We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Foliage Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Whipple House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Henry Whipple House to your Saves list
Henry Whipple House
75 Summer Street, Bristol, NH 03222   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“New England Foliage Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at The Whipple House for two nights of our ten day New England trip and wished we were staying here for the entire trip. This was by far the best place we stayed at during our holiday especially as the prices are so reasonable for what you get. Great central location, friendly and knowledgeable hosts and incredible breakfasts - we didn't need lunch! Couldn't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
85
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This cosy B&B and it's welcoming owner, Sandra, gave us an excellent start of our honeymoon. The room was extremely romantic and nice, with fireplace and several candles. We even had a little wedding gift waiting for us in our room when we arrived. The Inn at the Lake (or something similar) is also a great place to eat 5 minutes down the street from the B&B.
And, as many others have written here, the breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Vt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We had a very relaxing time. The Inn was very well kept, the hospitality was great and the breakfasts were delicious. This is a great place to stay if you have food allergies; Sandra was very accomodating.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Sandra was a perfect hostess... the house is beautiful, the rooms decorated with care, the amenities wonderful - even had a small t.v. and internet service.
Bed was comfortable and breakfast was a true treat- she even had a few moments to spare to just chat with us.
Most of all- she was very thoughtful, leaving us a congratulation card since we were there in the area on our honeymoon !
I would highly recommend this inn- easy to find, good parking and a secure in/out for
all guest to roam about but not bother anyone coming back in day or night...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

When vacationing in New Hampshire you can do no better than to stay at the Henry Whipple House. It combines a quaint elegance with a homey feeling and provides a great place to relax and unwind. It is situated in Bristol which is centrally located to just about anything you could want to do in NH, VT, or ME.
We stayed in the "Guest Room" which feature a plush pilllow top king sized bed with an antique fireplace right at the foot of the bed. Each night you are given a fresh fire log to enjoy. There is a fridge in the hallway which has name brand sodas (Coke, Sprite, etc) and a water cooler which provides both hot and icy cold water.
All this pales in comparision to the most delicious breakfasts you have ever eaten. Sandra uses nothing but the freshest ingredients from local farms. You start the meal with homemade scones packed with fruits or nuts. The scones are the perfect "biscuit" like consistency. Our favorite was the maple/walnut scones which were rich and hearty and full of flavor.
From there you get two breakfast choices which usually include an egg dish or a fruit related dish such as banana pancakes or french toast with strawberry sauce. The dishes are presented well with a medley of watermelen, cantalope, kiwi and orange slice.
Our favorite egg dish was the scrambled eggs with sour cream, smoked ham and sauted potatoes...yum.
Top all this of with her reasonable rates and a special buy 3 get 1 day free rate and you will find this to be one of the best, most economical places to stay. So in summary an elegant comfortable B&B with delicious breakfast close to everything. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We are a retired couple in our early 70's from Minnesota and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay. Sandra is a great cook so breakfasts were outstanding. We learned another guest came back this year because of the great breakfasts. Sandra also is enjoyable to talk with and share traveling stories. She recommended a side trip to the Castle in the Clouds" that we did not know of before which proved to be very interesting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We loved our stay here although it was short. Beautiful room, good central location and breakfast scones to die for! The owners were welcoming and there were English tea bags...P.G.Tips!! Loved it

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Address: 75 Summer Street, Bristol, NH 03222
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Henry Whipple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Whipple House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.