We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My randon nights stay while skiing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountains Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountains Hostel to your Saves list
White Mountains Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   36 Washington St., Conway, NH 03818 (Formerly Albert Lester Memorial Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My randon nights stay while skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I believe this is my second or third year staying here at the WM Hostile. I have never had a bad night stay....well, maybe that one night.....only kidding, really.

I was pleasantly surprised this season to find new owners/operators, who, seemed to have many years experience of running Hostiles through out many different venues. This tear in particular, was a tremendous improvement, even though they took it over in March, just prior to this seasons first stay by myself.

I was greeted warmly, and was made to feel very welcome, and very comfortable. The Hostile was clean, accommodating, and well kept. They were actively making improvements within only a few weeks of ownership, very nice, not that it needed it, because it really didn't. They simply wanted to make it....nicer.

Each night I had the pleasure to meet a different group of people, from different areas, and all were very pleasant, and fun to get to know, and hang around with. The last night, so far, this season, I was the only guest. It's getting late in the season for skiing, and Tim, had made a home made Pea Soup, and I was invited to share with him, and his brother that evening. This is a very memorable evening, as they are very kind, considerate, and hospitable. When I expressed my appreciation, I was told that "having a soup, or crock of chili, or something like this is very traditional in as a host Hostile, and I'm just trying to keep within the tradition."

Yeah, I know that may sound a little corny, but you know what? They meant it, we all had fun, a good meal, and all shared in cleaning up together.

Hosteling is not for everyone, you should be willing to be somewhat social, as you are sharing the house with others, that's the way it is. And this place....was a pretty good stay, I will stay again, every time I come, in every season.

Room Tip: Room #8 is quiet, at the end of the hall, has a nice view, etc, but it is a private. It is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. I am glad that you truly enjoy the travel experience that I think hostels are so good at delivering. I hope that one day the hostel is busy enough that I can change my title to Chef and be making great meals each day.

I look forward to your next stay with us!

Best,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a great place for inexpensive, clean, comfortable accomodations when adventuring in the White Mountains. I've brought numerous groups here and they always enjoyed it. The hostel is under new management and Tim is great--professional, kind, and positive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and it was a pleasure to have your and your group stay. I look forward to next time!

Best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I've stayed at dozens of hostels and this is one of my favorites. It has everything that a good hostel should have:
- big kitchen
- comfortable social area
- comfortable beds
- clean bathroom
- good location
- accessible by bus from Boston
If you need a cheap place to crash in New Hampshire, I highly recommend the White Mountains Hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you very much for such a great review! We will continue to try and go beyond your expectations.

All the Best,

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stay at the hostel several times each season. The hostel was recently bought by Tim, an experienced hostel-keeper from NYC. It appears he will be bringing some fresh energy to this already good place.

My one comment has more to do with hostels in general than this particular hostels: Though, yes, people should bring earplugs for small noise disturbances, I believe that hostels should more actively communicate that "If you KNOW you are a LOUD snorer you should book a private room."

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments about the hostel! Your point on the noise disturbance is noted and some kind of friendly suggestion is a good suggestion.

Best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I needed a convenient place to sleep, easy to reach after work in Boston, but close to the mountains for an early hiking meetup. This fit my need perfectly. A comfortable dorm-style bed. A clean and serviceable bathroom. A comfortable common area with wifi and tv. Facilities for cooking if I had needed. A reasonable price. And half and hour to Pinkham Notch. Much more civilized than beginning a hiking weekend with a 4:30 a.m. departure from Boston.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your response and I hope to see you come back again. The hostel is under brand new ownership/management starting this month. We are very excited to be sprucing up the hostel and making your stay even better.

Best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The driveway was hazardous with a thick coating of ice and no sand on it. Rooms were overheated. Otherwise, fine as usual. Convenient location for hiking in the White Mountains. I feelt he hostel has slipped since it left Hostelling International, but I would still stay there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimWestwig, Owner at White Mountains Hostel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hostel. I agree the driveway should have been in better shape. Just to let you know I am the new owner and operator of the hostel , just got here a couple days ago, and I actually used to be the regional director of this hostel when it was a Hostelling International Hostel. I am pretty sore from having chopped a lot of ice the past two days here to try and make things a bit better. I think the warm weather over the weekend will help a lot. I plan to work very hard to earn back a higher rating. Thanks again and happy travels!

Best,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER CENTER
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend during the Mount Washington Valley Ice Fest and I had a great time. The hostel was clean, offered a BIG kitchen with two of everything (stoves, sinks etc.), plenty of bathrooms and showers and friendly staff. It was pretty full for several nights but everyone was pretty easy going and respectful.

Room Tip: Pick a room farthest from the stairs, they are a bit creaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Mountains Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountains Hostel

Address: 36 Washington St., Conway, NH 03818 (Formerly Albert Lester Memorial Hostel)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Mountains Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel has 5 bunk rooms with 28 beds and 5 private rooms. There is big common kitchen and common dinning and meeting area. The hostel is super clean and friendly place to stay. We specialize in groups of 15-40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your White Mountains Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountains Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.