We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Menu and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner House Inn

Corner House Inn
22 Main Street, Center Sandwich, NH 03227
603 284-6219
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic Menu and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Delicious dinner last evening - If you are looking for a restaurant that delivers on the promise of careful preparation of each dish - make a reservation tomorrow. I understand the place is packed on weekends, but mid-week (early) can result is your ability to walk in and be seated immediately.

Their specialty salads are "fresh" and delicious - plain or dressed with an assortment of side proteins. Plan on a half-salad as the portions are generous. My husband that their prime rib quesadilla - huge and tasty. my sister-in-law had the swordfish special - not only was the fish cooked to perfection, but the veggies were crisp - cooked to perfection. My brother and I both had one of the specialty salads - he chose the sirloin steak topping - I chose the salmon. Both great choices. Save room for dessert if you dare... Delicious creations...
Our server, Lauren, was attentive and pleasant. She stopped by often to replenish water and make sure our meals were cooked to our satisfaction. Their homemade breads were so good, we actually took what was left in the basket home with us - A first!
We'll return often...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming venue and gluten free friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We visited here early one Friday evening just before the tourist season started. They service was great. The staff were all well informed and friendly. The menu and the chef were accommodating towards gluten free. We were served a basket of beautiful bread( not gluten free though) and then a light lettuce salad with our choice of 3 dressings. I had a salmon and shrimp,dish with lobster sauce which was delicious and my friend had the seafood sauté which looked beautiful and she said was delicious. The cost was very reasonable. The dning room was charming and consists of several rooms. There is a pub upstairs, it had live music and served lighter meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Restaurant and pub ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We ordered lamb, meatloaf, seafood Diane, lobster and scallop pie, pizza, mussels and Corner House salad. The bread and zucchini bread were delicious. The pizza was very tasty. The mussels were a good size and the broth was fragrant. The side salads were fresh. The entrees were excellent. Loved the Corner House salad that had port infused crasins, Gorgonzola cheese, candied walnuts, fresh greens. You can eat on the main floor or upstairs in the pub. I recommend you make a reservation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food and Always Served Hot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This restaurant is a little gem not too far from Moultonboro Center - off the beaten path. Always great tasting food, great waitstaff and you feel welcomed the minute you walk in the door. The haddock with ritz crackers and cranberries is excellent and a generous portion. Will return again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pure heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lunch upstairs in the pub and was delighted with every bite. Asked for something not on the menu and without a blink of an eye was made a open faced prime rib sandwich, smothered in mushrooms and melted cheese with Nantucket sauce on the side. As an addition sweet potato fries with maple syrup for dipping. Rachel the bartender/server is a gem, atmosphere warm and inviting and was so happy with the experience we will return as soon as we can!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner House Inn also viewed

 

Been to Corner House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.