We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend getaway for veteran and his wife” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast
25 King Road, Campton, NH 3223   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Campton B&B and Inns
Londonderry, NH
1 review
“A weekend getaway for veteran and his wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Gracious hosts, Cindy and George, welcomed us to their lovely, filled with charm and every amenity you can think of (including bath towels big enough for two, water, beverages, books, magazines--old and new), bed and breakfast. Even the bed we slept in was extremely comfortable. In the main areas of the B & B, there was music and games and movies galore. Upon our arrival, there were incredibly tasty banana nut cake, with caramel buttercream frosting, awaiting us--yum, yum! When it was time for breakfast, it was a meal of several courses--unforgettable, filled with variety and a great way to start the day. George even lit the fireplace during breakfast. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Don't be late for breakfast!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarkehouse, Owner at The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello ~
Thanks so much for that lovely review. It was our pleasure to host such wonderful guests. We appreciate your gracious comments and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards ~
Cindy & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. this place feels like home !! It was a wonderful experience. Cindy and George are amazing and of course the food is excellent. We would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for a nice place to stay in New Hampshire.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door to the time we left, this place felt like home. My wife and I booked a weekend getaway for our first anniversary and though we aren't exactly rolling in the dough, we though this quaint off-off-the-beaten path looked great. We booked one of the lesser expensive rooms for the weekend and drove up from Boston on Friday night, telling them we wouldn't show up until late.

As soon as we walked in the door at 10 pm, George was waiting for us with fresh baked cookies and a smile. After the pleasant introductions, he announced since we were visiting on an off peak weekend, we were upgraded to the King's Suite for free. For both nights. No extra charge. If that doesn't tell you how dedicated they are to the comfort of their guests, I don't know what will.

The meals were gourmet affairs that left us full until dinner time and provided great fuel for two days of hiking and relaxing in the mountains. The home has a great location with lots of quiet spots to either convene or escape. Both George and Cindy were spectacular hosts who went out of their way to make sure every moment we spent with them was an anniversary to remember.

Though it is filled with the usual kitsch expected in a New England B&B, it was a perfect balance of easy access and hidden getaway.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, George and Cindy were perfect hosts and made us feel at home. Breakfasts were tremendous. Beautiful house and very comfortable. George has many stories to listen to. Difficult to fault anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

For many years the wife has been after me to book a short vacation to see the Castle in the Clouds in nearby Moultonborough NH (this is a great place to see). After much research I decided to go with The Clarke House. I am sure glad I did. This beautiful 1775 home is beautiful, historic, comfortable and very friendly. Cook Cindy and her able assistant, narrator, storyteller etc. George did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one. You can believe all the other glowing reviews, it's all true. We hope to visit the Clarke House again someday.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a fireplace. We had a romantic fire every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit to New Hampshire and the Clarke House made us realize it won't be our last. This was truly a home away from home while we visited our daughter who was performing at Jean's Playhouse in nearby Lincoln. The location is a convenient distance from the Manchester airport and very easy to find. It is also a very short distance to many of the activities in the area. George and Cindy could not have been more accommodating and if for no other reason, stay here for the breakfasts! Amazing! Whether you are skiing, leaf peeping, shopping, or just relaxing, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

You can't beat the hospitality & love this couple (King George & Lady Cindy of Campton) takes the time to share with you, this is a home-sweet-home not a house :-) Very beautiful place & the food was amazing & delicious. My husband & I love the area so much, we usually drive up north during the summer to swim in the Pemigewasset River less than a mile south down the road from the Clarke House B&B. Enjoy! :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Birch room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 25 King Road, Campton, NH 3223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Campton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Campton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and cozy luxury bed & breakfast located in the heart of 4 Seasons of Beauty ~ The White Mountains of New Hampshire. We are conveniently located near many attractions including Mt Washington, The Cog Railway, Clark's Trading Post, The Natural Science Center, and the Curious George Cottage! We are close to many festivals such as Jazz, Boogie and Blues, the Highland Games, several playhouses and open-air concerts. We are near to hiking, biking, kayaking, boating and fishing, or just take a beautiful scenic drive through the mountains and explore our lakes, rivers and waterfalls ~ and don't forget the great New Hampshire skiing including 5 ski resorts a short drive from us. On premise we have a heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, lawn furniture, hammocks, firepits and yard games in the Summer. In Winter we have a large skating rink (and skates) a bonfire, snowshoeing, backwoods hiking and sledding all located at the B&B ~ and after an exilherating day of play, come sit by one of our large wood burning fireplace and just relax ~ AND our breakfasts are amazing ~ you are guaranteed to be well fed! "Enter as Strangers ~ Leave as Friends"at The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarke House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.