We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for skiing Ragged Mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry Whipple House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Henry Whipple House to your Saves list
Henry Whipple House
75 Summer Street, Bristol, NH 03222   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay for skiing Ragged Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My 7 year old son and I just come back from three nights at The Henry Whipple House, which we used as a base to ski at Ragged Mountain (20 min away).
Breakfast was delicious, room was clean and nicely decorated, the hostess was absolutely marvelous.
We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
85
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Revere, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My son and I stayed one night after a day of skiing at Ragged Mtn. The Inn is very well maintained and the Inn Keepers are fabulous. Very Attentive to our needs and the home baked snacks and breakfast were superb. We Stayed in Lilla's Room and were very satisfied. Very Clean and very well maintained. All the rooms are beautiful and would be happy to stay any one of them. Highly Recommend!

Room Tip: If you prefer a Very Large Washroom with a tub, I recommend Henry's Room. If you need more tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We've just come back from three nights at The Henry Whipple House, which we used as a base to ski at Ragged Mountain (20 min away). We stayed in the Weaving Room, which was a very good size for the four of us. Breakfast was always superb and proper English tea to go with it. Sandra is a great hostess. We will definitely be back.

Green Features: Seems like a very Green establishment. It is very apparent that environmentally sound practices are important to the owners.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Perfect for friends, couples, family or either way alone. The owners are so nice and also help us to find the perfect places to do all the activities that we planned and also gave us information of additional activities. There is a big lake close to the house where you can fish. It's just 15 minutes from a snow mountain for begginers and 40 minutes from the intermedia and hard snow mountain. The service, the breakfast and the area are perfect for a relax and funny winter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Chose as was closest lodging to Ragged Mtn. Very nice surprise. Room and inn was so clean, great bedding, and owner Sandra could not be nicer. Would def return

The food in the morning so good. I always thought scones could double as hockey pucks but Sandras were delicious!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We chose Bristol as a central location to all NH has to offer and selected the Henry Whipple House as it’s in town close to most of the restaurants and extremely affordable. We could not believe our luck. The owners have done such a wonderful job with renovating this grand old Victorian house – and all the original features remain even with the modern addition of bathrooms. All the rooms are large (we were allowed to look inside all the rooms) with queen or king beds and each uniquely decorated with care for the traveler and without being overly fussy and full of knick-knacks as with some Victorians. Now the important stuff: beds are very comfortable, sheets are lovely, towels are soft, everything is spotless, amenities are high-end, rooms have cable TV, WiFI, and AC units. As everyone else has said the breakfasts are truly special and more than enough to eat, we took our extra scones for a snack and didn’t eat them until late afternoon. Also, there is an area to make tea and coffee where homemade snacks are available together with a basket of other snacks and a guest fridge which also has free soda. We liked having access to a fridge and microwave for reheating our leftovers from the previous night’s dinner. Last, but by no means least, the owners are really friendly and extremely knowledgeable. They gave us so many recommendations for things to do (that we had not considered) that kept us away from the crowds on the busiest of days. We’ll definitely be back and would recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our stay with the Whipple house was amazing. They were very fast and informative in email communication, they were very flexible as we were checking in late after our wedding. We also asked to have breakfast served in our room, as it was our first morning as a married couple and they came through perfectly! GREAT building, GORGEOUS room, THE BEST food we've eaten at a B&B. Recommended HIGHLY! The kitties were adorable too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Henry Whipple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry Whipple House

Address: 75 Summer Street, Bristol, NH 03222
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1904 Henry Whipple House is typical of the Victorian era in its architecture, original oak woodwork, bronze fireplaces and stained glass. Updated to today’s discerning customers’ requirements and serving an award winning breakfast provide for an exceptional experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Henry Whipple House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Whipple House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.