We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for family, but very overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merrill Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Merrill Farm Inn to your Saves list
Merrill Farm Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   428 White Mountain Hwy, Conway Village, Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Conway
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good place for family, but very overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed at the Merrill Farm Inn before and enjoy the roominess and ease of staying there. The jacuzzi was clean, hot and relaxing. The room was fine (except the bathroom was dated and smelled of urine :( ) The breakfast is relaxed and the staff was lovely to work with. Nothing uptight about this place. Our children enjoy it there as well. I have to admit that the price was a lot more than it should have been, given it is a dated inn and not a "grand" hotel. Hopefully, they will update the bathrooms soon!

Room Tip: Loft rooms are the best way to go with families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    64
    30
    23
    14
See reviews for
77
64
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We've stayed many times at the Merrill Farm Inn...a few times in the main building (a loft room), in the cabins along the river (the one bed room style) and the "motel" section near the pool. This place is certainly not a Westin, but the rooms are functional, clean and charming. A nice treat is the morning breakfast with fresh baked muffins. In the summer, there's nothing better than warm berry muffin and hot coffee on the red brick patio. Ahhh...

Also, most don't realize they have canoes for use along the riverfront (behind the cabins).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The weekend spent at this location went all too fast. It was a bit of a family gathering, plus shopping trip. From check-in until the time we left, we had nothing but a positive experience. We had a large loft which accomodated all of us six adults comfortably. The hosts were very friendly and made each one of us feel at home. We will definitely be back in the future for a longer stay. We did not use the hot tub or sauna, but after a day of shopping, we should have. We were able to look over all the facilities and everything appeared neat and clean. We will definitely recommend the Merrill Farm Resort to all our friends that are heading to North Conway. Took many photos to post as it was all lit up for the Christmas season, inside and out. Breakfast was included, no bacon and eggs but all the great home made muffins, bagels, toast and cereals as well as fruit, juice, coffee and tea. As well as exceptiona service. The dining area was decorated for the season and was just beautiful. Chocolate chip cookies and apple cider in the afternoon.... Spoiled or what.... Thank-you Merrill farms we will see you nex year. Lorne and Joyce Richardson

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We love Merrill Farm Resort. The only reason I did not give it an excellent rating was that our mattress was very uncomfortable. Also I think it's time to upgrade the televisions. If you are looking for a quaint resort this is the one for you!

Room Tip: The front desk is extremely polite and helpful. It's at the gateway to North Conway's mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I returned to Merrill farmfor the Veterans Day weekend, having stayed there many times over the years. The staff and other guests are always very friendly and the stay is reasonably priced for the value given. The country breakfast of homemade muffins and other goodies is great. North Conway is a wonderful place whether you are shopping or sightseeing. We will return again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

There are many places to choose up here, the majority set up for walkers and holiday makers with the stunning white mountains as a backdrop. The standard rooms are fairly basic, inn style and pretty old - we were set off the road in a lodge building with individual front doors leading into the gardens. Our room had 2 double beds, sink and separate bath room and toilet. This isn't plush but for exploring the country it was ok. You get a free continental breakfast and we enjoyed the home made American muffins, with english muffins and bread to toast. The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.

We stayed 1 night.

An attraction to the area is of course the outlet shopping and here with no sales tax makes this a gem. Do drive out to Jackson for the lovely covered bridge and waterfalls, Mount Washington that you can drive up (weather permitting) and other local scenery.


You can see my other reviews on our New England trip by searching for these hotels and places. We did 14 nights in total with a mix of 1 and 2 night stays with Boston at 4 and Cape Cod at 3 and hired a car from Boston airport in our return from Niagara on our last night there:

Colonnade hotel, Boston
Portland harbour hotel, Portland
Stowe Mountain Lodge, Stowe
Woodstock Inn, Woodstock
Marriott, Newport
Belfry Inne, Sandwich

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We originally booked in for one night here and stayed in the former owner's favourite room, described as a loft room. The room was enormous with two double beds and in the main room and a large king on the mezzanine floor. It overlooked the river with a view through the autumnal trees and was a lovely retreat. The inn also has individual lodges if real privacy is wanted.
The room was lovely and warm and our only slight gripe was the somewhat smelly toilet and rather tired furnishings but these we only minor. It was a lovely peaceful place to stay in a stunning setting and the inn was full of charm and idiosyncrasies as well as old artefacts and objects. It felt as if it was a time warp in a good way!
The apple cider in the afternoons with homemade chocolate cookies were delicious and the smell of baking permeated the dining and communal areas. The many types of different homemade muffins with breakfast was also a real treat.
The provision of DVDs, videos, cards and games was also a lovely touch.
We loved it so much that we booked a second night! It proved an excellent spot to explore the nearby White mountains and the beautiful nearby lakes. We would not hesitate to return. The owners and staff were delightful, friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask for the mezzanine room at the top of the stairs and you should not be disappointed although I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrill Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Farm Inn

Address: 428 White Mountain Hwy, Conway Village, Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merrill Farm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merrill Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrill Farm Hotel North Conway
Merrill Farm North Conway
Merrill Farm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrill Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.