We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good Things Must End !!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Newick's Lobster House

Newick's Lobster House
431 Dover Point Road, Dover, NH 0382
603-742-3205
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 103 Restaurants in Dover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“All Good Things Must End !!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Been going to Newick's for more than 30 years....Never cheap place to eat, BUT used to be reasonable...NO MORE !!!!....We arrived on Saturday at noon...There were 10 cars in the lot & about 20 people in the restaurant...Now I KNOW WHY !!!!..Seafood platter was $29 !!! My wife & I each had the Haddock Nuggets & Gulf Shrimp combo and a soda. We got 5 pieces of "haddock about 1 1/2 inches cubed. We got 14 (I counted them) "Gulf Shrimp"; each the size of a nickel .... Total bill including tip: FORTY-SEVEN DOLLARS !!!!....What a JOKE !!!!...NEVER AGAIN !!!! I'll go out of my way to the BEACH PLUM !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    82
    47
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somewhere near Boston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Huge Seafood Joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped by this place on a Tuesday afternoon, arriving around 400pm, and the place started almost empty and filled by the time we left! Good not great seafood, excellent service, OK beer selection. The typically very desirable window seats we abandoned due to the very bright setting sun. They've obviously been doing this a long time. Worth the detour from the interstate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is great; Food is so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We took our kids and their grandparents who were visiting us to this restaurant on a beautiful summer evening. We were seated in enormous no-frills dining room with windows all around. Somehow, we were lucky and got a table right by the windows. We didn't have a reservation, so I think it was simply good timing. The dining room overlooks the Great Bay, and we enjoyed the stunning scenery. The wait-staff was friendly and down-to-earth.

The ambience of the restaurant is informal and kind of loud, and, although you're eating inside, I had the feeling of eating at a picnic table. The food was mediocre (greasy, a bit bland) which was actually okay because we weren't expecting fine and fancy. Other reviewers have described delicious meals, so either we ordered wrong or we didn't get the best of Newick's that night. That said, everyone ate their food without complaint. We don't think of Newick's as a place we'd go back to if we wanted to have a great meal. We can imagine going back there again if we have out-of-town guests - it's on our list of good places to take tourists and visitors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in New Englan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Yes I am a native and there are other seafood restaurants. However, this is the best - don't let the large room scare you away - food is worth it and the service is always excellent!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lobsta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Situated on the river, the ambiance of this restaurant is "from the sea". Lobster rolls and seafood are great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newick's Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newick's Lobster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.