We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonder Of Nature” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Chocorua

Lake Chocorua
NH 16, Chocorua, NH
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Attractions in Chocorua
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Wonder Of Nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I used to live about an hour or so away from it and would go there on the weekends. One of the most beautiful places in New Hampshire if not anywhere. If you love the woods, mountains, crystal clear lakes....then this is heaven!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This lovely, calm, shallow lake is perfect for swimming, kayaking, canoeing and enjoying. Dog-friendly too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful off road picnic area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is one of the prime sights in New Hampshire, a serene lake reflecting one of the first major mountains that one sees when traveling north on Rte 16. There is ample parking and a porta-potty available. Picnic tables or soft pine needles on the ground - either good for a rlunchbreak. The lake is shallow and great for wading. I've never taken my canoe here, but have seen others putting in.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Time stands still on lake Chocorua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This was not my first visit to the lake , I had come here with my brother , sister and parents for 20 something yrs . This was our place to swim , back then the motel and cottages we stayed in had no pool do we took a short ride here to picnic and cool down ! Well it's still looks the same as it did long ago , the water is crystal clear , spotless and mountain views abound . Oh did I mention it's free . A must place to take a swim ....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Ossipee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stop here often it a very peaceful place and beautiful place. It's a must see. go for the sunset you wont regret!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Chocorua also viewed

North Conway, White Mountains
 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Lake Chocorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Chocorua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.