We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Sash Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Washington Hotel & Resort Dining Room

Mount Washington Hotel & Resort Dining Room
310 Mt Washington Hotel Rd., Bretton Woods, NH 03575
800-314-1752
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Golden Sash Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a formal dining room, which is an experience unto itself. The room is incredible- the old light fixtures, the chairs, the view, is awash with early 20th century elegance. It was a nice change of pace to truly "dress for dinner" (men were all in jackets or suits, ladies were all in skirts/dresses, even the few older children present were dressed appropriately).

The golden sash dinner was something we planned weeks in advance with the chef. Chef Kevin, my husband and I set down a delightful menu. We had a meal that showcased all of the late New England harvest flavors. While there were several dishes with cream bases and/or sauces, I was delighted that they were not overpowering. The wine pairings were superb and accented our meals perfectly. Overall, it was a meal and an experience we both will remember.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    64
    43
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Amazing Views of the Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food was very good and the panoramic view of the river and mountains was stunning. Staff was friendly and service was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Relaxing on a Beautiful Fall Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After taking the Cog Railway to the summit of Mt. Washington we decided to stop at the Mount Washington Hotel for afternoon cocktails on the porch. On this beautiful, warm, fall day without a cloud in the sky, Mt. Washington and surrounding peaks were as gorgeous as they get. This experience was relaxing and beautiful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“tranquility and quietness lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed on a saturday night August 25th. Because the hotel is older, the doors are very thin and there is no sound proofing. Our room was very lovely, unfortunately, despite going to bed early after a long day of hiking, we could not close an eye until everyone else was done partying until midnight. We heard everything through the doors: wispering, walking, running, talking, stumping, yelling, passing by, closing their doors etc...also unfortunate is that we had a communicating adjacent room and that the door was also very thin. We could hear all the conversations of our neighbors, which made us feel like we had very little privacy. We had the same issue at the breakers in Palm Beach. The staff must have been used to the complaint, because they immediately came in with thick comforters which they stuck in between the two communicating rooms. This actually worked and blocked the sound. We suggested this to the staff at Mount Washington Hotel. They gave it a try and it worked very well as well. Unfortunately, loud noises from the hallway were back early in the morning and we left sunday morning in a bad mood and in need of a good nap. The management was very gracious and offered us a free breakfast after I pointed out our experience. However, our sleep and tranquility is more important to us than anything else and for that reason we will not returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“disappointing cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Superb food and excellent service. The only disappointment was the cheeseboard which was "two types of Cheddar and then a cross between a brie and a blue". I think the latter sounds like a cambazola and there shouldn't be 2 types of the same cheese when only 3 are on offer. An AAA rosette restaurant such as this should know this and offer cheeses more suitable for fine dining guests. Otherwise, everything was wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Washington Hotel & Resort Dining Room also viewed

Bretton Woods, White Mountains
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
 

Been to Mount Washington Hotel & Resort Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Washington Hotel & Resort Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.