We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ice cream and fudge with a view to match!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Fudge Factory

The Mill Fudge Factory
2 Central Street, Bristol, NH 03222 (Formerly The Mill Fudge Factory and Ice Cream Cafe)
6037440405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream, Café, Sandwiches
Description: Nestled in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire is a quaint, historic 1700’s grist mill overlooking the Newfound River. It’s the home of The Mill Fudge Factory, where we make handcrafted, small batch fudge, all natural ice cream, and delicious café fare. We are family-owned and operated, serving the highest quality fudge and ice cream for over 7 years. Our mission is simple: to make people happy.
Restaurant details
Description: Nestled in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire is a quaint, historic 1700’s grist mill overlooking the Newfound River. It’s the home of The Mill Fudge Factory, where we make handcrafted, small batch fudge, all natural ice cream, and delicious café fare. We are family-owned and operated, serving the highest quality fudge and ice cream for over 7 years. Our mission is simple: to make people happy.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic ice cream and fudge with a view to match!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We happened to be in Bristol on an errand on July 4. It was a blisteringly hot day and we decided to have ice cream when we finished our errand. The Mill Fudge Factory was right nearby and it was a great choice. My husband had the "S'mores Shores" ice cream, which was chocolate with mini marshmallows, graham crackers -- but, instead of the chocolate chips one might expect, it was laced with pieces of their homemade chocolate fudge! I chose the Coffee Toffee ice cream -- pretty self-explanatory, but it was absolutely the best coffee ice cream I've ever tasted, and was filled with large pieces of their homemade toffee. For those who have trouble deciding on a flavor of ice cream or fudge, the staff will give you a sample to taste.

Their food looked and smelled good too, especially the paninis, but we only got ice cream. We thought we would eat on the side porch overlooking a fantastic view of the waterfalls. But it was so hot that day, it just wasn't a good option. We ate in their air-conditioned back room, a whimsical space with plenty of tables and chairs.

If you are in the Bristol area, make sure and stop here for some truly special ice cream. It does cost more than the average, but then this ice cream is far above average!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kep, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best truffels in the Northeast, best little music venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My Fiancée and I love visiting The Mill Fudge Factory! We love it so much, that this past weekend, when he proposed we drove more then an hour south to celebrate our engagement at The Fudge Factory with a beautiful folk band, and exquisite chocolate! We shared a truffle (BEST Truffles IN THE NORTHEAST) chocolate toffee, a sundae with the table and we had dinner! They always, always have great music, always eclectic and rare (especially for NH), and the venue in the back is perfect and intimate! We love, love, Love the Mill Fudge Factory's chocolate, Well, actually, we LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THE MILL FUDGE FACTORY!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just stopped by to look at the waterfalls. We were invited in by another customer and enjoyed the best Ice Cream we have ever had! Hands down this place should not be missed if you are in the area. If you are from outside the area it is worth the ride. Be sure to stop by. It's fun and delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanbornton, New Hampshire
1 review
“Our New Local Lunch Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stumbled upon The Mill Fudge Factory in the summer of 2012 when we did a quick Google search for an ice cream shop in Bristol. What a great find! The ice cream is fantastic! You can absolutely taste the pure ingredients, and the blended combinations are to die for. If they happen to have the amazingly popular Rhythm and Blues ice cream - do not pass it up! Blueberry ice cream with graham crackers and mini chocolate chips; it's like blueberry pie in ice cream form!

Just this year we tried their food menu. They are the perfect portion size for lunch, and man, is the Chicken Bella Tuscana panini Mm-Mm Good! It has herb-rubbed chicken, fresh tomatoes, and combined with the smoked mozzarella and pesto – it has hit the spot the last three times I've gotten it, both stomach-wise and wallet-wise.

And what a smart beer selection they offer! Wachusett Blueberry (not always available, but a must-try when it is), Long Trail Double Bag, White Birch, Peak Organic, Woodstock Inn... all of my favorites!

This restaurant is located in an adorable, historic house in downtown Bristol - the floors creak, and it's a tight squeeze, but the staff members are friendly and helpful – always offering to dole out a sample of fudge or ice cream. I'm not a huge fudge person, but the samples that I have tried have been great! The pumpkin fudge is spot-on.

I listed this as one of the best meals I've ever had simply because of the value you get for your dollar - plus the fact that you can get a sandwich, beer, and dessert all in one place while supporting a local business! The Mill Fudge Factory is our new go-to lunch spot – consider us Regulars!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Creek, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place and the cutest waitress...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Riding the motorcycles around NH with some friends and they took us to this quaint little restaurant. Loved the place as soon as we walked in. The waitress was they cutest bubbly little thing that made the experience all that much better. The food was excellent and the ice-cream was awesome. Don’t miss this place if you are in the area

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Fudge Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Mill Fudge Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Fudge Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.