We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute romance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centennial Hotel to your Saves list
Centennial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Last minute romance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I were traveling in NH recently to see the Fall Foliage. We had intended on staying the night in Manchester, NH, but while looking at hotels in this area we were unimpressed and decided to head north. While searching on Trip Advisor we happened upon the Centennial Inn in Concord, NH. We called the 800 number for reservations and were told they were full. We persisted and being seasoned travelers we knew to call the hotel directly. We talked to Peter who was very gracious and said they did have rooms and that we should come on over. When we arrived we were greeted by Peter who couldn't contain his joy of working for this Inn. He was extremely kind and offered my husband and I an upgrade to the Romance Package. Since we were celebrating our anniversary we said yes, since it provided us with a nice room and balcony, coupons for breakfast and dinner, as well as strawberries and champagne. Normally, champagne is my go to drink, but not this night. We were asked what we would like in it's place and Lisa very graciously substituted two huge glasses of Stella Artois, my husband's favorite. When we got to our rooms they had just done the turndown service which included robes, slippers and brownies. Our room was lovely and super comfortable. Dinner at the hotel and breakfast the following morning were wonderfully delicious. The service was impeccable and the atmosphere was quite a surprise. When we drove up to the inn we were expecting a more Victorian ambiance since the exterior is, but once you walk in the door you instantly see how modern and tastefully decorated the inn is. After dinner we chatted with Peter and thanked him for his great recommendation and we had questions about the inn that he was happy to answer. He and Lisa even gave us a tour of the basement rooms that hold a lot of history. We totally enjoyed our unplanned visit and would recommend this to anyone who wants something extrardinary and out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Definitely take the Romance Package and the rooms with the balconies and turrets are extra big and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
A hidden gem, that is what people refer to us as and I am so excited that you had a chance to find us! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Centennial Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience while visiting us and dining in the Granite Restaurant & Bar. I have grown up in this area and cannot believe how lucky the community is to have such a beautiful, historic hotel and fine dining restaurant in Concord. You make special mention of our staff, Peter and Lisa. Our owners pride themselves on making sure all of our Hay Creek Properties "delight and surprise" our guests during each and every visit. It sounds like our staff did just that! Thank you again for your detailed review and we hope you have a chance to come back and visit with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    51
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
83
13
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for a second time last month on my way to another place. Unfortunately I had forgotten about the noise from the bar/restaurant when I booked the room and ended up in one just up the stairs (last time I was right off the restaurant). I thought the bar would be quiet on a Tuesday night, but it is a popular place1 The bar and restaurant were hopping and noisy due to the wood floors. Despite the crowd, the bartender was really nice and very accommodating, offering to make me half a cheese plate when I mentioned that I couldn't eat a whole one and, having the kitchen make me something simple from the lunch menu when I really didn't want a big dinner. The downside was that when I returned to my room at 8pm it was as if I were still in the bar, it was so noisy. I was also looking forward to a nice, hot shower and the shower was one of those that barely trickles water out - not even enough to keep you warm while showering. Loved that there was coffee service out in the morning at the front desk so I could grab a quick cup to take back to my room while I got ready to go. I would stay there again, just making sure I had a room far from the bar.

Room Tip: Make sure you are nowhere near the bar/restaurant, even upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about your recent visit with us. We have been very busy in Granite so yes, I can understand why you would have had to deal with some noise. When you visit with us in the future just inquire with the Front Desk Associate for a room away from the restaurant, we would be happy to accommodate you. Please also contact the front desk if you ever have a concern or issue with anything in your room, we will send someone to fix it as soon as we possibly can. Our goal is for your stay to be outstanding each and every time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Like a prior reviewer, we bought a 'Romance Package' and had a wonderful stay. Wasn't sure what to expect from the outside and location in the downtown area, but had read some great reviews and am very glad we tried it. The new decor really enhances the original architecture and our room had some nice features, like a cozy TV seating area and balcony porch seating. Comfortable bed & bathroom was bright, modern and very clean. Staff was friendly and accommodating. We had dinner and breakfast in the Granite Restaurant, both meals were excellent from start to finish. The packages that were available on their website made it a good value/deal, and we plan to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor King turret--very nice. However, it is on the street so if the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Centennial Hotel and Granite Restaurant & Bar. Our hotel is definitely a surprise to a lot of our guests. The outside Victorian brick building is very unique but when you walk through the front door, it is so very cool to see how the owners of Hay Creek Hotels renovated this beautiful boutique property! I am thrilled to hear that you had a chance to dine in our Restaurant. We are very fortunate to have such a quality group of staff working here and providing our guests with the best products and services. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I only stayed a couple of nights but very comfortable.
Room was good sized and bed very comfortable. Only distraction was a in room refrigerator which started up at odd times of the night. Only had 2 bottles of water inside so hardly worth the noise created.
Bathroom modern, smallish, only shower. Water pressure was poor in the room I had.
Breakfast was excellent and all round friendly service.
Lots of parking space and close to downtown,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. If you stay with us again and have any issues in your room, please do not hesitate to contact the Front Desk and they will send someone right up to your room to address any issues. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good location, close to downtown Concord. Friendly, efficient staff. Second time I have stayed here. Rooms quite nice, comfortable beds, bath a bit cramped. Coffee at front desk in AM. Overallvery nice place, with good value.

Restaurant is also excellent......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that this was your second visit with us. We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Snagged a Romance Package via email and spent an unexpectedly wonderful time at this historic gem. Room and dining room renovations are sleek and inviting. Christy, our bartender/server, is someone you want to bottle and take with you to all restaurants to insure great and knowledgeable service. The menu is wide ranging and well executed with incredibly reasonable prices. Our room was spacious, well appointed, comfortable, and the shower was outstanding. Each staff member we encountered was genuinely welcoming. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing about your recent visit to the Centennial Hotel and Granite Restaurant & Bar. I am so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel and our staff. Christie is an outstanding employee. She has been with us for years. We are so lucky to have such a welcoming, accommodating staff here at the Centennial. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I just stayed at the Centennial Hotel and had a wonderful experience. I loved the old building, which has been very tastefully renovated. The staff was just fabulous: friendly, helpful. My room was standard with a queen-size bed (no turrets!), but it was very comfortable. There wasn't a dresser, but instead convenient shelves in the separate closet/sink area to put things. I agree with an earlier reviewer that the tiled shower area with the glass wall was really neat. It also was very convenient to have an excellent restaurant right there. And, it certainly was a nice walk or very short drive to Main Street with its shops and restaurants. When I get back to Concord, I will definitely stay at the Centennial again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed it. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room, our restaurant and had a chance to visit our downtown. We are so lucky to have such a unique hotel located so close to Main Street. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Address: 96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Centennial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 32 spacious guestrooms, each unique with the architectural distinctions found only in vintage buildings of the Victorian era; like third floor guestrooms with amazingly idiosyncratic ceiling lines, suites with lounges built into the twin turrets that provide the hotel its iconic presence, private porches and much more. Surprising touches can be found throughout, such as terry bathrobes, slippers and a special turndown that changes every evening of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Concord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centennial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.