We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Mountains Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added White Mountains Hostel to your Saves list
White Mountains Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   36 Washington St., Conway, NH 03818 (Formerly Albert Lester Memorial Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The rooms are clean. We stayed on a Friday night, and it was quiet. The kitchen is fully stocked to cook or make tea/hot chocolate in the morning. I will definitely stay here again in the future. excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights to hike Mt Washington and Chocorua in the vicinity. Its the only hostel around, and totally worth it. Very clean (esp. for hostel standards), staff is friendly and very accommodating. Go out of their way to make you comfortable. Short drive to North Conway - location not a problem at all if you have a car. I thought Conway was much nicer (quaint, whereas conway is touristy) anyway.

The hostel is super well equipped with clean and stocked bathrooms, and kitchen facilities to cook until your heart's content. Hot showers welcomed after a long day of hiking, beds typical hostel-style, but comfortable. Window A/C in rooms works great.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a 2-night stay here on a recent road trip through northern New England. We took a small private room on the first floor, with shared bathroom right outside the door. The hostel was clean and we found the location to be convenient. A river beach area and two covered bridges were within walking distance. The common kitchen was well stocked and we cooked lobsters (Northland Lobster Co.) and bbq'ed also. We used the picnic table outside, and picked fresh herbs from the garden. As always, it's fun to meet people from all over the world when hostelling.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

This is actually now called the "White Mountains Hostel" - don't know when it changed from being an HI hostel. What a bargain! For LESS money than a campsite, I had a comfortable bed, a clean, modern bathroom and hot shower, a full kitchen and living room with cable TV and comfy couches. Convenient to everything - perfect for my weekend of hiking near the Kanc. The place was immaculate and Cindy is a lovely hostess. Because I was there during the low season, I had a room to myself and there were only 4 other people at the hostel - but even if it had been full, the rooms are spacious, with lockers and chairs for belongings. Great find!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

I was there with a friend over Thanksgiving staying in the private room which was really cramped. But it's cheap here so of course we can't expect it to be really spacious. However, the room smelt weird and we felt kind of freaked out because no one else was staying there except this middle aged man who behaved strangely. So..yea..really freaked out.

We tried walking to north conway where ALL the shops are... but it was really too far. Kind of disappointed because if I knew it would be the case, I wld just stay in North conway.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

It was quiet when I stayed there, probably due to a rainy weather forecast. It was very clean & nice. I had a dorm room to myself. The bathroom was very clean & well designed. I will stay here again.

It rained so much during a couple of days, I had to alter my plans. I finally had a 6-hour window of no rain to hike up Tuckerman Ravine. During the heavy rainy days, I went shopping.

Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights over the 4th of July weekend. The manager is a really nice helpful woman, and the other employees were helpful too. The rooms were clean, good sized, and very reasonable ($45/night for a private room for 2-4 people with a mini-fridge and A/C). The kitchen downstairs was huge and well-supplied (all plates and cups you could need, two huge fancy new clean refrigerators, 2 oven/stovetops, two sinks, etc). The dining room was big enough, and had a TV and books. The bathrooms were clean and well-maintained.

We also liked the location. HI Conway is in Conway itself, not Northern Conway. N conway was full of tourists, very shopping-centric, and had terrible traffic, while Conway was quieter (and nicer).

Overall, a great option if you want to save a few dollars and don't mind walking down the hallway to get the bathroom.

  • Liked — clean, cheap, quiet
  • Disliked — it was fine.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Mountains Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Mountains Hostel

Address: 36 Washington St., Conway, NH 03818 (Formerly Albert Lester Memorial Hostel)
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Mountains Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel has 5 bunk rooms with 28 beds and 5 private rooms. There is big common kitchen and common dinning and meeting area. The hostel is super clean and friendly place to stay. We specialize in groups of 15-40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your White Mountains Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Mountains Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.