We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on a Hillside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darby Field Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Darby Field Inn
Save
You added Darby Field Inn to your Saves list
185 Chase Hill Road, Conway, NH 03818   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off direct bookings!
Ranked #1 of 4 Conway B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gem on a Hillside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Darby Inn was a last minute idea and we were lucky there were still a few rooms left. No doubt a popular spot. The staff were super helpful with the reservation and they made sure we could get in due to our late check-in time.
The room was spotless. The queen bed was very comfy and the AC (central air) and ceiling fan definitely helped out on a very muggy night. The rooms all have mountain views. Our third floor room(#11) was very quiet.Our morning was met with the smell of bacon as it permeated from the kitchen. The breakfast itself did not disappoint and I would rate the eggs benedict as one of the top EB's I have ever eatten. Homemade muffins, juice, pancakes,eggs, fruit and a staff that aims to please basically ensures a great start to the day.
We did not stay as we had plans but there is a great pool and patio there that will pull at you to stay all day. The adjoining lounge with fireplace is a relaxing haven as well .
Is there anything I can say bad about this place? Well, the neighbors have a great dane which in in the morning light, without glasses, was mistaken for a moose. That was too funny.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    20
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very nice place to stay for adults. Good directions and guidance to get to the best hikes and attractions in the area. We had one of the cheaper rooms on the second floor but I was amazed at the beautiful view and how nice the room was. My only complaint was that the bed wasn't quite level. Seems like an odd thing but we fixed it by putting books under one end. The staff was wonderful and I'm sure if I had said something they would have fixed it. Very good breakfast. We got a deal through living social network so I was amazed at the value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

I had my wedding here in January and it was amazing! The atmosphere was cozy, warm, and friendly! The rooms were stunning! My husband and I stayed in Laura's room. When I first saw it all I could utter was "wow!" it was beautiful! My parents stayed in the Mount Washington Suite it was so perfect and I must say what a view! The food we had was unbelievably delicious! We went a different route with the wedding dinner and we had a White Mountain BBQ everything was so good and I must say the Darby dip was a big hit (everyone took home the recipie!) The staff made us feel like family and made our stay a great one! At night we would all hang out in the living room by the fire and my oldest son started a jig saw puzzle that was his favorite part! The views are all amazing and there's nothing like driving down the long road in the snow and seeing the beautiful blue of the Darby Inn pop out at you! I will be back again one day! Extremely clean, cozy, friendly, warm, and cozy!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Darby Field Inn is off the Conway - North Conway tourist highway, but don't let that stop you. If you are going to the mountains to do some hiking or relaxation, this is a great place to spend a few nights. Wouldn't say it is a bargain (especially with the taxes etc.) but the owner and his staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Even gave us an early breakfast before we headed to the airport. The best part is the pool area. One store in North Conway raved about the food at the DFI, but we had a dinner there that was very disappointing, to say the least. There are many other good places to eat (e.g. the Smokehouse in N. Conway).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This delightful inn was a great place to stay in the Conway area. It is well away from the commercialism of much of the area, with beautiful views over the Presidential Range which must be breathtaking in the fall. It has the huge advantage of also providing first class food in a delightful restaurant overlooking the garden and mountains beyond, so although it is out of town you can stay and enjoy your whole evening there. The food really is excellent with a good choice of wines as well. Our room was spacious, light, very well appointed and spotless. The staff were unfailingly cheerful and our host very welcoming. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our most recent trip to the Darby Field Inn for a long weekend this June was as enjoyable as all the others. We find the place restorative -- the beautiful grounds and walking trails, mountain views, comfy rooms, delicious food, and talented/interesting/competent staff. Tax refund money goes a long way here!

Room Tip: If staying one night the smaller rooms are a good value. Larger rooms for more nights or more percs...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Suprise Christmas gift from my wife. The whole experience was great from the moment we came through the door. The inn has alot of character, plenty of sitting areas, a restaurant (breakfast & dinner) as well as a bar.

We ate dinner at the inn one night and loved it. Worth hitting for dinner if you're visiting the area. Our waitress was very attentive and great views from the dining room. The weekend we went up happened to be one that snowed so we woke up to a fresh 9" and skiing the day at Cranmore.

We're definitely coming back to the in the next time we head up to the Conway area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Darby Field Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby Field Inn

Address: 185 Chase Hill Road, Conway, NH 03818
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic White Mountain country inn is the perfect resting spot for visitors of all kinds: hikers, shoppers, bicyclers, and skiers. We offer something for everyone: On-site restaurant, tavern, wooded snowshoe/walking trails, flower gardens, heated pool, WIFI, spectacular views, and spa services. The Inn's intimate setting is perfect for small weddings and family reunions, too! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Darby Field Hotel Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darby Field Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.