We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Romantic, Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centennial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Centennial Hotel to your Saves list
Centennial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Porter ME
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Romantic, Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What a great retreat we had, even though we only stayed overnight! Quiet, quaint, and comfortable. We had a king turret room on the first floor, very nice decor, exceptionally clean, loved the extra tv by the chairs , enjoyed the lovely large porch with comfy couch and chair. Railing was a bit high to have a view while sitting down, but understand its probably safety reasons. Enjoyed the lemon squares by the bed when we returned from the bar after enjoying a great cocktail! Bartender was attentive and polite, can't recall her name but she was amazing! I work in a hotel in North Conway NH, and truly enjoy being on the other side of the bar and table being a server and bartender myself, I always look for great service and was not disappointed with your dinning room staff. Tammy was our server for dinner and she was also very attentive and professional, they made our night away truly enjoyable! We will most certainly return again soon!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Centennial. While it sounded like it was a short visit, you really a chance to experience all of the unique amenities that our hotel has to offer. The weather over the past month has been very unpredictable so it is always nice to hear that our guests have a chance to utilize and enjoy the outside porches located off of our suites. Our guests are always surprised by our turndown service, it is another unique amenity that Hay Creek Hotels are known for. We are also very fortunate to have the Granite Restaurant & Bar on-site, offering amazing menu options and an outstanding staff. You noted that you work in a hotel in the North Conway area. Just recently, Hay Creek Hotels took over the management of the Eagle Mountain House in Jackson, NH. You should stop by for a visit. Thank you again for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    51
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
38
83
13
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable, outstanding! This is a one-of-a-kind hotel with lots of personality. No cookie-cutter chain hotel rooms here. We liked everything about it, from the tile-work in the walk-in shower to the nightly turn-down service with homemade treats: lemon bars one night and chocolate pound cake the next. We've enjoyed the quality of their restaurant, The Granite Room, on previous occasions, so when we had reason to spend a few nights, we felt certain of a pleasant stay, and we were not disappointed. Looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am so thrilled that you had taken the time to write about your recent visit to the Centennial Hotel. You mention that our hotel is not a "cookie-cutter" chain hotel. Our owners strive to make the Hay Creek product special and unique for all of it's guests. The goal is to "surprise and delight" our guests during every aspect of their stay. If you have a chance to travel often, visit our corporate website, www.haycreekhotels.com. We own and manage several properties, not only in the NH area, but others as well. I was also happy to hear that you had a chance to enjoy our nightly turn down service and the Granite Restaurant & Bar during your stay. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding. They updated this 130+ year old ivy covered brick building just a few years ago. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the beds are comfortable. The Granite Restaurant was outstanding. It is right on the main floor of the hotel. When we return to Concord, we will stay at the Centennial again. I read reviews of the hotel on Trip Advisor prior to our booking. I found many positives and did not experience the negative aspects that some had. Our bathroom sink drain was draining poorly at first. We mentioned it to the staff and when we were out in the morning, they had someone fix it. No coffee maker in the room seemed slightly unusual for a nicer hotel, but they did have free coffee in a thermos at the front desk. A very good experience overall for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Centennial. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You had pointed out that you had looked over the reviews on Trip Advisor prior to visiting our hotel. You mentioned that you did not experience the same issues (negative aspects) that were raised by guests in some previous reviews. You also noted that you found an issue with the sink drain during your stay but immediately reported it to our staff and it was taken care of right away. At times, it can be frustrating to find that a guest had an issue during their stay but did not reach out to a staff member for assistance. We strive to always provide the best product and service and in doing so, fixing any issues that may arise while a guest is with us. Again, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Thank you Peter for the welcoming reception and the unrequested (but gratefully received upgrade) to a wonderful suite with an office nook, a huge comfortable porch and loads of space. What a welcome. The Granite restaurant is excellent and the breakfast is high quality and not at all expensive. All of the staff have been friendly and efficient. We couldn't ask for more and will highly recommend to our friends in Australia.

Room Tip: e exceptionally nice to Peter:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay. You were also kind enough to post your comments on our Granite Restaurant & Bar Trip Advisor site. I am so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for an overnight "get away". It is a renovated older hotel and is very nice inside. The rooms are interesting and very nice and the hotel very comfortable. The restaurant is fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top (3rd) floor and the view was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel. I am so glad that you had an opportunity to stay with us and enjoy our Victorian hotel! We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

A very quaint. old hotel in downtown Concord, very unique. Would definately reccommend the hotel, but with a couple of warnings.
Upon checkin, was checking in as part of a group, with Master Bill charges, had to present as credit card for incidentials (no problem). Hotel put a $727.00 hold on my credit card. When questioned, the hotel said they would remove (which they can not do, but clear after 7 days), and put ANOTHER $550.00 hold on the same credit card (now almost $1300.00 in credit card holds). I gave up.
Had dinner in the restaurant, which is very nice. Ordered a beer from our server, Nickolas. He brought bread, no beer. He brought salads and soup, no beer. I asked him about the beer, he said he was waiting on the bar. Then I watched him walk to an empty bar, and place the order with the bartender. Bartender handed him my beer immediately. Nickolas brough it to me, and I refused it.
Nice hotel.....but service lacking....lacking....lacking

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. I have looked into your comments and would like to discuss with you further. If you have a moment, could you contact me? I would appreciate it.
Sue O'Donnell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is an architecturally interesting, very clean, well priced hotel in downtown Concord with an exceptionally kind staff. The man at the front desk, Peter, was extremely helpful and very pleasant which really made our stay in Concord begin without a hitch. There is a small workout room in the basement with two treadmills and some free weights. The restaurant attached to the hotel is fantastic and person after person that works here is super kind. Our room was really nice...they have the Gilchrist and Soames soaps and shampoo, remodeled rooms, and our room wa spacious with two queen beds and its own little sitting area (we were in room 312). There are nice flat screen TVs with good cable and a very good HVAC system. There is nightly turn down service and they give you a little sweet treat (we had two small pieces of cake). All this for around $150/night...what a deal. I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Concord NH.

Room Tip: Third floor has uniquely shaped rooms due to the roofline which I really liked. Also, I chose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Centennial. We take pride in providing the best customer service around. I am so glad to hear that you had a chance to enjoy all of the amenities that we provide; from the gym, to the restaurant, the soaps and shampoos in our overnight rooms and our turndown service. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you have a chance to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Address: 96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Centennial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 32 spacious guestrooms, each unique with the architectural distinctions found only in vintage buildings of the Victorian era; like third floor guestrooms with amazingly idiosyncratic ceiling lines, suites with lounges built into the twin turrets that provide the hotel its iconic presence, private porches and much more. Surprising touches can be found throughout, such as terry bathrobes, slippers and a special turndown that changes every evening of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Concord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centennial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.