We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK Lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Common Man Restaurant Claremont

Common Man Restaurant Claremont
21 Water Street, Claremont, NH 03743
603-542-6171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Claremont
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Goffstown, nh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An OK Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second trip to this restaurant. My husband had the pot roast again and I had the pan fried pork medallion. My husband's comment was "I won't order this again"...enough said.
My pork medallion was a bit over salty, but OK. The best thing about the lunch was the mashed potatoes and gravy. This restaurant has a "help yourself" cheese and cracker section. The horseradish cheese spread is delicious and the cheddar is very tasty. However, I have had enough of this restaurant. The view of the Sugar River is wonderful and the old mill atmosphere is nice, but the food is mediocre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    21
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Vermont
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The food is always excellent and special.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As a local, I like to visit restaurants that are consistently great and that make you feel like you are getting your money's worth. The Common Inn is such a restaurant, however it costs more than most restaurants in the area.

I've eaten here with family and also after a long hike. Casual wear is embraced here, but you can dress up, too. You can pay as little as you would like if you order an appetizer and soup as your entree, like I did after a hike.

I came with family from Long Island, and they found the food to be excellent and the value was no different than what they would pay in their "resort" town.

I had Haddock Oscar, which was very good. Menu items have wine suggestions by them, so I picked the recommended Pinot Grigio to go with it. One person had a large bowl of Lobster Corn Chowder as an entree because she wasn't able to eat much. Another person had a cucumber salad, cup of Lobster Corn Chowder and Baked Haddock. He loved all of it, but it was too much food. The other person had Baked Scallops made Casino style. He loved it and found it to be just enough food for him. Two wines, two beers, and two scotches then two of us shared a bread pudding.

I didn't pay the bill, so I don't know the final price, but it was probably a little over $100 for everything. Well worth it!

We sat outside by the Sugar River. Our server was not as attentive as we would have liked, and at times we were sitting and waiting for the next stage to happen. Other servers did come by and refresh drinks and check on things. It wasn't a super busy time on a Friday evening about 7 p.m.

Parking is easy in a lot across from the Inn. You may walk into the Inn lobby then down the stairs then take a path to the restaurant. Or you may take the stairs on the left of the Inn directly to the restaurant.

You can also sit at the bar and eat off the bar menu. There is a lounge section in front of the fireplace with games. In the winter the fire is going, and people will gather there to nibble and drink while socializing.

It's in an old woolen mill that was renovated and is really nice.

Reservations are only accepted for parties of 6 or more people.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Salt City”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had lunch on a beautiful day and enjoyed the patio. The setting is great and it's wonderful to see an old mill put to good use. Service was fine, but we can't say the same about the food. The wine list, especially by the glass was limited. Both our our lunches were overly SALTY. Heads up--salt does not equal flavor. We had heard good things about the Common Man, but based on our dining experience we won't be back. BTW-- $50 plus tip for 2 glasses of wine and 2 sandwiches????

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Another great restaurant near a New Hampshire river. Wonderful wide open mill made into a restaurant. The old beams bring a lot to the atmosphere. Our waitress was friendly. Our food arrived in a timely manner. The food was good. Desserts were excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The server was very intrusive, interrupting our conversation and overly loud. They could not accomodate a vegan diet and there was little on the menu I could eat. Menu was not healthy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Common Man Restaurant Claremont also viewed

 

Been to Common Man Restaurant Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Common Man Restaurant Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.