We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merrill Farm Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Merrill Farm Inn to your Saves list
Merrill Farm Inn
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   428 White Mountain Hwy, Conway Village, Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Conway
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a different experience from most hotels we have stayed at - it was quite idiosyncratic in its furnishings and atmosphere, but we had a lovely big room with a separate seating area, and the complimentary breakfast with fresh muffins straight from the oven was lovely. I would definitely recommend it and stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river rather than the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    67
    30
    24
    14
See reviews for
81
65
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this resort on a previous trip and came back to the same room we had last time. We love the friendly informal atmosphere, the more than adequate complimentary breakfast and the complimentary cookies (and hot cider!) in the afternoons. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. There is a small cozy sitting room at the foot of the stairs I liked to read in. There are other nooks and crannies with comfortable chairs and a large sitting room in another part of the house near the laundrimat to which our room gave easy access. The complex is large but laid out in a way that makes it feel intimate. It sits on Route 16 and there are steps at the back down to the Saco river. There is access close by over a covered bridge to a scenic back road that avoids the sometimes heavy traffic into the heart of North Conway. We resort is family friendly, the staff efficient and helpful and the price reasonable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103 which sits on a corner of the main house with windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great experience and value for the money. Not a bad drive from Story Land as you do pass a few more expensive hotels on drive to Story Land. Nice breakfast room with continental breakfast plus. River out back with canoes.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you're looking for a place with plenty of room for your family and delicious muffins for breakfast at half the price of the "water park resorts," then Merrill Farm Resort is the place for you. Friendly staff, quiet, complimentary cookies in the afternoon. It's no frills at it's finest.

Room Tip: Barn lofts are spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've stayed at Merrill Farm numerous times, and have never been disappointed; our favorite is the multiple cabins right on the Saco River, many with gorgeous river views and sunsets in the western White Mountains. Free canoes, our family paddled almost 3 miles up the Saco (which is very tame and suitable for young families) while stopping to swim in the crystal-clear water. The resort also offers a heated pool, horseshoes, volleyball, shuffleboard, and a putting green; don't miss the homemade cookies served daily at 3:30, and homemade breakfast muffins!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Every summer in August, it has become our family tradition to stay here for my son's and my birthday (our b-days are two days apart) in the same room/family loft. We're always excited to stay at Merrill Farm Resort; it has never disappointed us. Our room is very clean and there is cleaning service daily. The resort is conveniently located--less than ten minutes from shopping outlets, less than two minutes from canoe/kayak rental and hiking trails are only a few minutes' drive from the resort.

My two teenagers (aged 16 and 19) look forward to cookie time from 3pm to 5pm. No matter what activity we might be doing, we had to be back at the resort for cookie time; it is the highlight of their day. In fact, this year, we had to cut rock climbing short just for those (damn) cookies!

Because of the delicious breakfast they serve every morning, getting the kids up every morning to be on time for an activity was never a problem. Actually, they were up before we were. They serve a variety of muffins, oatmeal, cereals, apples, bananas, bread, english muffins and jam. There is also coffee and tea.

We love vacationing in New Hampshire but it's Merrill Farm Resort that makes us want to go back every year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My family stayed at the resort this past weekend for the fourth time. Unfortunately, this will be the last time. The staff did not seem very welcoming to our group. To start the weekend, upon check-in we were informed that the had been a lot of rain and the pool and canoe use were closed. I understand that mother nature cant be controlled. However, the pool had been closed the day before and no effort was made to contact us to see if we wanted to cancel reservations. We ha d a lot of heartbroken and bored kids. When we asked about the jacuzzi we had used during previous stays they said it is only open in the winter, we have never stayed in the winter! So with zero amenities available besides shuffleboard we were offered no discount over our stay. The room rates are very high. The rooms are very country and cute but basic. The breakfast is free but nothing to rave about. There are various cold muffins to choose from, oatmeal or english muffins but be prepared to wait about a half hour to use a household toaster. The amount of people in our group made it easier to go out to eat rather than wait hours for english muffins.
Merrill fams used to be a great place for large groups to go for a white mountain vacation. There prices keep going up and up but nothing has changed in the last 10 years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrill Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Farm Inn

Address: 428 White Mountain Hwy, Conway Village, Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrill Farm Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Groupon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Merrill Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrill Farm Hotel North Conway
Merrill Farm North Conway
Merrill Farm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrill Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.