We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Common Man or Ordinary Man?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Common Man

The Common Man
25 Water Street, Concord, NH 03301
(603) 228-3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 141 Restaurants in Concord
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Common Man restaurant in Concord, N.H., located in New Hampshire's capital city, offers a variety of options to our guests - from our comfortable expanded lounge, Doc's Primary Pub, and deck areas, to our cozy dining room with crackling fireplaces, and private event rooms for functions. Choose from classic comfort cuisine such as Three Cheese Baked Macaroni and Cheese, Country Meatloaf or our famous Roast Prime Rib.
1 review
“Common Man or Ordinary Man?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

We had three apologies for slow service. The real problem seemed to be that our server seemed more intent on extracting his tips from vacated tables than attending to us. My salmon was great and well priced. Steak was ordinary. We were recommended by our hotel- was there a cosy deal here?

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    103
    41
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great lobster corn chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

this is a great restaurant and part of the common man familly in nh. i've been to the ashland site and this one in concord and the food is great. always heard about the lobster corn chowder but never tried it but this past weekend decided to go for it. It was fantastic. great flavor, a little bit of lobster and just enough for a meal for me. love the common man "wine down" wednesday where you can get wine for half the bottle price. nice place to meet friends.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Would never go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

It took 50 minutes to get our food because the waitress thought she forgot to put our order in but had. When we finally got the food my hamburger bun was hard as the table, my husband got the special of the day, the Beast, which was supposed to have prime rib and was mostly onions. He said the soups they brought us because the food was so slow were ok. We were thoroughly unimpressed and very disappointed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Set in an historic home conversion with wainscoting and original exposed beams. Pleasant decor and some antique furnishings. The appetizers were excellent. We had the escargot, onion soup and lobster corn chowder which were excellent. The pumkin bread was also tasty which came in the bread basket on your table. We both had the prime rib. My only complaint was mine was supposed to be the "thick" cut which was actually thin and overcooked. They brought me out another one which was cooked properly but still thin. My husband had the 16 ounce which seems to be the way to go. Thought the rib was a little pricey for my serving but good, not outstanding but good. Mashed potatoes were excellent, string beans just ok. I ordered the baked apple which at first came out too hard to get my spoon through then they brought it back and microwaved it to the point of mush. Not worth the $7.00 price tag. However, my husband had the white chocolate creme brulee which was out of this world and a decent serving. That was worth it. A little pricey but less pricey than most restaurants of this type. Worth experiencing. Our waitress was really sweet.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellant food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excellent food in a great atmosphere. The portions were actually too large. If was not traveling, I would have taken at least half of it home. After we ate we were told that you could order half sized portions, this is a great option.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Common Man, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.