We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black River

Black River
Black River, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$90*
and up
Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enough mangrove trees, wild crocodiles and tropical plants to excite even the most stubborn of imaginations.
St. Albert
Level Contributor
236 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The roads to the south of Whitehouse were very good. Had a pleasant day cruising up the Black River. Quite a few birds to see, but it was the crocodiles that stole the show.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never smile at a crocodile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well worth a visit, get up close to the crocs and watch the professionals feed them. Beautiful scenery great trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneP836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a great surprise in a beautiful country.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was part of tour that hit up Appleton's Estate and Y/S Falls. This is a hidden gem, the area was beautiful the mangroves were awesome. The boat ride up the river to see the crocs was surreal. I can only say it was a very pleasant surprise not just to see the crocodiles, but to see yet another stunning side of Jamaica. The tour guide was great, answering questions and telling us about the area, Its part in the history of the slave uprising and how the crocodiles are protected after being hunted for years. Although he couldn't answer how the crocs got there to start with. (If anyone can tell me please send me a note as I can't find the answer on the web). Well worth the stop if you can!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Baddigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice little tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We did this as part of a tour also to YS Fall and Appleton. Overall a very nice tour and this boat ride was neat as it allowed you to see another side of Jamaica and see the crocodiles up close.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank srjfishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit; stunning scenery and crocs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Did an excursion here. Did the river cruise and saw a dozen or so crocs-largest one about 8 feet in length; and one mad spear fisherman swimming around in the mangrove with them-not sure how long he lasted! My other half loved it and got to touch one of the crocs which the skipper called up to the boat. Saw lots of wildlife and you are surrounded by beautiful scenery. All I would say is be prepared to get wet if it rains-the canopies on the boats do nothing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black River also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Black River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing