We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moritomo Japanese Restaurant

Moritomo Japanese Restaurant
32 Fort Eddy Rd, Concord, NH 03301-7404
603-224-8363
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 126 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Meredith, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Visited Moritomo in August 2014, with my wife and 2.5 year old daughter. The staff was wonderful to my daughter, bringing her "training" chopsticks and ketchup for her chicken bites. My wife and I ordered multiple sushi rolls and we were pleased with the selections. The dining room is not very intimate, so I would not recommend for a romantic evening. However it is perfect for a nice family meal. We will definitely visit again!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    7
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tanabe, Japan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Seriously awesome, authentic sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Came here on a double date and was pleasantly surprised by this little hole-in-the-wall restaurant!

From outside the restaurant looks tiny and unassuming, but the inside is quite spacious. We didn't get to sit in the tatami rooms because our party was too small, but the dining room was an equally nice location -- well-lit, pleasantly decorated, and lively without being too loud.

I wish I could remember the names of the rolls we ordered (and there were many), but they were all equally delicious. Their specials were spot-on and fairly priced. I was surprised at the freshness of the salmon sushi, which was served with a slice of lemon.

The service was overall very pleasant and friendly. I especially liked that our server read back our order to make sure that everything was just right. We did not feel rushed at all, and although the restaurant was busy (being Saturday night) the courses came out in a timely manner.

We ended our meal with two orders of mochi ice cream to share. It had a good texture and came out in a beautiful presentation so everyone could try a bite of each flavor.

Although this was my first visit, I am confident that Morimoto's is a solid choice. Everything from the food, to the atmosphere, service, and overall value was spot on. I hope I can visit again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Total jerks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Food was not tasty. Very slow. Staff were jerks. laughed at my wife when she tried to use chopsticks. By the way, they are Korean not Japanese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Friendly staff and very good food. There is lots of choice on the menu from budget to exclusive. Location is between shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Great family restaurant, we love this place. Great habachi menu. Sushi is top notch!
We return several times a month

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moritomo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moritomo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moritomo Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.