and there was a chemical odor, worse in the hallway but some in the room. (This did not bother anyone else in my family.)

  • Liked — Helpful staff, excellent breakfast, free dinner on Wednesday, larger size room, free internet access
  • Disliked — chemical odor from recent carpet cleaning (my family members were not bothered by this, just me)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

The bar has been raised in the mid-level hotel market as all chains have made significant improvements over the past 5 years. My Comfort Inn room was clean, had a large bathroom, but a queen mattress sagged significantly to the middle. It has a great pool/spa area. Breakfast was OK; waffles were good, OJ was not, other items were average for today's standards. 5 years ago this would have earned a higher rating but today it is average in the more competitive mid-level market.

  • Liked — the hot hot tub! Large bathroom.
  • Disliked — sagging mattress and one bout of low rumble noise for 30 minutes that suddenly went away.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We came to Dover, NH, for a meeting and one of the local contacts made the reservation for us. We were so pleased that we extended for another night at our own expense. The room was large and comfortable, the hotel spotless. Breakfast generous and much better than the "self service" breakfasts at chain hotels usually are. A nice selection of breakfast items, incl. toast, eggs, waffles to make yourself, cereal, fresh fruit, hot items buffet style, yogurt, juice. Coffee/tea are out in the lobby all the time, and there was a wine and hors d'oeuvres reception every night (we did not attend that), and cookies to pamper the guests. The owners and personnel, all really personable, go out of their way to make you comfortable. We came a few minutes before breakfast officially closed and they kept the buffet open for us and brought us more things. Really a nice and comfortable place - and quiet. Slept like a baby! (hence the late breakfast.) Small pool with hot tub and exercise room. Great value for the money!

  • Liked — Very comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Dover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Dover

Address: 10 Hotel Drive, Dover, NH 03820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Dover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dover
#3 Business Hotel in Dover
#4 Family Hotel in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Dover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Dover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Dover Hotel Dover
Comfort Inn And Suites Dover
Dover Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Hotel Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Dover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.