We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely of all the 'Centres' as a Venue..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Center for the Arts

Capitol Center for the Arts
44 South Main St, Concord, NH 03301
603-225-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 attractions in Concord
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Capitol Center for the Arts is the largest and most successful performing arts center in New Hampshire and has helped position Concord as a cultural destination. Its richly varied programming attracts diversified audiences. Broadway, ballet, rock, and country & western fans alike travel from all over New England to attend performances at the Capitol Center.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Definitely of all the 'Centres' as a Venue..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Having attended a number of Concerts for the same band (was a Groupie of a specific Band for 5+ years until this year) at a number of Venues all over the US & Canada. This Venue was quite intimate & lovely to view, although the Stage was a wee bit small thus causing the Band to NOT have quite enough space to 'Put on' their Usual largish Show. Still friendly staff etc.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love having this theatre in Concord!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

So many venues to choose from. Always something for any age. My favorite is the MET series - seeing Opera without having to go to New York!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cold for the Capitol”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had tickets for a show at the end of September. We purchased these tickets in April hoping to see the venue and artists performing for the first time. Unfortunately a death in my immediate family caused us to be there, of course, and miss the show. I called the next day to see if there was anyway of even just getting a credit for a future show. The answer was no the show left and so did the money. I really believe in these cases a little understanding would be helpful and go a long way to further promote this and any venue with patrons like myself and others who enjoy live shows at great venues. I just think sometimes a little consideration does go a long way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Acoustical Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We travel to see the Irish singing group Celtic Thunder. This time they performed in the Capitol Center for the Arts in Concord. It is a beautifully restored older theater for the performing arts. We have seen Celtic Thunder in a number of different settings and this was by far the best venue bringing the audience to the stage and performers. The acoustics were superb.

On the negative side the seating was very cramped but I guess that comes with a building that is that old.

Given the opportunity to return we will do so without question.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thunder in the Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Love Celtic Thunder and the Capital Center for the arts. All around good time. Downfall is not letting people in to clear out the lobby but I am not sure if that is them or the Celtic Thunder handlers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Center for the Arts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Capitol Center for the Arts to your Saves list