We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Views - Wonderful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Mount Washington Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Mount Washington Resort to your Saves list
Omni Mount Washington Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   310 Mount Washington Hotel Road, Bretton Woods, NH 03575 (Formerly the Mount Washington Hotel & Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views - Wonderful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at this hotel capped our 14 day tour of New England in a spectacular way. As impressive as the photos of this resort are - they hardly do justice to the reality. We have stayed at fine hotels around the globe but I have to say the Mt. Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods was most impressive. Do not miss the hotel tour - the history of the hotel is quite interesting and is a walk through history well beyond the famous Bretton Woods meeting. Our stay was in mid-September so between summer and skiing. Nonetheless we had an enjoyable stay. There are plenty of sights to see in the general area. Love to go again in the summer when more of the attractions are accessible. Service throughout was friendly and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely plan on visiting again. I would note that dining options outside the hotel are limited.

Room Tip: Our room was on an upper floor to the south with gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    400
    155
    74
    44
See reviews for
521
837
19
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, but experienced a number of problems while we were there.

In the way of background, our family had been going to the Balsams, in Dixville Notch, New Hampshire, for over thirty years, for our annual skiing vacation. But, when the Balsams ceased operations, we looked for a place that we could have a similarly wonderful experience, and the Omni Mount Washington Hotel came closest to meeting our requirements. Here are our impressions.

Our party consisted of eight (8) adults and four (4) children. We stayed there, at the hotel, for an entire week, from December 23 through December 30, 2012.

First, let's talk about the activities for both the adults and the children. In a word, they were fantastic. From skiing at the nearby Bretton Woods skiing complex, to rubber tubing down snowy hillsides on the hotel's grounds, to swimming in its heating swimming pools, there was never a shortage of things to do. The kids had a wonderful time.

The rooms, and everything in general, were spacious, comfortable and clean. Heating and ventilation were good. The cost of the rooms was actually quite expensive. But, this is a top-flight hotel and you get what you pay for. What was a little annoying was that, in addition to paying top dollar for food and accommodations, the hotel charged you for virtually every little item imaginable, even five dollars apiece for renting the rubber tubes that you were sliding down the hills in. A high-end place like this shouldn't have to nickel and dime you to make their money, as they're charging you a steep price already just for the essentials.

We had a very mixed dining experience at the Omni Mount Washington Hotel.The food and the service at the Bretton Arms dining room was EXCEPTIONAL and we enjoyed the dinners we had there immensely. Also, at Stickney's, the hotel's casual restaurant, the food was very, very good, and the service was friendly, accurate and efficient. But, frankly speaking, the dining experiences we had while having dinner at the hotel's main dining room were mediocre at best. The service was good, but not great, but the food itself was less-than-average in quality. It was frequently poorly prepared, by what seemed to be amateur chefs. In our opinion, the person who is the head or executive chef in the main dining room needs to be replaced and some other changes have to be made also. For the prices charged there, the meals should be wonderful. Too often, they were just the opposite.

Our initial billing for our rooms contained numerous errors. The amount of mistakes we discovered on our bill caused a great amount of anxiety on our part. However, during our stay, thanks to the wonderful efforts of the people at the front desk, and Mr. Matthew Ingerson in particular, these errors were corrected to our satisfaction.

The staff of the hotel, in virtually all areas, was extremely friendly and, all in all, we enjoyed our stay there. We are thinking of returning again next year and, if we do, it would be nice to find that some of the concerns that I've enumerated above were addressed.

Room Tip: Book early if you want to go skiing during the December holiday period. The rates increase signific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Driving up to the hotel was even more awe-inspiring than the photos suggest. Reminiscent of an old railway hotel at Lake Louise or similar, the building seems to glow from within. Chosen by family members for an anniversary gathering, we were surrounded by friendly and helpful staff from the moment we drove up. Arriving early we expected to wait for our room to be readied but were quickly assigned and assisted with what amounted to voluminous luggage. Charming to be in a staffed elevator... how often do you see that? Our room was spacious, with wonderful views. We took advantage of the free shuttle to meet our family members at the ski base pub. Good beer, including at least one from nearby Woodstock Brewery. Our first night was spent 'pub crawling' and the Omni has a number to choose from, with quite decent food or snacks available. We had been briefly disappointed that the main dining room at the hotel wasn't yet finished being remodeled, so had a breakfast buffet out in the President's wing, acceptable but would rather have had a seated menu-selected meal. We'd been informed the dining room wouldn't be available for our family celebration the second night so instead took (again) the shuttle to the Bretton Woods Arms restaurant which was perhaps an even better choice for a lovely, well prepared, well served meal. Turkish Ibrahim was our server and deserves several stars. We were more amused than disappointed by our 3:00 p.m. 'historical tour' of the hotel by a woman who really could have used more training. After putting significant hotel dates in 1922 plunk into the middle of the first World War, she commented that as 'gas' couldn't be used in lighting they resorted to "LP." She was uncomfortable rationalizing the choice of New Hampshire for the Bretton Woods Conference, seeming to apologize to 'any Southerners here?' that the South wouldn't have accommodated the various countries represented. Before the end of the tour, the 40 or so attendees had dwindled to less than 10, which didn't include our party. Even in the midst of a massive Sun. morning checkout, the valets and buspersons accommodated our need to shift significant amounts of luggage from our car to a family member's car, not an easy task. In all, a great experience, with more laughs than we'd anticipated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The mount Washington hotel is a very nice relaxing place. It has a lot of space for the kids and super views, entertaining activities and spa. We got a nice corner bedroom with two double beds. The room had a very nice view of the mountains in the back of the hotel. The breakfast is really fantastic with an excellent selection. The restaurant is nice but we prefer to go to the main restaurant only once during our stay. We prefer the restaurant in the lower level that has more casual dining and really nice food. We never had issues with the service but it seems to us that during the Christmas season they have students doing an internship to complement the staff. I recommend this hotel for families and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We rented 2 rooms for 2 nights @ $ 600.00 each per night Christmas vacation week. By the reaction of the staff, you would think no one told them it might be busy. Had to chase down a bell hop for luggage. Called to confirm dinner reservation 3 hours ahead, no call back.
Came back from skiing, they had not cleaned the room ? Said "they were very busy today". They sent up clean towels. Better service at a Clarion or Marriott
The people that Omni did decide to employ we're very friendly. I hope they can keep it up for 3 more months.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Mt. Washington Resort several times and returned there because it was a special place. This time we were very disappointed in the service. The quality is way below par for the upscale image that this revived beautiful hotel deserves. Clearly the staff is not well trained, although most were quite polite.
It begins when you arrive. As you pull up with your vehicle, one would expect to be greeted promptly. We waited in the car for about 10 minutes before anyone greeted us. Granted, they appeared busy, but a resort like this should have adequate staff to accommodate the guests.
Then we checked in at 3:00 only to find out that our room was not ready. When asked when it would be ready, the woman at the desk told us she had no idea but she would call my cell and let us know. An hour later, still no call. Again, lack of training. Granted, they did offer us a drink and appetizer in the lounge. After I went to the desk to inquire again, this time to a different employee, they checked the computer and came up with a different room to put us in.
The next morning we wanted to take the shuttle to the ski area. We waited almost 40 minutes for it to come. Totally unacceptable.
Nothing seems coordinated at the front desk or with any of the services, like the valet.
The food at the restaurants in only mediocre and don't bother trying it at the ski resort, a terrible rip off.
Warning: carefully check your bill before you check out. This is not the first time I had a charge that was not mine. This time it was for room service of about $35.00. I heard other people complain of the same thing while I was at the desk.
After speaking to the manager, they did offer and follow through with a partial credit on my bill.
Now that all said, there are good things about the place. The setting can not be beat, especially on a clear day. The views are spectacular and the hotel is stately.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

What words can describe this incredible hotel? History, elegance, charm, ambiance, warmth, grandeur are just a few of the words that come to mind. Though some of the hotel was under renovation, most of the property was available for us to enjoy. Very helpful and friendly staff is just what one would expect in the heart of New Hampshire and the MWR did not disappoint. We had one especially pleasant wait person serve us at breakfast which left a wonderful feeling of warmth on our last day. If you ski, hike or just want to relax this is the place to be this winter. no doubt the golf is fantastic in the summer but that I can only assume since the course was covered with snow during our stay. Excellent food ... the breakfast buffet is amongst the best we have experienced. The lobby fireplace as big as the come .....a heated outdoor pool which makes a winter dip very enticing and enough indoor activities to keep young and old alike, occupied.

My final thoughts: Try it, You'll like it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Mount Washington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Mount Washington Resort

Address: 310 Mount Washington Hotel Road, Bretton Woods, NH 03575 (Formerly the Mount Washington Hotel & Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bretton Woods
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bretton Woods
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omni Mount Washington Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire offers a year-round escape just 2½ hours from Boston in NH’s majestic White Mountains! Enjoy a full-service spa, year-round canopy tour, alpine and nordic skiing at Bretton Woods, the 18-hole restored Donald Ross golf course and a wealth of indoor and outdoor pastimes. Come discover our recent $60 million renovation, fine and casual dining, endless recreational pursuits and breathtaking scenery. Grand Hotel, cozy Inn, modern Lodge and convenient Townhomes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Mount Washington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Mount Washington Hotel Bretton Woods
Mt Washington Hotel Nh
Hotel Mount Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Mount Washington Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.