We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and fantastic restaurant - GRANITE.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centennial Hotel

Save Saved
You added Centennial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centennial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Concord
Winter Park, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Nice Hotel and fantastic restaurant - GRANITE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Nice hotel friendly service. Restaurant was one of the best we ate at during our entire trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    39
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
70
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel is awesome. We paid top price for a very small room. We loved the closeness... however, towels were rijpped and at my house they would have been considered rags.
Front dest gave us the best service. Dave was oustanding and went out of his way to help.
Our dinner at their resturant was very pricey however, very good!
We would stay again, but I think I would ask for new towels!! This may not be important to you, but I wish I would haave asked the housekeeping staff to chage out the towels. I'm a paying customer though, it should not be part of my job.

Room Tip: ask for a porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite_96, General Manager at Centennial Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Centennial Hotel. Feedback is an essential part of our success. I have investigated the towel situation and we are rectifiying the situation. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope you will visit us again in the future!
Sue O'Donnell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel has the potential to be a great boutique hotel. It is located in a former home for Civil War widows built in a "Victorian industrial" brick style, with two turrets on the front facing the road. It tries to build on that history, but in a couple of ways, goes off on unexplainable stylistic tangent.

We went on a "Romantic Getaway" package and, while there were some really very good things about the place, there were a couple of things that ruined it for us. First the good.

The staff at the hotel was excellent and attentive. There were wonderful touches during our stay, with turn down service and cookies by the bedside when we arrived. We stayed in one of the turret rooms on the second floor with a balcony. The room was large, the bed very comfortable and we felt very relaxed. There was air conditioning, but because of the architectural structure, they were window units. (No big deal)

The restaurant was one of the best we have ever been to. The food was amazing and the kitchen staff clearly knew their business. While our meals came as part of the package, the prices on the menu were NOT expensive.

From a design standpoint, here are the tangents. The carpets (sort of a pea green) do not work with the setting of the building and atmosphere they are apparently trying to create. They are just an ugly color, plain and simple. The artwork in the foyer, lobby and restaurant are fine, but in the halls and room, they've placed faux 1930s/40s studio shots. It all just comes across as a sort of historically schizophrenic. Still everyone has their own tastes...

What was totally unacceptable (and what we didn't discover until morning light) was the large amount of mildew in the shower. My wife (distgusted) was able to clean it off herself without too much effort. In addition, on the door frame going out to the balcony, there was a dark brown, greasy dripping stain. The housekeeping staff clearly was not doing it's job. in addition, the ceiling in the bathroom was separating from apparently previous water damage.

We brought all of these things to the attention of the hotel staff at the front desk and, while she was courteous and took note of what we said, I think it would have been appropriate if they had at least made an offer to discount our stay. But nothing. (Except that they hope we come again and give them another chance).

We really wanted to like this hotel. But, to us, these are big time hygiene concerns. If they address these issues, then this can be a wonderful place to stay. But, while we may come back for the restaurant, we will not be coming for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This hotel is about 1/2 mile from downtown, in a residential area with lots of free parking. We were in room 306, on third floor, which is a big room with large comfy bed, desk and chair, armchair, fridge etc. Very fast and free wifi. Decor very smart in modern style including a ceiling fan. However, the room was cold and a/c was difficult to adjust. There was no noise from neighbouring rooms, but quite a lot from the corridor. Not much natural light from two small attic windows. Bathroom smallish with just a shower, no bath. Shower pressure is ok, not great. Shortly after arrival a lady arrived at the door with two freshly baked cookies :-)
We ate in the Granite restaurant: very good food & service. Starters were a cheese plate & crab cakes, followed by pork porterhouse steak and pan roasted salmon. With bottle of Sauvignon Blanc and glass of Port it came to $143.88.
Reception not very friendly but rest of staff fine.
Not a lot to do in Concord - one Main Street with a few shops and a couple of small shopping centres behind the town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, SC
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Made reservations for 2 rooms with AARP rate and they were a little messed up. Wrong names on addresses, tried to charge 2 different rates. One room very good, the other smaller than a Red Roof Inn....bed against the wall, no night stand, tiny shower, etc. Not a $150.+ room to put it midly. The staff were nice and the on-site upscale Granite restaurant was very good. Good bar, nice menu, and the offering of 1/2 portions on most items. Outside of hotel is a large historic building. The inside is quite modern. Would certainly go again but would verify room description.

Room Tip: get a room description when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Traveling north from Cape Cod we had to find a hotel in Concord on short notice. We found the eclectic architecture of the Centenial quite interesting, the staff friendly and helpful and our 3rd floor room-- which included three TVs and a tower--very comfortable despite it's simple furnishings.
Most importantly, do not miss the opportunity to eat at the hotel restaurant. We enjoyed dinner so much that we went back for brunch the following day. Truly haute quisine at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I've stayed here every couple of months for the past two years and look forward to it each time. The rooms are spacious yet feel cozy. Details are generally perfect, from linens to design. I found some "fit and finish" problems with the bathroom in one room (sink was slightly loose), but otherwise no complaints on that front. The restaurant makes the Centennial the only place I'll stay in Concord. Great, great food and a terrific wine list.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centennial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Hotel

Address: 96 Pleasant Street, Concord, NH 03301
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Centennial Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 32 spacious guestrooms, each unique with the architectural distinctions found only in vintage buildings of the Victorian era; like third floor guestrooms with amazingly idiosyncratic ceiling lines, suites with lounges built into the twin turrets that provide the hotel its iconic presence, private porches and much more. Surprising touches can be found throughout, such as terry bathrobes, slippers and a special turndown that changes every evening of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Centennial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Hotel Concord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centennial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.