We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very differently awesome tastes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Fudge Factory

The Mill Fudge Factory
2 Central Street, Bristol, NH 03222 (Formerly The Mill Fudge Factory and Ice Cream Cafe)
6037440405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Ice Cream, Café, Sandwiches
Description: Nestled in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire is a quaint, historic 1700’s grist mill overlooking the Newfound River. It’s the home of The Mill Fudge Factory, where we make handcrafted, small batch fudge, all natural ice cream, and delicious café fare. We are family-owned and operated, serving the highest quality fudge and ice cream for over 7 years. Our mission is simple: to make people happy.
Restaurant details
Description: Nestled in the Lakes Region of New Hampshire is a quaint, historic 1700’s grist mill overlooking the Newfound River. It’s the home of The Mill Fudge Factory, where we make handcrafted, small batch fudge, all natural ice cream, and delicious café fare. We are family-owned and operated, serving the highest quality fudge and ice cream for over 7 years. Our mission is simple: to make people happy.
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very differently awesome tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in Bristol NH but this location is easily reachable from 93 in the Lakes Region. I had the Cherry Chocolate Chip ice cream and it tasted like no other ice cream I have ever had. Very unique texture and outstanding flavors. My wife bought some fudge, had a taste outside, and went right back in to buy more. It would be dangerous to live within walking distance. They ship through their website also. Fudge. Not ice cream.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    35
    12
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent experience... more than you'd expect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were in this small NH town for a school event around supper time so looked to trip advior for help. Don't expect this to be just a "sweet shop". They have a nice website which boasts of their menu so we gave it a go. Downtown Bristol looks like so many tiny New England towns in the middle of nowhere; empty. Just a few businesses open.. then you see the "Mill". The entrance has the fudge counter, ice cream and coffee and where you place your order. If you want to "sit a spell" and enjoy the quaint building or the sound of the river you can do so in the back or on the deck. On Friday and Saturday there is live music, but not free. The service was so good you wonder why they are in Bristol, NH?!!! The food was well priced... all fresh, all prepared there. Paninis were a great deal. There were no sides like bread or salad with the "entrees" but that was OK because it left room for dessert. We went for "swirl ins"... the pumpkin pie was soooo good... very generous; would have liked a "small" option. Did not try the fudge as the calorie intake for an entire week was consumed in 1 hour! If you are in the lakes region or on the way to the white mtns, take a detour and go to "the mill". Check hours so you will not be dissapointed!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ice cream, fudge and great music, what more do you need?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The fudge is divine, the ice cream delicious and when there's music in the back room, it's a rocking good time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More than just ice cream and fudge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The fudge is almost to die for, maybe so heavenly that you really would...but so much more!

The paninis are made to order and seem to frequently feature daily specials. The ingredients are beautiful and fresh, cooked to perfection, and the result is out of this world. Recommendation: ask the staff what they're favoring today and go for that unless it really turns you off.

The raviolis are also outstanding, and worth the wait - again, ask what's special today.

Ice cream - ooooh, great. Check out the home-made swirl-ins for a new and different taste!

I saved the best for last, though - the fudge. The flavors are creative and fresh. The fudge is creamy, a perfect balance (in most cases) of sweet, creamy and other flavors. The add-in ingredients are fresh and really highlight and complement the basic fudge flavors. Our favorites include, in no particular order, Scotch Whisky, Cabin Fever Whiskey, Cranberry Walnut, Eggnog, and Cappucino. These flavors seem to do an unbelivable job balancing sweet and other flavors. However, I bet you can't say "no" to any of the fudge flavors.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter NH
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Sweet little spot on the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a wonderful little coffee shop that has homemade fudge, ice cream, a lunch menu and also seems to have music on weekends . . . maybe dinner? We had a light snack and coffee there, overlooking the small head hydro dam that we visited and actually toured with the operator on duty (my husband is an electrical enginner . . . he was thrilled). I had a piece of the fudge and it was HUGE so I ate part of it and saved some for the long ride home - it was delicious. Great coffee too and a very sweet ambience . . . just charming!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Fudge Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Mill Fudge Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Fudge Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.